Skip to Main Content
Login to LibApps


Streaming Video

Provides descriptions of and hyperlinked access to library-licensed and consumer rental / subscription services for streaming video.

Other Licensed Collections (A-Z Databases)

In Addition to Alexander Street, Films on Demand and Kanopy, the ASU Library licenses access to a number of other electronic resources which feature streaming video. These collections include:

AdViews
Provides open access to thousands of historic commercials created for clients or acquired by the D'Arcy Masius Benton & Bowles (DMB&B) advertising agency or its predecessor during the 1950s - 1980s. AdViews is a collaborative project between the Digital Collections Program and the Hartman Center for Sales, Advertising & Marketing History, as well as a number of other groups, at Duke University.

BBC Shakespeare Plays
Television adaptations of all 37 Shakespeare plays, produced by the BBC between 1978 and 1985. Hosted by Ambrose Video Publishing.

Film Platform
Provides critically acclaimed educational documentary films from around the globe and is specifically designed to serve academic institutions. Titles licensed/purchased individually.

History of Christianity
This 6 part streaming video series examines the origins of Christianity and delves into what it means to be a Christian. The series uncovers how a small Jewish sect that preached humility became the biggest religion in the world. The series includes subjects from Palestine in the first century to India in the third, from Damascus to China in the seventh century and from San Francisco to Korea in the twentieth. The series is a BBC co-production with the Open University and Jerusalem Productions. Hosted by Ambrose Video Publishing.

OntheBoards.TV
Includes international and US-based contemporary artists, some of whom are rarely seen live stateside, with works that might not be performed again. We work with our hand-picked film crew to capture live performances, edit collaboratively with the artists, and deliver the best possible video performance straight to you.

Opposing Viewpoints in Context
Provides numerous resource types supporting different points of view on current social issues.

Sage Research Methods Video
These 480+ streaming videos cover every aspect of the research process and hundreds of qualitative, quantitative, and mixed methods.

Vanderbilt Television News Archive
Open access. The core collection of the Archive consists of regularly scheduled newscasts from ABC, CBS, NBC, CNN and Fox News. Special news reports are recorded in addition to these newscasts, including material from other networks. We record broadcasts as they are televised, provide the widest access allowable within copyright for scholarship and research, and preserve the content for future generations. The database currently includes 1,330,630 records, including abstracts at the story level of regular evening newscasts and catalog records for each special news report..

Who Speaks for the Negro?
Open access. Features interviews of civil rights leaders conducted for Robert Penn Warren's seminal book, "Who Speaks for the Negro" (1965). Digital archive created and designed by the Robert Penn Warren Center for the Humanities at Vanderbilt University.

The ASU Library acknowledges the twenty-three Native Nations that have inhabited this land for centuries. Arizona State University's four campuses are located in the Salt River Valley on ancestral territories of Indigenous peoples, including the Akimel O’odham (Pima) and Pee Posh (Maricopa) Indian Communities, whose care and keeping of these lands allows us to be here today. ASU Library acknowledges the sovereignty of these nations and seeks to foster an environment of success and possibility for Native American students and patrons. We are advocates for the incorporation of Indigenous knowledge systems and research methodologies within contemporary library practice. ASU Library welcomes members of the Akimel O’odham and Pee Posh, and all Native nations to the Library.