Streaming Video

Alexander Street video collections are growing collections of subject-specific content developed by broadcast companies, news organizations and many other publishers. Videos can be cited to the specific second with permanent URLs, and all videos are indexed and searchable in their individual sites with full-text transcripts available for many of the videos. Other features include custom clip-making tools, personal playlists, and embeddable hyperlinks.

Video recordings have individual records in the ASU Library Catalog.

Search: "Any field" "is (exact)": Alexander Street AND Material Type = Video/Film AND Full Text Online = 11,000+ Results.

The below is an alphabetical listing of Alexander Street content by subject area category.

The American Civil War. American Film. American History. Anthropology. Art & Architecture. Asian Studies. Black History. Black Studies. Classical Music. Cooking. Counseling & Therapy. Criminal Justice & Public Safety. Dance. Dentistry. Drama. Education. Engineering. Environmental Studies. Fashion Studies. Global Issues. Hawaiian Studies. Health Policy. How-To. Language. Latino Studies. LGBT Studies. Literature. Media Studies. Medical Imaging. Multidisciplinary. Newsreels. Nursing. Politics & Current Affairs. Popular Music. Psychology. Rehabilitation Therapy. Religion & Thought. Science. Social Theory. Social Work. Sports Medicine & Exercise Science. Theatre. Travel. Veterinary Science. World History. World Music.

A&E Television Networks. American Academy of Pediatrics. American Psychological Association. Annenberg Learner. BBC Worldwide. Bloomberg. Britsh Broadcasting Corporation. British Film Institute. CBS (Columbia Broadcasting System). CNN (Cable News Network). Documentary Educational Resources (DER). Film Platform. First Run Features. John Wiley & Sons. Knowledgemotion Ltd. Makematic. Microtraining Associates. PBS (Public Broadcasting Service). Symptom Media.

American History in Video [7,900+ videos]
Provides access to documentaries and newsreel footage of key historical events in American history from sources such as PBS, A&E, California Newsreel, and The History Channel.

Border and Migration Studies Online [175 hours of video]
Provides historical context and resources, representing both personal and institutional perspectives, for the growing fields of border(land) studies and migration studies. At completion, the collection will include 100,000 pages of text, 175 hours of video, and 1,000 images. In collaboration with an international board of scholars, materials were selected and organized around fundamental themes such as: Border Identities, Enforcement, and Disputes; Human Trafficking; and Undocumented Migration

Broadway on Demand [250+ videos]
Provides an extensive range of content that goes beyond live performances. Along with musicals, plays, and contemporary dance performances, the collection includes unique behind-the-scenes series, documentaries, and masterclasses to help researchers gain a deeper understanding and appreciation of the art of theater..

Counseling and Therapy in Video: Volumes 1-5 [2,400+ videos]
Searchable video collection related to the fields of counseling, psychology, and social work. Includes hours of training videos, therapy sessions, consultations with experts, reenactments, documentaries and more. Subject areas include addiction, coaching, family therapy, child therapy, domestic violence, family therapy, group therapy, weight control and eating disorders, post-traumatic stress disorder, sex therapy, career counseling, child therapy, cognitive-behavioral therapy, among many other areas. Select videos are paired with downloadable teaching and discussion guides.

Dance Online: Dance in Video [700+ videos]
Searchable database containing streaming video files of dance productions and documentaries by influential performers and companies of the 20th century. Selections cover ballet, tap, jazz, contemporary, experimental, and improvisational dance, as well as forerunners of the forms and the pioneers of modern concert dance.

Education in Video [4,200+ videos]
First online collection of streaming video developed specifically for training pre- and in-service teachers. Video content includes demonstrations, lectures, documentaries, and primary-source footage of students and teachers in actual classrooms. The collection also contains a wealth of ready-to-use teaching tools, including course, study, and discussion guides, assessment checklists, and themed playlists.

Ethnographic Video Online [1,000+ videos]
Includes ethnographic films, documentaries, select feature films, and previously unpublished fieldwork.Wherever possible, videos include accompanying field notes, liner notes, filmmaker biographies, related articles, study guides, and other context-enhancing materials.

Filmakers Library Online [900+ videos]
Provides award-winning documentaries with relevance across the curriculum—race and gender studies, human rights, globalization and global studies, multiculturalism, international relations, criminal justice, the environment, bioethics, health, political science and current events, psychology, arts, literature, and more. It presents points of view and historical and current experiences from diverse cultures and traditions world-wide.

Music Online: Opera in Video [185 videos]
Includes important opera performances, captured on video through staged productions, interviews, and documentaries. Selections represent the world's leading performers, conductors, and opera houses and are based on a work's importance to the operatic canon.

National Theatre Collection [30 videos]
A streaming video collection of thirty recent productions by the Royal National Theatre (London, England). Productions include Greek theatre (Antigone by Sophocles and Medea by Euripedes), William Shakespeare (Coriolanus, Hamlet, Julius Caesar, King Lear, Macbeth, Othello and Twelfth Night), classic European (Chekhov's The Cherry Orchard) and American (A Streetcar Named Desire and Cat on a Hot Tin Roof) plays, adaptations of novels (Frankenstein, Jane Eyre, Treasure Island), comedies and new writing.

Nursing and Mental Health in Video: A Symptom Media Collection [200+ videos]
Presents the most common mental health disorders nurses may encounter – whether in a primary care setting, emergency room, medical, psychiatric or other. Faculty can easily integrate these 2-22 minute long videos within their existing curriculum at all levels – undergraduate, graduate, and professional.

Nursing Education in Video [300+ videos]
Titles discuss the most common mental health disorders nurses may encounter – whether in a primary care setting, emergency room, medical, psychiatric or other. The visual examples prepare nurses to assess, diagnose, and manage health issues in patients.

PBS Video Collection [2,000+ videos]
The Public Broadcasting Service (PBS) is an American public broadcaster and television program distributor. It is a nonprofit organization and the most prominent provider of educational television programming to public television stations in the United States, distributing series such as American Experience, Finding Your Roots, Frontline, Nature, and Nova.

The Sixties: Primary Documents and Personal Narratives, 1960 to 1974 [50+ videos]
The definitive electronic resource for students and scholars researching this important period in American history, culture, and politics.

Theatre in Video [500+ videos]
Includes definitive performances of the world's leading plays as well documentaries.

Women and Social Movements in the United States 1600-2000 [1 video]
Documents perspectives on women's social movements from colonial times to the present.

Women and Social Movements, International [18 videos]
Focuses on women's international activism since the mid-nineteenth century.

Note: Course instructors can obtain 24-hour preview access to titles on the Alexander Street platform which have not already been licensed by the ASU Library.

• To obtain this preview access, the instructor must create and login to her personal User Account.
• Non-licensed titles will display the message "This is a sample. For full access: Watch Now" (see Example).
• The resulting pop-up window displays the following message: "Please choose from the following options to gain full access to this content. Log in via your academic institution.
• Into the text-box type-in Arizona State University.

What Content Is Already Available Via the ASU Library?

To identify content already licensed by the ASU Library select the MENU option to the left of the Alexander Street icon.

• From the resulting submenu choose "MY COLLECTIONS" and then My Institution's Content (first entry within left column).
• You will now be searching against and browsing only content which is fully available to current ASU faculty, staff and students.

Alexander Street Store