AIS 440 Cultural Professionalism
Need More Help?
Labriola National American Indian Data Center Info
Labriola Center Hours Monday-Friday 9am-7pm & Friday 9am-6pm
Contact the Center at 480-965-6490 or Ask An Archivist
Alex Soto at alexander.soto@asu.edu
Librarians Contact Information
Government Documents
Federal, Arizona and local government documents Brad Vogus 602-543-5525
Federal Government Documents LibGuide and Arizona Government Documents LibGuide
Law Library, Indian Law http://libguides.law.asu.edu/indianlaw/home
Law Library Reference Staff
480-965-6144
Or email
Business Librarian Wes Edens
Save Your Citations and Format Your Bibliography
- Citation Management ToolsThis guide will help you select the best citation management tool for you.
- ZoteroZotero is a free, easy-to-use citation management tool to help you collect, organize, cite, and share research.
- Citation StylesHelp with different citation styles including how to format citations.
Recommended Research Databases
- American Indian History OnlineOnline encyclopedia, good for an overview of a topic, also primary sources, images, and maps
- American Indian IndexIncludes all photographs, oral histories, newsclippings, reports, biography files, etc. in the Labriola Center collection.
- American Indian NewspapersAmerican Indian Newspapers includes newspapers produced by a range of Indigenous Nations in the United States and British Columbia from 1828 to 2016. The newspapers include national periodicals as well as local community news and student publications. Highlights from Arizona include the Ak-Chin O'odham Runner, Navajo Times, and Hopi Action News.
- Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples in North AmericaGeneral database for journal articles on various topics dealing with American Indian Nations - link to full text through Get it ASU
- Ethnic NewswatchNewspaper articles, including Indian Country Today, very contemporary information, full text
- Google ScholarGeneral database to search for academic journal articles Be sure to search through the ASU Library home page so you can connect to the full text of many articles at no cost to you
Statistical Information
- Census Data for Native NationsMy Tribal Area gives you quick and easy access to detailed demographic, social, economic, and housing statistics every year for the nation's communities.
- Tiller's Guide to Indian Country onlineThis book is also located in Labriola Center and Hayden Reference
Newspapers
Tribal Newspapers
- Ak-Chin RunnerThe Ak-Chin O’odham Runner is published on the first and third Friday of each month. The “Runner” is delivered to all residents and departments of the Ak-Chin Indian Community, as well as surrounding community businesses, interested groups and subscribers.
- Navajo TimesIts mission is to inform the Navajo people of events, news and issues of importance to them, whether from within the boundaries of the Navajo Nation or throughout the United States. The Navajo Times is circulated in the Four Corners region and the rest of the U.S. through subscriptions.
- Pechenga.netPechanga.Net has become one of the most important news resources for Indian Country and the gaming industry.
Mainstream Indigenous News
- Indian Country Today NewsIndian Country Today (ICT) is a daily digital news platform that covers the Indigenous world, including American Indians, Alaska Natives and First Nations.
- Indianz.comNative American news, information and entertainment. Wholly-owned and operated by Ho-Chunk Inc., the economic development corporation of the Winnebago Tribe.
- Native American Law 360This database provides legal news and current awareness tools in a wide variety of law practice areas. It is updated every business day.
Mainstream Newspapers
Online Photographs
- American Indian History OnlineA unique resource that offers fast access to more than 5,000 years of culture, history, and leaders. More than 240 Native American groups are presented through subject entries, biographies, primary source documents, historical maps, and photographs.
Maps
- Inter-Tribal Council of ArizonaThe Inter-Tribal Council of Arizona Was established by Tribal Governments to provide member tribes a united voice. This webpage provides maps of different views of tribal lands in Arizona including legislative districts, house districts, congressional districts, and state counties.
- ASU Map and Geospatial HubThe ASU Library Map and Geospatial Hub advances the use of geographically-referenced information by expanding access to and support for geospatial technologies and cartographic resources across ASU and beyond.
Find Books and Articles
Search String Examples
Search strings using boolean and truncation allow the user to combine a variation of terms to narrow down search results. This is especially important for Indigenous communities whose names have been changed over time. Similar search strings can also identify that you are identifying people or community, instead of a place or inanimate object. Use the examples below as a guide for your search and alter them as need for you research topic.
((tohono OR akimel OR hiaced OR hia-ced OR hiac-ed OR "onk akimel") n/1 (“o'odham” OR oodham OR ootham OR "o'otham" OR authum)) OR ((pima OR papago OR "sand papago") n/2 (job* OR occupation*))
The ASU Library acknowledges the twenty-three Native Nations that have inhabited this land for centuries. Arizona State University's four campuses are located in the Salt River Valley on ancestral territories of Indigenous peoples, including the Akimel O’odham (Pima) and Pee Posh (Maricopa) Indian Communities, whose care and keeping of these lands allows us to be here today. ASU Library acknowledges the sovereignty of these nations and seeks to foster an environment of success and possibility for Native American students and patrons. We are advocates for the incorporation of Indigenous knowledge systems and research methodologies within contemporary library practice. ASU Library welcomes members of the Akimel O’odham and Pee Posh, and all Native nations to the Library.
