LibGuides: Architecture Resources: Selected Article Databases

Selected Databases

It is always a great idea to log into your library account before searching through databases. You will be linked up to your articles in a way that is much quicker and smoother.

Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals This link opens in a new window
The Avery Index constitutes the preeminent architecture index covering a broad and international array of architectural publications, including: journals, popular periodicals, professional association publications and major serials on architecture and design.
Other areas of coverage include: Urban and City Planning, Interior Design, Interior Decoration, Landscape Architecture, Archeology, and Historic Preservation.
Coverage: 1934+
Design and Applied Arts Index This link opens in a new window
Indexes design and craft journals. Covers all aspects of design, including architecture, interior design, environmental design, graphic design, advertising, theatre design, industrial design, design and craft education, and design management.
Note: the index offers the options (when applicable) of limiting search results by publication types, such as peer-reviewed journals, book reviews, etc.
Alternate titles: DAAI: Design and Applied Arts Index
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
This database provides image and full-text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in the Humanities, Social Sciences and Sciences.
Science Direct This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect is an index to journal articles and book chapters from thousands of peer-reviewed journals and over 35,000 books published by Elsevier, it's partner publishing units and other publishers. Access to full text is available only for those titles to which the ASU Library subscribes.
Material ConneXion This link opens in a new window
Maximum Concurrent Users: Unlimited
Material ConneXion is a global platform for material solutions and innovations. Advising Fortune 500's, smaller forward-thinking companies, and government agencies seeking a creative or competitive edge through strategic material selections. Material ConneXion's international network of material specialists provide a global, cross-industry perspective on materials, sustainable alternatives, and their potential uses.

Image Databases

Archivision Digital Research Library
The Archivision Digital Research Library is a repository of architectural images representing Greek, Roman, Medieval, Renaissance, Baroque, 18th-/19th-century, and Modern architecture.
The images in this repository are accessible, as an institutional repository, via ARTstor.

ARTstor Digital Library
The ARTstor Digital Library is comprised of digital images and related data and the tools to make active use of those images. The Collection contains approximately 300,000 digital images of visual material from different cultures and disciplines.
The collection documents artistic traditions across many times and cultures and embraces architecture, decorative arts, painting, sculpture, photography, and design -- as well as many other forms of visual culture.
ARTstor contains the following topical collections:

Architecture & Architectural History
Classical Studies
Design & Decorative Studies

Digital Sanborn Maps, 1867-1970 (Arizona)
Provides digital access to historic maps of towns and cities in Arizona.

American Memory (The Library of Congress)
Gateway to rich primary source materials relating to the history and culture of the United States.
The site offers more than 5 million items from more than 90 historical collections - including these selected image collections:

Sample American Memory keyword search: Tempe canals

Open Access Databases and Websites

Directory of Open Access Journals - Architecture
DOAJ is online directory that indexes and provides access to open access, peer-reviewed journals

Aggregate
Publisher of research in the history and theory of architecture. CCA's Dean of Architecture Jonathan Massey is a contributor and past editor

Places
Places is an online open access journal that publishes essays, criticism, photography, and peer-reviewed scholarship on architecture, design, and urbanism

Getty Art and Architecture Thesaurus
The thesaurus is a helpful tool to find subject terms related to architectural and art history research