The Canadian Centre for Architecture (CCA) was founded in 1979 as a new form of cultural institution to build public awareness of the role of architecture in society, promote scholarly research in the field, and stimulate innovation in design practice
The International Union of Architects was founded in Lausanne (Switzerland) in1948, to unite the architects of the world without regard to nationality, race, religion, or architectural doctrine, and to federate their national organizations.
Documenting the history of women's contributions to the built environment by collecting, preserving, and providing access to the records of women's architectural organizations and the professional papers of women architects, landscape architects, designers, architectural historians and critics, and urban planners.
Overview of the history of notable architecture in Paris. Covers the medieval period, Renaissance, French Baroque and Classicism, Rococo, Neo-Classicism and Empire, Haussmann renovations, Art Nouveau, Art Deco, and 20th century developments.
The Cambridge Histories online collection contains up-to-date and authoritative scholarly content on a variety of subjects. The Religion Collection includes 4 titles covering the Bible, Judaism, Christianity, and Islam from Antiquity to the present.
Chartres Cathedral is among the best preserved of the major French cathedrals, with extensive programs of sculpture and stained glass. It was a major site of pilgrimage in honor of the Virgin Mary, to whom the cathedral is dedicated.
Covers information on artists, worldwide art, artistic techniques, and other art-related topics, including architecture and architects.
A gateway resource that includes:
Grove Art Online (covers all aspects of the visual arts worldwide from prehistory to the 1990s)
The Oxford Companion to Western Art
Encyclopedia of Aesthetics
The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms