Architecture Resources

A reference resource for the visual arts of the Classical period. It features an abundance of in-depth articles -- from biographies to thematic entries on architecture, ceramics, metalwork, mosaics, painting and sculpture. The resource provides art historical and cultural information about art forms, artists, rulers, philosophers, architecture, renowned works of art, archaeological sites, and stylistic developments.

This online encyclopedia covers multiple aspects of Islamic art and architecture ranging from the Middle East to Africa to Central, South, and East Asia and includes entries on artists, rulers, writers, ceramics, sculpture, metalwork, painting, calligraphy, textiles, etc.

This online dictionary provides rich detail on all aspects of the Renaissance in 14th- to 17th-century Europe. It includes comprehensive coverage of the art, literature, science, culture, philosophy, religion, economics, history, and conflict of the period. The text explores the influence that this intense intellectual and cultural revival continues to have on modern thought and society. Nearly half the entries are biographical, covering artists, thinkers, statesman, and reformers.

Provides concise and detailed articles on all aspects of the period from the fifth to the fifteenth century. It explores art, architecture, religion, law, science, language, philosophy, and theology, as well as cultural, religious, intellectual, social and political history. With a focus on Europe and Christendom, the Encyclopedia also covers the rise of Islam and people of other cultures with whom Europeans came into contact.

Covers information on artists, worldwide art, artistic techniques, and other art-related topics, including architecture and architects.
A gateway resource that includes:
Grove Art Online (covers all aspects of the visual arts worldwide from prehistory to the 1990s)
The Oxford Companion to Western Art
Encyclopedia of Aesthetics
The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms

A collection of treatises on art and architecture written during the Italian Renaissance. On a CD.

This encyclopedia surveys the full breadth of critical thought on art, culture, and society; it is a comprehensive survey of major concepts, thinkers, and debates about the meaning, uses, and value of all the arts--from painting and sculpture to architecture, design, literature, music, theater, dance, television, film, and popular culture.

This online product constitutes a comprehensive resource for building product information -- enabling research into building materials and manufacturers in a library of product catalogs.

A collection of reference handbooks, databases and conference proceedings in technical fields. Permits searching across and within titles.
Of relevance to architecture: environment and environmental engineering, sustainable energy & development, and civil engineering & construction materials.