AIS 494/PUP 598 Tribal Community Planning
Need more help?
Save Your Citations and Format Your Bibliography
- Citation Management ToolsThis guide will help you select the best citation management tool for you and help you to change from RefWorks to a new tool such as Zotero.
- ZoteroZotero is a free, easy-to-use citation management tool to help you collect, organize, cite, and share research.
- Citation StylesHelp with different citation styles including how to format citations.
Labriola Center Information
***Fall 2021 service update***
ASU Library, including the Labriola National American Indian Data Center, has re-opened for the Fall 2021 semester. Services and resources vary per location. Please read below.
Labriola Center locations
- ASU West Valley campus at Fletcher Library
- Located on Level 3 (Room 305), the West Valley campus Labriola Center is open as a study and meeting area for students.
- Labriola staff can assist you on-site and will have access to Labriola’s Open Stack / Circulating Collection and non-circulating materials.
- Hours of Operations:
- By-appointment
- ASU Tempe campus at Hayden Library
- The Labriola Center's Open Stack/Circulating Collection is located on Level 2 in the Center's Student Study Area. Hours of use are in accordance with the Hayden Library’s hours of operations.
- The Labriola Center's Office space is located on Level 3 in Room 315.
- Hours of Operations:
- By-appointment
Access the Open Stack/Circulating Collection
- The Open Stack / Circulating Collection is available for check-out at the Tempe and West Valley campus locations.
- Open Stack / Circulating Collection titles can be placed on hold and can be picked up at any ASU Library location.
Access the non-circulating collection
- To view non-circulating materials in the Labriola collection, please make an appointment at least five business days prior to your visit by contacting Ask an Archivist or calling (480) 965-4932.
- Patrons can arrange to view non-circulating materials from the Labriola National American Indian Data Center (Room 305) at Fletcher Library on the West Valley campus OR at the Wurzburger Reading Room at Hayden Library.
- Check the ASU Library Hours page for current availability.
- Appointments in the Wurzburger Reading Room at Hayden Library (Room 138) on the Tempe campus are available Monday through Friday.
Labriola Center Homepage http://lib.asu.edu/labriola
Contact the Center at 480-965-6490
Or Alexander Soto at 602-543-8261 or alexander.soto@asu.edu
***The Labriola Center will adhere to all COVID-19 related precautions enforced by the university.***
A face covering is required inside the Labriola Centers at all times.
In addition to the university’s face covering requirement, the ASU Library has put into place a number of safety precautions around the use of shared space.
We ask that you please take food outside.
In coordination with the university's COVID-19 precautions, a Sun Card will be required to enter all libraries, as access will be limited to ASU students, faculty and staff.
Non-ASU visitors are welcome by appointment only.
Librarians Contact Information
Government Documents
Federal, Arizona and local government documents Brad Vogus 602-543-5525
Federal Government Documents LibGuide and Arizona Government Documents LibGuide
Law Library, Indian Law http://libguides.law.asu.edu/indianlaw/home
Law Library Reference Staff
480-965-6144
Or email
Business Librarian Wes Edens
Business Librarian Jenny Mueller-Alexander
Business and Economics Databases
Maps and Geospatial Hub https://lib.asu.edu/geo
Any questions for the ASU Library Map Hub https://lib.asu.edu/geo/services
Recommended Research Databases
- American Indian History OnlineOnline encyclopedia, good for an overview of a topic, also primary sources, images, and maps
- American Indian NewspapersAmerican Indian Newspapers includes newspapers produced by a range of Indigenous Nations in the United States and British Columbia from 1828 to 2016. The newspapers include national periodicals as well as local community news and student publications. Highlights from Arizona include the Ak-Chin O'odham Runner, Navajo Times, and Hopi Action News.
- Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples in North AmericaGeneral database for journal articles on various topics dealing with American Indian Nations - link to full text through Get it ASU
- ERIC ProquestJournal articles on education topics, including language preservation programs and tribal colleges
- Ethnic NewswatchNewspaper articles, including Indian Country Today, very contemporary information, full text
- Google ScholarGeneral database to search for academic journal articles Be sure to search through the ASU Library home page so you can connect to the full text of many articles at no cost to you. You can also find full text court cases and articles from law journals.
- HeinOnlineHeinOnline provides full-text page-image (PDF) format access to law reviews and journals; historical volumes of federal documents like the Federal Register; classic legal texts from the 17th through early 20th centuries; U.S. treaties; Supreme Court cases as they appear in U.S. Reports; and Attorney General opinions. HeinOnline's Law Journal Library offers access to pre-1980 legal-periodical scholarship that is not available on LexisNexis or Westlaw as well as recent volumes.
- Nexis UniCompany information, newspaper articles, journal articles, legal journal articles, court cases
- Proquest CongressionalU.S. legislative information: hearings; committee reports; bills, bill tracking; Congressional Indexes; Congressional Record; Federal Register; Code of Federal Regulations; U.S. Code; Public laws; National Journal, Congress Daily, & member info.
- PubMedFor journal articles on health topics
Legislation and Federal Policy
- American Indian History OnlineMore than 240 Native American groups are presented through subject entries, biographies, primary source documents, historical maps, and photographs. Includes full text of important court cases and legislation.
- FDsys - Federal Digital SystemFDsys is GPO's official system of record for online Government information
- Google ScholarScholarly articles, legal opinions and journals. Includes full text court cases.
- Nexis UniFull text of over 5,000 newspapers, trade publications, legal periodicals, and professional journals. Includes court cases.
- Congress.govFederal legislation and information about legislation
- Proquest Congressional(1789+) U.S. legislative information: hearings; committee reports; bills, bill tracking; Congressional Indexes; Congressional Record; Federal Register; Code of Federal Regulations; U.S. Code; Public laws; National Journal, Congress Daily, & member info.
Statistical and Demographic Data
Tiller's Guide to Indian Country by Call number: E93 .T55 2015ISBN: 9781885931061Publication date: 2015-12-01The long-awaited third edition of Tiller's Guide to Indian Country tells the collective story of the little-known economic success attained by tribal enterprises owned by the 568 Indian tribes and Alaskan Native villages in thirty-three states. It has been recognized since 1996 as the ultimate resource on contemporary tribal economies and has become indispensable to government entities, businesses working with the tribes, libraries, and scholars. This reference edition profiles each tribe's history and culture, with detailed information about their communities, natural resources, enterprises, and environmental concerns, as well as their contact information. It also features profiles on leading tribal enterprises, businesses doing business with tribes, and nonprofit organizations that have made significant contributions to economic development in Indian Country. In Labriola Center
Tiller's Guide to Indian Country Online Version by ISBN: 9781885931023Publication date: 2015-04-30Reference guide to 568 federally recognized Indian Tribes and Alaskan Native Villages in 33 states. Guide explores each tribe's history and modern day life, including location and land status, government and infrastructure, community services and facilities, economic activity, contact information with website URLs. Leading private companies and non-profits contributing to economic development are profiles throughout the volume. Online
- US Census My Tribal AreaThe American Community Survey provides detailed demographic, social, economic, and housing statistics every year for the nation's communities
- American Indian Alaska Native PopulationGeneral report if you want to compare and contrast to the community you chose for your paper/portfolio.
Required Books
Rebuilding Native Nations by Call number: E98.T77 R43 2007ISBN: 9780816524211Publication date: 2007-12-13A revolution is underway among the Indigenous nations of North America. It is a quiet revolution, largely unnoticed in society at large. But it is profoundly important. From High Plains states and Prairie Provinces to southwestern deserts, from Mississippi and Oklahoma to the northwest coast of the continent, Native peoples are reclaiming their right to govern themselves and to shape their future in their own ways. Challenging more than a century of colonial controls, they are addressing severe social problems, building sustainable economies, and reinvigorating Indigenous cultures. In effect, they are rebuilding their nations according to their own diverse and often innovative designs.
The Citizen's Guide to Planning by Call number: HT123 .S58 2009ISBN: 9781932364651Publication date: 2009-04-01APA's popular primer for citizens is all new! For decades, planning officials and engaged citizens have relied on this book for a better understanding of the basics of planning. Now the authors have revised this perennial bestseller into a 21st-century guide for anyone who wants to make his or her community a better place. This book describes the land-use planning process, the key players in that process, and the legal framework in which decisions are made. The authors advocate principles and disciplines that will help those involved in the process make good decisions. In easy-to-understand language, they offer nuts-and-bolts information about different types of plans and how they are implemented. Chapters cover the goals and values of planning, the history of planning, the different people and organizations involved, the creation and implementation of a comprehensive plan, sustainability, the application review process, and legal and ethical questions.
Tribal GIS by Call number: G70.215.U6 T75 2012ISBN: 9781589483200Publication date: 2012-06-16Supporting tribes with an all new chapter on ArcGIS Pro, written by tribal leaders who successfully use GIS. In Tribal GIS: Supporting Native American Decision-Making, tribal leaders tell their stories about implementing and using geographic information systems (GIS) to address their unique challenges as sovereign Nations. This book covers applications in natural resources and the environment, transportation, cultural and historical preservation, economic development, health, education, public safety, and agriculture. Showing how tribal governments responsible for the stewardship of their land and resources and the health and well-being of their People use enterprise GIS to make decisions, Tribal GIS: Supporting Native American Decision-Making supports tribes new to GIS and those with GIS experience.
Tribal GIS (E-Book) by ISBN: 9781589485037Publication date: 2017-10-16Supporting tribes with an all new chapter on ArcGIS Pro, written by tribal leaders who successfully use GIS. In Tribal GIS: Supporting Native American Decision-Making, tribal leaders tell their stories about implementing and using geographic information systems (GIS) to address their unique challenges as sovereign Nations. This book covers applications in natural resources and the environment, transportation, cultural and historical preservation, economic development, health, education, public safety, and agriculture. Showing how tribal governments responsible for the stewardship of their land and resources and the health and well-being of their People use enterprise GIS to make decisions, Tribal GIS: Supporting Native American Decision-Making supports tribes new to GIS and those with GIS experience.
Planning Resources
The Citizen's Guide to Planning by Call number: HT123 .S58 1979ISBN: 9780918286147Publication date: 1979-04-01One of the first books addressed to planning commissioners and their role. Smith helped both citizens and appointed officials understand the basics of planning. He untangled the different roles of planning commissioners and professionals and examined topics such as the master plan, capital improvement programs, zoning, and the regulation of land subdivision. In this classic, he offers a highly personal insider’s account of the real world of the planning process.
The Death and Life of Great American Cities by Call number: NA9108 .J3ISBN: 9780679741954Publication date: 1992-12-01A direct and fundamentally optimistic indictment of the short-sightedness and intellectual arrogance that has characterized much of urban planning in this century, The Death and Life of Great American Cities has, since its first publication in 1961, become the standard against which all endeavors in that field are measured. In prose of outstanding immediacy, Jane Jacobs writes about what makes streets safe or unsafe; about what constitutes a neighborhood, and what function it serves within the larger organism of the city; about why some neighborhoods remain impoverished while others regenerate themselves. She writes about the salutary role of funeral parlors and tenement windows, the dangers of too much development money and too little diversity. Compassionate, bracingly indignant, and always keenly detailed, Jane Jacobs's monumental work provides an essential framework for assessing the vitality of all cities.
Design with Nature by Call number: HC110.E5 M33ISBN: 9780385055093Publication date: 1971-08-03A guide to urban planning that is allied to nature and such factors as wildlife and watersheds.
A Pattern Language : towns, buildings, construction by Call number: NA2500 .A445ISBN: 9780195019193Publication date: 1977-08-25You can use this book to design a house for yourself with your family; you can use it to work with your neighbors to improve your town and neighborhood; you can use it to design an office, or a workshop, or a public building. And you can use it to guide you in the actual process of construction. After a ten-year silence, Christopher Alexander and his colleagues at the Center for Environmental Structure are now publishing a major statement in the form of three books which will, in their words, "lay the basis for an entirely new approach to architecture, building and planning, which will we hope replace existing ideas and practices entirely." The three books are The Timeless Way of Building, The Oregon Experiment, and this book, A Pattern Language. At the core of these books is the idea that people should design for themselves their own houses, streets, and communities. This idea may be radical (it implies a radical transformation of the architectural profession) but it comes simply from the observation that most of the wonderful places of the world were not made by architects but by the people. At the core of the books, too, is the point that in designing their environments people always rely on certain "languages," which, like the languages we speak, allow them to articulate and communicate an infinite variety of designs within a forma system which gives them coherence. This book provides a language of this kind. It will enable a person to make a design for almost any kind of building, or any part of the built environment. "Patterns," the units of this language, are answers to design problems (How high should a window sill be? How many stories should a building have? How much space in a neighborhood should be devoted to grass and trees?). More than 250 of the patterns in this pattern language are given: each consists of a problem statement, a discussion of the problem with an illustration, and a solution. As the authors say in their introduction, many of the patterns are archetypal, so deeply rooted in the nature of things that it seemly likely that they will be a part of human nature, and human action, as much in five hundred years as they are today.
The Small Town Planning Handbook by Call number: HT167 .D36 1988ISBN: 0918286530Publication date: 1988-04-01Parasites threaten the health of animals and humans alike. Especially in times of increasing globalization and global warming, parasites can enlarge their "kingdom" by spreading. At the same time many of the existing medical products have become ineffective. As these products have been used for many decades, parasites have developed resistances, so that they have progressed in their fight for survival. Therefore it is obvious that humans must develop new methods to face these dangers. Thus parasitological knowledge increases daily and must be formulated to be accessible for as many parasitologists (veterinarians, physicians, biologists) as possible. Therefore it is necessary that reviews reflecting the present status of the progress in many fields of research be published. Therefore this book, published on the occasion of the 50th anniversary of the German Society of Parasitology, compiles 18 reviews on recent "hot topics," including a new vaccine against malarial parasites; severe diseases with poor chances of treatment (cryptosporidiosis, coccidiosis, theileriosis); vectors (mosquitoes, ticks) and their transmission activities; and fish parasites, including molecular insights into the sex of parasites with a focus on the survival abilities that made them so dangerous. These chapters provide detailed information for researchers, as well as for teachers and students in parasitology.
The New Urbanism: Toward an Architecture of Community by Call number: NA2542.4 .K38 1994ISBN: 0070338892Publication date: 1993-10-22The move to liveable communities--ideal ``small towns'' and neighborhoods where people work, live, play, and walk from place to place--is on. Profit from what a visionary group of architects leading this movement has learned about designing new ``small towns'' in Peter Katz's The New Urbanism. You'll discover the amazing potential for this kind of work as well as case studies, site plans, project analyses, and 180 beautiful photographs. This unique reference also tackles--and answers--the critical issues of crime, health, traffic, environmental degradation, and economic vitality and opens a startling window on the look and feel of future communities. Every designer can profit from this guide to building the utopias of tomorrow--today!
Visions for a New American Dream by Call number: HT166 .N422 1994ISBN: 9781884829017Publication date: 1994-05-01The growing sophistication and emphasis on tools for helping communities visualize growth and change was encapsulated in Nelessen’s book. His Visual Preference Survey was one of the first visioning tools. In addition, his ability to illustrate neotraditional design helped awaken an interest in historic character and quality of design that emerged in force as a planning concern in the 1990s.
Planning Theory for Practitioners by Call number: HD30.28 .B7752 2002ISBN: 1884829600Publication date: 2002-01-01This book is recommended reading for planners preparing to take the AICP exam. In this new book, the author bridges the gap between theory and practice. The author describes an original approach-Feedback Strategy-that builds on the strengths of previous planning theories with one big difference: it not only acknowledges but welcomes politics-the bogeyman of real-world planning. Don't hold your nose or look the other way, the author advises planners, but use politics to your own advantage. The author admits that most of the time planning theory doesn't have much to do with planning practice. These ideas rooted in the planner's real world are different. This strategy employs everyday poltiical processes to advance planning, trusts planners' personal values and professional ethics, and depends on their ability to help clients articulate a vision. This volume will encourage not only veteran planners searching for a fresh approach, but also students and recent graduates dismayed by the gap between academic theory and actual practice.
Rise of the Creative Class by Call number: HD53 .F46 2002ISBN: 0465024769Publication date: 2002-05-01Many writers have commented on the massive social changes of the past few decades, but most of them have treated these shifts as something imposed on us, by technology or the marketplace. This is wrong, says Richard Florida: we've chosen to alter our values, work, and lifestyle, and for good economic reasons. Why have we done this?Florida finds the answer in the rise of a new social class. Like other classes, its basis is economic. Just as the feudal aristocracy derived its identity and values from its hereditary control of land and people, and the bourgeoisie derived its identity and values from its role as merchants of goods, the Creative Class derives its identity and values from its role as purveyors of creativity. When we see ourselves as "creative," our self-image affects the choices we make in every area of our lives.Based on a massive body of research, The Rise of the Creative Class chronicles the ongoing sea-change in people's choices and attitudes, and shows not only what's happening but also how it stems from a fundamental economic change. The Creative Class now comprises nearly forty million Americans, or more than 25% of all employed people. The choices these people make have already had a huge economic impact, and in the future they will determine how the workplace is organized, what companies will prosper or go bankrupt, and even which cities will thrive or wither.
Find Books and Articles
The ASU Library acknowledges the twenty-three Native Nations that have inhabited this land for centuries. Arizona State University's four campuses are located in the Salt River Valley on ancestral territories of Indigenous peoples, including the Akimel O’odham (Pima) and Pee Posh (Maricopa) Indian Communities, whose care and keeping of these lands allows us to be here today. ASU Library acknowledges the sovereignty of these nations and seeks to foster an environment of success and possibility for Native American students and patrons. We are advocates for the incorporation of Indigenous knowledge systems and research methodologies within contemporary library practice. ASU Library welcomes members of the Akimel O’odham and Pee Posh, and all Native nations to the Library.
