Cripping Technology
- Home
- Finding Information Sources
- Disability Toggle Dropdown
- Speculative design and cripping technology
- Solidarity and Resources
- Digital Humanities
- Disability Artist Archives
Journals
-
Disability Studies Quarterly Disability Studies Quarterly (DSQ) is the journal of the Society for Disability Studies (SDS). It is a multidisciplinary and international journal of interest to social scientists, scholars in the humanities and arts, disability rights advocates, and others concerned with the issues of people with disabilities. It represents the full range of methods, epistemologies, perspectives, and content that the field of disability studies embraces. DSQ is committed to developing theoretical and practical knowledge about disability and to promoting the full and equal participation of persons with disabilities in society.
Documentaries
-
Ethnographic Video Online
Streaming ethnographic films and documentaries, along with previously unpublished fieldwork on global human culture, field notes, filmmaker biographies, related articles, and study guides.
-
Documentaries on disabilityThis link directs you to the ASU One Search results for 'documentaries on disability'.
-
You Can't Ask That'You Can't Ask That' is a documentary series that confronts prejudices and breaks down taboos in our society in an authentic and relatable way.
ASU One Search: Getting Started
-
Getting Started with ASU One SearchOne Search is our new library catalog and search tool, allowing you to search print and e-books, electronic resources, digital collections and more, all in one place.
You can also view these tutorials for a start with using ASU OneSearch research.
Search tips for finding resources on disability using Library of Congress headings:
- Ableism
- Deficit model of disability
- Disability studies
- Disability culture
- Mental illness
- Social model of disability
- Sociology of disability
- People with disabilities
- People with disabilities--Civil rights
- People with mental disabilities
- Human body--Social aspects
- People with disabilities in literature
- Deafness
- Blindness
Developing keyword searches
-
"Search Strategies:" Using Keywords and Search Connectors" tutorialIt is often difficult to figure out how to generate keywords and search terms. This tutorial introduces users to the appropriate terms.
Search Tools
-
Google Scholar (with Library Links)
Find scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed journal articles, books, theses and dissertations, conference papers, pre-prints, technical reports, and other publications for all research disciplines. The link enables ASU affiliates to include ASU Library’s full text and InterLibrary Loan Services in a search.
Databases
-
Academic Search Ultimate
Access to popular press magazines and peer-reviewed scholarly journals across various academic disciplines, including open-access journals and historic Associated Press videos.
-
Alt-PressWatch
Access full-text articles from selected independent newspapers, magazines, and journals offering alternative perspectives on local, national, and international issues.
Coverage: 1970+
-
Independent Voices (Reveal Digital)
Open access collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines, and journals produced by feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBT activists, and the extreme right-wing press, reflects diverse voices from the latter half of the 20th century.
-
SAGE Research Methods
Offers tools, reference works, and case studies to support every step of the research process across a range of disciplines and methodologies.
ASU Featured Collections
Featured collection on 2nd floor of Hayden Library : lib.asu.edu/collections/open-stacks/hayden/second-floor
- Last updated: Nov 7, 2025 12:28 PM
- URL: https://libguides.asu.edu/cripping-technology
- Print page
The ASU Library acknowledges the twenty-three Native Nations that have inhabited this land for centuries. Arizona State University's four campuses are located in the Salt River Valley on ancestral territories of Indigenous peoples, including the Akimel O’odham (Pima) and Pee Posh (Maricopa) Indian Communities, whose care and keeping of these lands allows us to be here today. ASU Library acknowledges the sovereignty of these nations and seeks to foster an environment of success and possibility for Native American students and patrons. We are advocates for the incorporation of Indigenous knowledge systems and research methodologies within contemporary library practice. ASU Library welcomes members of the Akimel O’odham and Pee Posh, and all Native nations to the Library.
