Life Sciences

AmphibiaWeb is an online system that provides access to information on amphibian declines, conservation, natural history, and taxonomy.

Animal Diversity Web (ADW) is an online database of animal natural history, distribution, classification, and conservation biology at the University of Michigan

A nationwide educational network of scientists and educators.

The Encyclopedia of Life (EOL) is an ambitious, even audacious project to organize and make available via the Internet virtually all information about life present on Earth.

A Global Information System on Fishes

The Map of Life assembles and integrates different sources of data describing species distributions worldwide.

ION will ultimately contain all the organism names related data found within the Thomson Reuters life science literature databases.

This glossary covers terminology commonly encountered within publications dealing with the systematics and nomenclature of animals.

The Taxonomy Database is a curated classification and nomenclature for all of the organisms in the public sequence databases. This currently represents about 10% of the described species of life on the planet.

This Systematics section of the NBII provides users with access to sites that provide biological names of organisms and their classification that shows the evolutionary relationship among species.

Search for articles on all aspects of animal behavior.

Search for articles in over 80 biological, ecological, and environmental sciences journals from science professional societies and publishers.

CAB Abstracts is a comprehensive database in the applied life sciences, covering the significant research and development literature in the fields of agriculture, forestry, aspects of human health, human nutrition, animal health, and the management and conservation of natural resources. The collection includes the complete index for years 1913 to 1972 and incomplete access to current content.

Search for articles related to the interactions between organisms and their environments.

Search for articles on the biology of insects, arachnids, myriapods, onychophorans, terrestrial isopods and more.

ScienceDirect is an index to journal articles and book chapters from more than 2,500 peer-reviewed journals and more than 11,000 books published by Elsevier, it's partner publishing units and other publishers, such as Cell Press.

Birds of North America Online (BNA Online) is a continually updated, comprehensive reference for life history information on over 700 different bird species that breed in the United States and Canada.

eLS features over 5,000 specially commissioned, peer-reviewed and citable articles in the life sciences.

One of the most authoritative and comprehensive sources on the world's animals.

Birds of the World engages the global ornithological community to create the most in-depth, science-based content to illustrate the life histories of birds and bird families.

An ambitious digital resource which consists of a vast, free-access online library of videos, photographs and sound recordings which will eventually include material for all the bird species in the world.

Plantwise knowledge bank brings together key plant health information from across the world, including a useful diagnostic tool and factsheet library to help diagnose and manage plant health problems. The Plantwise map allows global pest and crop distribution to be mapped alongside other key information such as climate zones.

The Auk (1884-1999), The Condor (1899-2000), The Journal of Field Ornithology (1930-1999), The North American Bird Bander (1976-2000), Pacific Coast Avifauna (1900-1974), Studies in Avian Biology (1978-1999), and The Wilson Bulletin (1889-1999).