Life Sciences

This is a guide for life sciences at Arizona State University.

Find articles in Plant Biology

Start here to search for articles in plant biology, botany and plant science.

AGRICOLA

A bibliographic database includes citations from global literature, such as journal articles, monographs, theses, patents, audiovisual materials, and technical reports related to agriculture.

Since 1985 has used the CAB Thesaurus to select controlled vocabulary terms for subject indexing
CAB Abstracts Archive

Digitized access to international research in agriculture, veterinary science, nutrition, and environmental studies from 1913 to 1972, sourced from over 600 volumes of printed abstracts.

Maximum Concurrent Users: 4
Scopus

An abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature, including journals, proceedings, and patents. It offers tools for citation analysis, research tracking, and collaboration. Includes AI assistant: Scopus AI, for enhanced research with natural language searches, summaries, and expert identification.
Plant Science
Coverage: 1994+
Maximum Concurrent Users: Unlimited
A bibliographic database covering biotechnology, botany and ecology, and some aspects of agriculture and veterinary science. Content includes journals, conference proceedings, technical reports, books, and patents.

Alternate titles: Biological Sciences
BioOne

High-quality research in biology, ecology, and environmental sciences, featuring peer-reviewed journals and books from leading scientific societies, supporting researchers, educators, and students in life and environmental sciences.

Coverage: This resource provides perpetual access until 2020.

American Journal of Botany
The flagship journal of the Botanical Society of America.
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals
The core database for architectural journals
Elsevier's ScienceDirect
ScienceDirect offers the world's scientific, medical and technical information online. It includes over 2,000 peer-reviewed journals, hundreds of book series, handbooks and reference works.
Journals and Books on Botany and Plant Sciences (JSTOR)
JSTOR Botany and Plant Sciences includes approximately 80 journals in the areas of biological and plant sciences.

JSTOR Global Plants

The largest digitized collection of plant specimens from global herbaria, aiding research, classification, and preservation of botanical data for future studies.
PlantwisePlus Knowledge Bank
The Plantwise knowledge bank brings together key plant health information from across the world, including a useful diagnostic tool and factsheet library to help diagnose and manage plant health problems.

ASU Natural History Collections
The Natural History Collections are comprised of nine collections that directly support the University's teaching, research, and public outreach functions. Our holdings emphasize flora and fauna from the arid southwest of North America, especially Arizona and Sonora, Mexico. Collectively, our holdings rank among the largest collections of Sonoran desert biota in the world.
The ARBORETUM at ASU
Located at ASU’s Tempe campus and Polytechnic Campus, the Arboretum collections include palms and palm-like plants, deciduous trees, fruit-bearing trees, conifers, evergreen trees, desert trees, cacti, succulents, and desert accent plants.
ASU Vascular Plant Herbarium
The Arizona State University Vascular Plant Herbarium (ASU) is among the most important in the greater Sonoran Desert region with over 315,000 specimens. We are particularly proud of our holdings of Cactaceae which include over 1,100 chromosome counts.

Index of Organism Names
ION will ultimately contain all the organism names related data found within the Thomson Reuters life science literature databases.
International Plant Names Index
The International Plant Names Index (IPNI) is a database of the names and associated basic bibliographical details of seed plants, ferns and fern allies.
NCBI Taxonomy
The NCBI Taxonomy Database is a curated classification and nomenclature for all of the organisms in the public sequence databases. This currently represents about 10% of the described species of life on the planet.

Arizona Cooperative Extension
A nationwide educational network of scientists and educators.

Biodiversity Heritage Library

World's largest open access digital archive of biodiversity literature and resources.

Encyclopedia of Life

Digital encyclopedia documenting information and photographs of all known species of living organisms.

Flora of North America
Information on the names, taxonomic relationships, continent-wide distributions, and morphological characteristics of all plants native and naturalized found in North America north of Mexico
USDA PLANTS Database
The PLANTS Database provides standardized information about the vascular plants, mosses, liverworts, hornworts, and lichens of the U.S. and its territories.