Life Sciences
Need more help?
Life Sciences Research at ASU Library
Welcome to the Life Sciences subject guide, which includes resource guides for Biology, Biology and Society, Botany, Conservation Biology, Genetics, Microbiology, Molecular Biosciences, and Zoology.
Resources
Looking for Discipline-based Articles?
Life Sciences Research Databases: PubMed | Scopus | Complete List of Life Sciences Databases
Also go to the Research Databases link from the library homepage to get an alphabetical list of databases or search for a list of databases by subject.
Looking for a Specific Journal?
Use the Journal Title Lookup link from the library homepage. Make sure to search both the Electronic Journals and the Print Journals.
Want to search the broad Library Collection?
Use the ASU Library Catalog link from the library homepage.
Looking for Current and Historical News?
Visit the Finding and Tracking Reliable News guide.
Library Services
- Course ResourcesCourse Resource Services provides access via the library to items that are required readings and/or materials for courses at Arizona State University. Students may access the items by instructor or course number. Instructors may place items on reserve for students to read and/or use during the duration of the course.
- Interlibrary LoanItems that are not owned by ASU Library can be obtained from other sources through Interlibrary Loan (ILL). Use the online ILLiad system to submit your ILL requests. Notifications are sent by email when the item(s) requested are available. This service is limited to ASU faculty, students and staff.
- Requesting MaterialsThere are three primary request types: 1) request from ASU Library, 2) request from an external library, or 3) request an article or chapter scan.
General Science Journals
- American ScientistWell written articles from all science disciplines aimed at a professional audience. Academic Search Complete (Nov. 2002 - present)
- NatureMultidisciplinary. Also links to other Nature Publishing Group journals, including some we do not subscribe to.
- ScienceCovers all disciplines.
- Scientific AmericanHigh quality articles from all science disciplines written for a non-professional audience.
E-Books
ASU Library has several e-book collections that contain books in the life sciences disciplines. Below is a list of those collections:
Protocols
Current Protocols provides full-text access to laboratory methods and manuals published by Wiley. ASU Library subscribes to the full-text for the protocols listed below.
- Current Protocols in Bioinformatics
- Current Protocols in Cell Biology
- Current Protocols in Immunology
- Current Protocols in Molecular Biology
- Current Protocols in Protein Science
Nature Protocols is an online resource for protocols, including authoritative, peer-reviewed Nature Protocols and an interactive Protocols Network.
Dissertations & Theses
- Dissertations & Theses @ ASUA seachable database for full text, citations and abstracts of ASU dissertations and theses.
Citation only, 1954-1979
Citation + full text, 1979 to current - Dissertations & ThesesIndexes dissertations accepted for doctoral and master's degrees by accredited North American educational institutions and over 200 other institutions, covering approximately 3,000 subject areas.
The ASU Library acknowledges the twenty-three Native Nations that have inhabited this land for centuries. Arizona State University's four campuses are located in the Salt River Valley on ancestral territories of Indigenous peoples, including the Akimel O’odham (Pima) and Pee Posh (Maricopa) Indian Communities, whose care and keeping of these lands allows us to be here today. ASU Library acknowledges the sovereignty of these nations and seeks to foster an environment of success and possibility for Native American students and patrons. We are advocates for the incorporation of Indigenous knowledge systems and research methodologies within contemporary library practice. ASU Library welcomes members of the Akimel O’odham and Pee Posh, and all Native nations to the Library.
