Life Sciences
This is a guide for life sciences at Arizona State University.
Conservation Biology/Ecology
-
Biological Science CollectionBiological Sciences is an interdisciplinary database that incorporates a number of other databases. Subjects include AIDS, Algology, Amino acids, Animal behavior, Aquaculture, Aquatic organisms, Bacteriology, Bioengineering, Biological membranes, Biotechnology (agricultural, medical, environmental, marine & pharmaceutical), Calcified tissue, Calcium, Chemoreception, Ecology, Entomology, Genetics (plant, animal and human), Human genome research, Immunology, Marine biology, Microbiology, Molecular biology, Mycology, Neurosciences, Nucleic acids, Oncogenes & growth factors, Peptides, Proteins, Protozoology, Safety science, Toxicology, Virology, and Zoology.
-
Environment CompleteThe database contains full text for hundreds of journals, including many of the most used journals in the discipline, such as Environment (back to 1975), Ecologist, Conservation Biology, etc. Additionally, Environment Complete provides full text for monographs, such as Encyclopedia of World Environmental History (3 volumes), Advances in Water Treatment & Environmental Management, etc.
-
GreenFILEGreenFILE provides a collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles and covers content about the environment from a variety of perspectives. Key journals include Agriculture, Ecosystems & Environment, Conservation Biology, Forest Ecology & Management, International Journal of Green Energy, and Journal of Wildlife Management.
Coverage: 1970+
-
Animal Diversity WebAnimal Diversity Web (ADW) is an online database of animal natural history, distribution, classification, and conservation biology at the University of Michigan.
-
Arizona Cooperative ExtensionCooperative Extension, an outreach arm of The University of Arizona and the College of Agriculture and Life Sciences (CALS), is "Improving Lives, Communities and the Economy" by serving as a statewide network of knowledgeable faculty and staff that provides lifelong educational programs for all Arizonans.
-
Biodiversity Heritage LibraryThe Biodiversity Heritage Library improves research methodology by collaboratively making biodiversity literature openly available to the world as part of a global biodiversity community.
-
Biodiversity Support ProgramProgram of the World Wildlife Fund.
-
Community ConservationCC acts as a catalyst to create community-based organizations in the places where biodiversity is threatened.
-
Community Forests InternationalCommunity Forests International was founded after launching a tree-planting project on the island of Pemba, Tanzania. Since inception in 2007 the organization has grown to support the planting of over 1,000,000 trees.
-
Global Biodiversity Information Facility (GBIF)The Global Biodiversity Information Facility (GBIF) is an international open data infrastructure, funded by governments.It allows anyone, anywhere to access data about all types of life on Earth, shared across national boundaries via the Internet.
-
Map of Life (MOL)The Map of Life assembles and integrates different sources of data describing species distributions worldwide.
-
UN EnvironmentAssessing global, regional and national environmental conditions and trends; developing international and national environmental instruments; and strengthening institutions for the management of the environment.
-
AgricolaWorldwide coverage of agricultural literature. Compiled by the NationalAgricultural Library & institutions in agricultural and related sciences. Indexes journal articles, book chapters, monographs, series, microforms, audiovisuals, maps, etc.
-
Biological SciencesBiological Sciences is an interdisciplinary database that incorporates a number of other databases.
-
BioOne.1Search for articles in over 80 biological, ecological, and environmental sciences journals from science professional societies and publishers.
-
CAB Abstracts PlusSearch for articles in the applied life sciences, including agriculture, forestry, aspects of human health, human nutrition, animal health, and the management and conservation of natural resources.
-
Ecology AbstractsIndexes journal articles, books & other sources on climate impact, conservation, ecosystems, erosion, food chains, habitats, land reclamation, pollution, soil, water resources, etc.
-
Environment IndexSearch for scientific, technical & popular journal articles on energy resources, wastes, recycling, pollution, health hazards, conservation, wildlife management, social/ethical issues, & policy.
-
Science DirectScienceDirect is an index to journal articles and book chapters from more than 2,500 peer-reviewed journals and more than 11,000 books published by Elsevier, it's partner publishing units and other publishers, such as Cell Press.
-
ScopusScopus is an abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature and web sources with tools to track, analyze, and visualize research. Scopus provides access to a broad portfolio of peer-reviewed content from around the world.
-
Source OECD - Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development StudiesProvides access to the OECD and IEA statistical databases, journals, monographs, annual reports, working papers and reference documents produced by the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development.
-
Encyclopedia of LifeThe Encyclopedia of Life (EOL) is an ambitious, even audacious project to organize and make available via the Internet virtually all information about life present on Earth.
-
Grzimek's Animal Life EncyclopediaA revised and updated version of the original work published in Germany in 1960, this edition incorporates recent developments in the animal world as noted by prominent advisors and contributors from the scientific community.
Find articles in Conservation Biology and Ecology
-
Birds of the World
A comprehensive ornithological research platform compiles scholarly content, bird observations, and multimedia into a single resource for detailed avian life history information.
-
Biological Science Collection
Full-text access to Biological Sciences, MEDLINE, and TOXLINE databases, offering peer-reviewed research, technical reports, and conference proceedings in biology, medicine, ecology, and biotechnology from 1946 to the present.
-
Environment Complete
Access over 800 full-text journals, monographs, curated open-access content, and historical records spanning topics like ecosystem ecology, energy, environmental policy, and sustainability.
-
GreenFILE
Search scholarly, government, and general-interest content on human impacts on the environment. Includes topics such as climate change, renewable energy, pollution, green building, and sustainable agriculture.
Coverage: 1970+
-
AGRICOLA
A bibliographic database includes citations from global literature, such as journal articles, monographs, theses, patents, audiovisual materials, and technical reports related to agriculture.
Since 1985 has used the CAB Thesaurus to select controlled vocabulary terms for subject indexing
Websites for Conservation Biology and Ecology
-
Animal Diversity WebAnimal Diversity Web (ADW) is an online database of animal natural history, distribution, classification, and conservation biology at the University of Michigan.
-
Arizona Cooperative ExtensionCooperative Extension, an outreach arm of The University of Arizona and the College of Agriculture and Life Sciences (CALS), is "Improving Lives, Communities and the Economy" by serving as a statewide network of knowledgeable faculty and staff that provides lifelong educational programs for all Arizonans.
-
Biodiversity Heritage LibraryThe Biodiversity Heritage Library improves research methodology by collaboratively making biodiversity literature openly available to the world as part of a global biodiversity community.
-
Community ConservationCC acts as a catalyst to create community-based organizations in the places where biodiversity is threatened.
-
Community Forests InternationalCommunity Forests International was founded after launching a tree-planting project on the island of Pemba, Tanzania. Since inception in 2007 the organization has grown to support the planting of over 1,000,000 trees.
-
Global Biodiversity Information Facility (GBIF)The Global Biodiversity Information Facility (GBIF) is an international open data infrastructure, funded by governments.It allows anyone, anywhere to access data about all types of life on Earth, shared across national boundaries via the Internet.
-
Map of Life (MOL)The Map of Life assembles and integrates different sources of data describing species distributions worldwide.