Skip to main content
Login to LibApps


Engineering (Basic)

A introductory guide to engineering and technology resources. Directed primarily at engineering undergraduates in ASU101 and lower-level engineering courses.

How to Find Engineering Books

the ASU Library has engineering books in both print and online formats.

For print books, the Noble Library (Tempe campus); the Library at the Polytechnic campus and the Fletcher Library (West campus)  have the major collection of engineering books available in print on shelves, many of the engineering titles (and other ASU Library print titles) are located at an offsite location called the High Density Collection.   If the book you need is not  located on your campus, use the REQUEST button on the book's catalog record to have the book delivered to your preferred library from another library or from the High Density Collection. 

The ASU Library also has an extensive collection of electronic books available online.

To Find Engineering Books use:

Use "Library One Search" to Find Books

The Library One Search is the best place to start if you're trying to find material on a topic and want more than one content type (books, journal articles, magazine articles, etc.) to be retrieved.  Library One Search also let's you search anything (topic, title, author, etc.) from a single search box; an advanced search feature is also available.  When viewing a results list, use the options in the left column to refine/focus the results by various methods.

After you do the search, in the right hand column, you can limit to only those items that are full text online or available in the library.

Searching the Full Text of Books

Most of our electronic books are listed in the catalog, however, to search the full text of a book, use the native search engine for these collections:

Already Have a Citation for a Book?

Already have a citation for a book?  Here's how to find the book in the ASU Library. 

Citations for books usually contain the following components, although not necessarily in this order:

  • Author's name
  • Title of the Book
  • Edition number (if not the first edition)
  • Place of Publication
  • Publisher
  • Date of Publication

Examples:

  1. Kranakis, E. (1997). Constructing a Bridge: an exploration of engineering culture, design and research in nineteenth- century France and America. Cambridge, Mass: MIT Press.
     
  2. Waltham, Tony. Foundations of Engineering Geology. 3rd ed.  Abingdon, UK: Spon Press, 2009.   

To determine if the book is available in the ASU Library use either the Library One Search or the ASU Library Catalog Search.  Librarians prefer to use the Catalog for it's precision but either database will work.   The most precise and efficient search is by title. Be sure the title is enclosed in " " to keep the title together and not find just individual words.  

Is the Book You Need Not Available?

If the book you need is at a different ASU Library ... 
On the book's record in the Catalog, click on the blue REQUEST link, fill out the form and we'll deliver the book to your preferred ASU Library.

If the book you need is checked out ...
On the book's record in the Catalog, click on the blue REQUEST link and fill out the form.  We'll notify the person who has the book that someone else needs it; regardless of the original due date, that person will be given two weeks to return the book. When the book is returned, we'll deliver it to your prefered ASU Library and notify you that it's available.   

If the ASU Library doesn't own the book you need ...
Request the book via the Interlibrary Loan service and we'll borrow it from another library -- no charge!    More details about the Interlibrary Loan service are available.

Hours and Locations