Login to LibApps

Streaming Video: Academic Video Online

Provides descriptions and links to licensed, internet, and pay-per-view streaming video resources

Academic Video Online

ASU Library owns multiple streaming video collections and hundreds of selected titles from Alexander Street, under the Academic Video Online title.

A single search interface provides access to all videos, or you can search the subject collections individually.

Single titles licensed from Alexander Street have records in the  ASU Library online catalog

Most titles available through Alexander Street have captions, full-text transcripts, clipping tools, and more.  Sequential thumbnail photos for some videos facilitates previewing content quickly.

For detailed information about the content and special features of the individual collections, or to search within a specific collection use the links below.

For instructions on how to link to videos from this collection within Blackboard or other course management systems see the Linking tab.

Alexander Street Video Collections

Alexander Street video collections provide subject-specific content developed by the BBC, Creative Arts Television, ArtHaus Musik, Pennebaker, Hegedus Films, Cunningham Dance Foundation, Insight Media, and many other publishers and broadcast companies.

Individual titles in the collections have individual catalog records in the ASU Library online catalog.  For deeper searching all videos are indexed and searchable in their individual sites with full-text transcripts available for many of the videos.  Users can search by date, performers, other names, scene, aria, etc.  Sequential thumbnail photos for some videos facilitates previewing content quickly.

The Alexander Street interface also provides ability to cite videos to the specific second with permanent URLs.  Other features built into Critical Video Editions include custom clip-making tools, personal playlists, and embeddable links.

Alexander Street continues to add new content to each of the collections.

These Alexander Street Press streaming video collections can be cross-searched using the link to Academic Video Online in the Libraries' list of online resources.

Titles in the Critical Video Editions collections include Public Performance Rights.

For instructions on how to link to videos from these collections within Blackboard see Linking Videos in Blackboard


Connect to American History in Video

Provides the largest and richest collection of video available online for the study of American history, with more than 1600 hours in 6000 titles. The collection allows students and researchers to analyze historical events, and the presentation of historical events over time, through commercial and governmental newsreels, archival footage, public affairs footage, and important documentaries, including Ken Burns' Civil War.

For instructions on how to link to videos from this collection within Blackboard see Linking Videos in Blackboard


Connect to Counseling and Therapy in Video

Provides an online collection of video available for the study of social work, psychotherapy, psychology, and psychiatric counseling.  Videos include lectures, interviews, demonstrations, and counseling sessions. Contains more than 700 hours of film in about 700 titles

For instructions on how to link to videos from this collection within Blackboard see Linking Videos in Blackboard


Connect to Dance in Video

Provides streaming video files of dance productions and documentaries by influential performers and companies of the 20th century. Selections cover ballet, tap, jazz, contemporary, experimental, and improvisational dance, as well as forerunners of the forms and the pioneers of modern concert dance.  Contains 768 works, totalling about 500 hours.

For instructions on how to link to videos from this collection within Blackboard see Linking Videos in Blackboard


Connect to Education in Video

Developed specifically for training and developing teachers, this collection features more than 3800 titles equalling approximately 1025 hours.  Teaching demonstrations, lectures, documentaries, and primary-source footage of students and teachers in actual classrooms give education students a way to observe the intricacies of behavior, tone, facial expression, and body language that define effective teaching styles.


Connect to Ethnographic Video Online

Provides a large and comprehensive resource for the study of human culture and behavior.  The collection covers every region of the world and features the work of many of the most influential documentary filmmakers of the 20th century, including interviews, previously unreleased raw footage, field notes, study guides, and more. The collection includes nearly 1100 titles, roughly 744 hours.

For instructions on how to link to videos from this collection within Blackboard see Linking Videos in Blackboard


Connect to Filmakers Library

Provides award-winning documentaries with relevance across the curriculum—race and gender studies, human rights, globalization and global studies, multiculturalism, international relations, criminal justice, the environment, bioethics, health, political science and current events, psychology, arts, literature, and more. It presents points of view and historical and current experiences from diverse cultures and traditions world-wide. This release now provides 1019 titles, equaling approximately 806 hours.  Each title has a scrolling transcript that follows the online audio.  Titles are also closed captioned.


Connect to Opera in Video

A streaming video database that contains nearly 300 important opera performances, captured on video through staged productions, interviews, and documentaries. Selections represent the world's leading performers, conductors, and opera houses and are based on a work's importance to the operatic canon.

For instructions on how to link to videos from this collection within Blackboard see Linking Videos in Blackboard


Connect to Theatre in Video

Contains 374 videos of definitive performances of the world's leading plays, with more than 100 film documentaries, online in streaming video.

For instructions on how to link to videos from this collection within Blackboard see Linking Videos in Blackboard

Profile

Dan Stanton's picture
Dan Stanton
My Academic Units: School for the Future of Innovation in Society
Herberger Institute School of Film, Dance and Theatre
CLAS Film and Media Studies
Contact:
Hayden Library
Room C1V
480-965-1798

Hours and Locations