Asian Arts

ARTstor is a nonprofit digital library of more than one million images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and social sciences.

Asia and the Pacific Rim Early Prints and Photographs from the NYPL Digital Gallery.

Beijing 798: the Chinese avant-garde (93 minutes). A video exploring the 798 Art District in Beijing. N7345.6 .B45 2010 DVD. Hayden Lower Level

CAMIO (Catalog of Art Museum Images Online) is a growing online collection documenting works of art from around the world, representing the collections of prominent museums. 

China, the empire of art? (56 mins) provides an in depth overview of the Chinese art scene. N7345.6 .C486 2009 DVD West Media

Dunhuang resources:

• Dunhuang Academy website of the organization in charge of the Dunhuang Caves (in Chinese)
• Getty Conservation Insitute information, images, and video on the Mogao Caves
• International Dunhuang Project multi;ingual website giving infomration on Dunhuang and other Silk Road sites.

Museums:

• Art Instuitute of Chicago Asia collection.
• British Library
• British Museum
• The Cleveland Museum of Art.
• Freer/Sackler: the Smithsonian's Museums of Asian Art
• Harvard Art Museum.
• Metropolitan Museum of Art.
• Museum of Fine Arts, Boston.
• Phoenix Art Museum, Asian Art
• Kyoto National Museum provides an extensive online image collection.
• Tokyo National Museum of Art. The site has some images from various periods.
• The Virtual Museum of Japanese Arts a Japanese government project.

Nan Yue Town in Hunan Province P.R.C. is the home of the makers of religious icons. This short film (2:38 minutes) provides a view of the art of creating these religious icons.

Photobucket current Japanese art images. It is a video and image hosting site so look with care.

Project 798: New art in China (62 mins) a documentary about the contemporary Chinese art scene. Also available as a DVD at N7345.6 .P76 2010 DVD Hayden Lower Level. 

Asia Society provides a virtual exhibition of 25 items from their collection.

Japan Society provides a vast of array of resources on Japan.

Korean Artist Project sponsored by the Korean Art Museums.

Tearing Art with Korean artist - Yim Choon Lee.

Heritage and ancestors: The politics of Chinese museums and historical memory (1:47:37).

Many of the resources above were found on the ArtPromote site. It worth taking a look at.

The Emperor's Private Paradise: Treasures from the Forbidden City (at the Metropolitan Museum of Art February 1 - May 1 2011) selected images.

Extravagant Display: Chinese Art in the Eighteenth and Nineteenth Centuries ((at the Metropolitan Museum of Art December 2010 - May 1 2011) selected images.

Works of Art-Collection Database of the Metropolitan Museum of Art

Xiantangshan Caves Project. The buddhist cave tamples of Xiangtangshan are a groups of man-made caves with carved sculptures from the Norther Qi dynastry (550-577) in southern Hebei province China. The project is a University of Chicago project.

Echoes of the Past-The Buddhist caves of Xiantangshan an exhibition at the Institute for the Study of the Ancient World, New York University.

The Floating World: Japanese color woodcuts by Katagawa Utamaro from the NYPL Digital Gallery.

Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History--Asia from the Metropolitan Museum of Art. This a series of thematic essays covering many aspects of Asian art.

Below is a very limited list of galleries devoted to Asian Art. I listed them because they will give you some idea of the art avialable and many have biographical and exhibition information.

ArtLinkArt is an online database project for Chinese contemporary art.

Art Net list current auctions but has biographical and other information about artists and their art.

ArtSpeak China focuses on contemporary Chinese art and is a privite collection currently representing 90 of the leading Chinese avant-garde artists.

Chinese Porcelain Company offers Asian and European works of art and funiture of the finest quality.

J.J. Lally & Co. Oriental Art maintains a constant display of Chinese ceramics, bronzes, jades, sculpture, and a wide variety of different Chinese works of art.

Kaikodo Asian Art  offers a wide range of Asian art.

Loft Gallery contemporary Chinese Art.

Somo Gallery devoted to contemporary Chinese art.

White Rabbit Gallery contemporary Chinese art.

Asia Art Achive is a dynamic, growing body of material intended to reflect contemporary artistic practice and developments of Asia within an international context.

Beijing' 798 District. This site from China Org (Ministry of Culture)  and the Beijing Municipal Government provides information on current and past gallery exhibitions. It also has links to several important galleries including the Ullens Center for the Arts.  

A Pure and Remote View: Visualizing Early Chinese Landscape Painting a series of video lectures by Dr James Cahill from pre-Han to Sung dynasty.