Asian Arts
Searching for Materials in the Library catalog
There are several ways to search the Library's catalog for materials; however you might want to use the Subject Headings Art, Chinese - 21st Century or Art, Chinese - 20th Century for the best results.
Article Databases and Journals
ASU Library subscribes to over 400 databases. On the Libraries' homepage under Articles you can search for articles, select a specific database or look up an e-Journal by title. Though there are many databases that might be useful I have selected several to get you started in your research.
Journals:
- Orientations: the magazine for collectors and connoisseurs of Oriental art. Index and abstracts available online. Issues in Hayden Library (lower level) at DS 501 .O73
- Arts of Asia available in Hayden Library (lower level) NX 572 .A75
- Leap: The International Art Magazine of Contemporary China
- Journal of Contemporary Chinese Art
Images and Videos
ARTstor is a nonprofit digital library of more than one million images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and social sciences.
CAMIO (Catalog of Art Museum Images Online) is a growing online collection documenting works of art from around the world, representing the collections of prominent museums.
Museums:
- Art Instuitute of Chicago Asia collection;
- British Library;
- British Museum;
- The Cleveland Museum of Art;
- Freer/Sackler: The Smithsonian's Museums of Asian Art;
- The Getty Museum of Art.;
- Harvard Art Museum;
- Metropolitan Museum of Art;
- Museum of Fine Arts, Boston;
- Museum of Contemporary Art Chengdu.
- Museum of the Central Academy of Fine Arts
Many of the resources above were found on the ArtPromote site. It is worth taking a look at the site.
Videos:
Project 798: new art in new China (62 minutes)/ Lucius C. Kuert; San Francisco, CA: Microcinema International, 2010; Hayden Lower Level N7345.6 .P76 2010 DVD
Beijing 798 : the Chinese avant-garde (93 minutes) /director, Mathias Frick, Hamilton, N.J. : Films for the Humanities & Sciences, 2010; Hayden Lower Level N7345.6 .B45 2010 DVD
Chinese Artists in New York (China Insitute interview)(73 minutes)/France Pepper, producer, New York: China Institute in America, 2009; Hayden Lower Lever: N7348 .C53 2009 DVD
China, The Empire of Art? (56 minutes)/ produced by Olivier Mille ; written by Emma Tassy ; directed by Sheng Zhimin and Emma Tassy, ARTE France and Artline Films, 2009; Hayden Lower Level N7345.6 .C486 2009 DVD
Contemporary Chinese Art Part 1 (China Institute presents)(228 minutes)/Taught by Philip Tinari, New York: China Institute in America, 2007; Hayden Lower Level N7345 .T56 2007 DVD v.1
Contemporary Chinese Art Part 2 (China Institute presents)(197 minutes)/Taught by Philip Tinari, New York: China Institute in America, 2008; Hayden Lower Level N7345 .T56 2007 DVD v.2
Yellow Ox Mountain / by Miao Wang, A Three Waters Production, 2007, Online Access
Censorship of the visual arts in China (China Institute presents)(70 minutes)/ New York: China Institute in America, 2007; Hayden Lower Lever: N8740 .C46 2008 DVD
Anhui: In the Peach Blossom Land (43 minutes)/German United DIstributor, 2006; Online Access
Chinese Contemporary Art Comes to America(55 minutes)/Filmakers Library Online; 2006; Online Access
Chinese Contemporary Art (55 minutes)/ Filmakers Library Online; 2006; Online Access
From the Masses to the Masses: An Artist in Mao's China (57 minutes)/ Eric Hyer, producer; Salt Lake City, UT: Combat Flims and Research, 2005; Hayden Lower Level ND1049.J56 F76 2005 DVD
Art in the Cultural Revolution: Establisment of a New Age (33 minutes)/ Kubert Leung, director, New York: Cinema Guild, 2005; Hayden Lowever Level N7345 .A78 2005 DVD
Inner Visions (29 minutes)/Lydia Chen, producer, Flimakers Library Online, 1995; Online Access
The Graduates/Song Gao, director, Film Ideas, 2013; Hayden Lower Level LA 1133 .S733 2012 DVD
Morning Sun (117 minutes) Carma Hinton et. al., Long Bow Group, 2003; Hayden Lower Level DS 778.7 .M675 2005
From Jean-Paul Sartre to Teresa Teng: Cantonese Contemporary Art in the 1980s (40 minutes); Online Access
Interviews:
Zhang Huan: Interview with Philip Dodd at the Pace Gallery (48 minutes) 2014
Interview iwth Wang Du on Chinese contemporary art in the 1980s (8:53 minutes) 2010 -- installation and performance art
Sun Xun (China Institute interview)(50:30 minutes)/ France Pepper, producer, New York: China Institute in America, 2010; Hayden Lower Lever: N7349.S86 A35 2010 DVD
Hong Lei (China Institute interview)(75 minutes)/ France Pepper, producer, New York: China Institute in America, 2010; Hayden Lower Lever: N7349 .H63 A35 2009 DVD
Lin Yilin (China Institute interview)(55 minutes)/ France Pepper, producer, New York: China Institute in America, 2009; Hayden Lower Lever: N7349.L56 A35 2009 DVD
Qiu Zhijie (China Institute interview)(55:44 minutes)/ France Pepper, producer, New York: China Institute in America, 2009; Hayden Lower Lever: N7349 .Q58 A 35 2009 DVD
Ai Weiwei (China Institute interview)(109 minutes)/ France Pepper, producer, New York: China Institute in America, 2008; Hayden Lower Lever: N7349.A5 A35 2008 DVD
Song Dong (China Institute interview)(102 minutes)/ France Pepper, producer, New York: China Institute in America, 2009; Hayden Lower Lever. N7349 .S66 A35 2009 DVD
Chen Qiulin (China Institute interview)(102 minutes)/ France Pepper, producer, New York: China Institute in America, 2009; Hayden Lower Lever. N7349 .C457 A35 2007 DVD
The Works Future of Cninese Ink Painting explores the work of artist Zheng Chongbin.
Online Encyclopedias
- Oxford Art OnlineComprehensive online reference resource for all aspects of the visual arts worldwide from prehistory to the 1990s. Includes information on artists, worldwide art, artistic techniques, and other art-related topics.
- Encyclopaedia BritannicaContains the complete encyclopedia, Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary & the Britannica Book of the Year. Includes articles, illustrations, definitions, and links to Web sites selected, rated, and reviewed by Britannica editors.
Selected Titles
Total Modernity and the Avant-Garde in Twentieth-century Chinese Art/ Gao Min and Gao Minglu, MIT Press, 2011 (eBook)
Art and Politics in China, 1949-1984/ Maria Galikowski, The Chinese University Press, 1998; N 7345 .G35x 1998 West
Between Past and Future: New Photography and Video from China/ Wu Hung, Smart Museum of Art, 2004; TR645 .C552 D389
Humanism in China: A Contemporary Record of Photography/ Wand Huangshen, Anno Domini, 2003; TR 646 .C6 Z494 2006
Avatars and antiheroes: A Guide to contemporary Chines Artists/ Claudia Albertini. Kodansha, 2008; N7345.6 .A43 2008
Ink Art: Past as Present in Contemporary China/ Maxwell K. Hearn, The Metropolitan Museum of art, 2013; N7345 .I55 2013
Bound Unbound: Lin Tianmaio/ Melissa Chiu, editor, Asia Society, 2012 ; NB1049 .L56 A4 2012
At Work: Twenty-five Contemporary Chinese Artists/ Jon Burris, Long River Press, 2011; N7345.6 .B87 2011
Painters and politics in the People's Repulic of China, 1949-1979/ Julia F. Andrews, University of California, 1992 (eBook)
A Continuous Revolution: Making Sense of the Cultural Revolution Culture/ Barbara Mittler. Harvard UNiversity Asia Center Cambridge MA 2012 DS 778.7 .M 59 2012
Selected Articles
The Rebirth of Chinese Ink Paining. This article explores the current ink painting scene in China.
A Spirit in the Dark from the Wall Street Journal explores the work of Zhen Chongbin.
White Ink. Exhibition catalog of Zheng Chongbin's at the Silcon Valley Asian Art Center.
Online Resources
Asia Art Achive is a dynamic, growing body of material intended to reflect contemporary artistic practice and developments of Asia within an international context.
Beijing' 798 District. This site from China Org (Ministry of Culture) and the Beijing Municipal Government provides information on current and past gallery exhibitions. It also has links to several important galleries including the Ullens Center for the Arts.
Art Radar: Contemporary art trends and news from Asia and beyond.
Chinese Propaganda Poster Project The University of Victoria digital archive concentrates on a golden age of poster production, from the early 1970s to the early 1980s.
Artnet.This an online auction site but does have information about artists as well as examples of their work.
Artspace bills itself as "insider access to the world's best art". It to is an online auction site.
ArtLinkArt is an online database project for Chinese contemporary art.
SOMO: Chinese Contemporary Art an online auction site but does have biographies and other artist information as well.
artChangdu21 is devoted to artists from Changdu. Contains images and biographical information. Affiliated with the Sichuan Academy of Fine Arts.
Art Speak China is a bilingual, online resource devoted to contemporary Chinese art. It is comprised of a wiki, a collaboratively authored, encyclopedia of contemporary Chinese art and a timeline of related historical and social events.
Artintern is a far-reaching artistic organization that aims to promote and provide services to domestic and international contemporary artists.
Some Artists' Websites
Yang Yonglian; From the New World: A sprawling digital collage of a dystopian future. Also his website contians more images and information.
Galleries
Beijing Art Now Gallery is a professional international art institute for Chinese contemporary art, which was founded in 2004 in Beijing.
Writing about Art
Researching Art History from the University of North Carolina.
- Last updated: Jan 2, 2024 8:27 AM
- URL: https://libguides.asu.edu/AsianArts
- Print page
The ASU Library acknowledges the twenty-three Native Nations that have inhabited this land for centuries. Arizona State University's four campuses are located in the Salt River Valley on ancestral territories of Indigenous peoples, including the Akimel O’odham (Pima) and Pee Posh (Maricopa) Indian Communities, whose care and keeping of these lands allows us to be here today. ASU Library acknowledges the sovereignty of these nations and seeks to foster an environment of success and possibility for Native American students and patrons. We are advocates for the incorporation of Indigenous knowledge systems and research methodologies within contemporary library practice. ASU Library welcomes members of the Akimel O’odham and Pee Posh, and all Native nations to the Library.
