ASU Library subscribes to over 400 databases. On the Libraries' homepage under Articles you can search for articles, select a specific database or look up an e-Journal by title. Though there are many databases that might be useful I have selected several to get you started in your research.
Artelino is an online art auction site but it does have quite a few images and some biographies of the artists.
ARTstor is a nonprofit digital library of more than one million images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and social sciences.
CAMIO (Catalog of Art Museum Images Online) is a growing online collection documenting works of art from around the world, representing the collections of prominent museums.
Photobucket current Japanese art images. It is a video and image hosting site so look with care.
Asia Society provides a virtual exhibition of 25 items from thier collection.
Japan Society provides a vast of array of resources on Japan.
The Floating World: Japanese color woodcuts by Katagawa Utamaro from the NYPL Digital Gallery.
Many of the resources above were found on the ArtPromote site. It worth taking a look at.
Aida Makoto moves freely to and fro between society and history, across the borders between contemporary and pre-modern, east and west.
Akira Yamaguchi uses the techniques of traditional Japanese painting to explore new possibilities for contemporary art.
Satoru Aoyama his photo-realistic work, which at first seems to be a traditional oil painting or photograph, is in fact embroidery.
Chiho Aoshima a member of Kaikai Kiki and the Superflat movement, is known for her fantastical urban pop creatures and landscapes.
Chiharu Shiota is a performance and installation artist who creates large-scale, site-specific poetic environments.
Ei Arakawa is drawn to states of change, instability, happy accidents and elements of risk. His performative actions and installations involve collectivity, friendship, simultaneity and improvisation.
Yoshiko Chuma [videorecording] : a page out of order / DuArt Film and Video ; produced by Michael Blackwood Productions, Inc. ; a film by Rima Yamazaki ; producer, Michael Blackwood . 2009 (61 minutes). Hayden Lower Level GV1785.C528 Y67 2009 DVD
The cats of Mirikitani [videorecording] / produced by Lucid Dreaming, Inc. in association with the Independent Television Serivice (ITVS) and the Center for Asian American Media (CAAM) ; producers, Masa Yoshikawa, Linda Hattendorf ; director, Linda Hattendorf. 2008 (74 minutes); West Media N6537.M56 C38 2008 DVD
The discovery of Japan [videorecording] : arts of the southern barbarians / a production of NHK International. 2005 (30 minutes); Hayden Lower Level N7353.5 .D58 2005 DVD
Hokusai: the suspended threat (30:59) This program takes a deep look into Hokusai’s The Great Wave, interpreting the story it tells and scrutinizing formal aspects ranging from the perfect spiral that underpins the wave, to the spiritual balance between water and sky, to the fractal-like nature of the wavelets.
Memories of Origin: Hiroshi Sugimoto (43:32) This documentary follows 200 days in the life of contemporary artist Hiroshi Sugimoto--a leading presence in the world of modern art.
Manga World (52:05) Filmed in Japan, this program pushes beyond the stereotypes to objectively examine the history of manga, how manga are drawn, and manga’s influence on Japanese life.
Yayoi Kusama: the polka dot princess (49.01) Yayoi Kusama, 83, is a self-proclaimed genius who wears signature red polka-dot clothes and is one of few Japanese artists who have achieved worldwide celebrity.
Additional "Library One Search" Pages
For convenient access to major library resources consider installing the latest ASU Library Toolbar into your web browser. Our toolbar allows you to easily search Library One Search, the ASU Library Catalog, the content of our LibGuides, proxied Google Scholar and the open-access WorldCat catalog/database.
ASU Library has a number of tutorials available. They are usually short (4 minutes or less) and focus on problems you may run into as you research and write your papers. They can be found on the Library's home page under Services for Students or at Tutorials. I selected a few that might be helpful:
If you are having problems citing or you aren't sure which style guide to use link to our Libgude in Citing Styles.
You may also wish to take a look at the Academic Integrity Libguide for a refresher on ASU policies in regards to plagiarism and other academic integrity issues.
RefWorks is a licensed web-based bibliography and database manager, allows users to create their own personal citation/abstract database by importing citations from online databases, the ASU catalog, or text files. Click here for more information on RefWorks.
ASU Library offers RefWorks sessions (Basic and Advanced). Click here for the schedule.