Skip to main content
Login to LibApps


HSD 610: Human & Social Dimensions in Science & Technology Colloquium

Library and Internet resources for HSD topics.

Statistics and Reports

Country Studies: Presents a description and analysis of the historical setting and the social, economic, political, and national security systems and institutions of countries throughout the world.

EarthTrends: An online collection of information regarding the environmental, social and economic trends that shape our world such as statistical, graphic, and analytical data. Information about water resources, poverty and economic conditions.

Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU): Provides data and forecasts about political, economic, and business climates of various regions and up to 200 countries as well as related news, analysis, and risk factor assessments. Includes the online version of the Country Report series, the Country Profile series, Country Commerce, Country Finance, the Business Briefings series, the Economist, Global Outlook, and selected Country Forecast series.

Index to Current Urban Documents: Includes published guide to reports and research generated by local government agencies, civic organizations, research organizations, public libraries, and metropolitan and regional planning agencies in 500 selected cities in the US and Canada.

Proquest Statistical Insight: Indexes statistical information produced by the state governments & selected private organizations. Sources Covered: Statistical Reference Index (SRI), Index to International Statistics (IIS) and American Statistics Index (ASI) -- covering associations, business organizations, commercial publishers, independent research organizations, state governments, university research centers, international non-governmental organizations and international intergovernmental organizations.

OCED iLibrary: Provides access to the full text of selected studies produced by the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development.

UNdata: A World of Information: The United Nations Statistics Division (UNSD) of the Department of Economic and Social Affairs (DESA) offers numerous databases, tables and glossaries covering a wide range of themes.

World Bank Data Catalog  The World Bank's Open Data initiative is intended to provide all users with access to World Bank data. The data catalog is a listing of available World Bank datasets, include databases, pre-formatted tables and reports.

 

Data Sets

Research Databases

 

Academic Search Premier: Covers a wide range of academic subjects. Features full text for selected journals, abstracts and indexing for over 3,600 scholarly journals.

Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO): Comprehensive source for theory and research in international affairs. Includes working papers; policy briefs and economic indicators; links and resources; maps and country data from university research institutes,occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, and proceedings from conferences.

PAIS: Index to political, economic, & social issues in current debate. Covers public & social policy literature of business, economics, finance, law, international relations,public administration, government, political science, & other social sciences.

OCED iLibrary: Provides access to the full text of selected studies produced by the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development.

Political Reference Suite: Resources on a wide array of topics largely pertaining to U.S. political, judicial, governmental, historical, and policy research interests. Note the section POLITICAL HANDBOOK OF THE WORLD.

SocIndex with Full Text: SocINDEX™ with Full Text is a social sciences research database, covering a wide spectrum of disciplines. It offers in-depth coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study.

Sociological Abstracts: Covers theoretical & applied sociology, social science, & policy science. Includes sociological aspects of anthropology, gender studies, gerontology, family studies, health, racial interactions, social psychology, social work, urban studies, etc.

Women's Studies International: Indexes women's studies materials from around the world. Covers political, economic, social & cultural issues, including political science, sociology, business, history, education, etc.

Worldwide Political Science Abstracts: Bibliographic informationand research within the political science discipline and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration/policy.No full-text access.

Legal Databases and Resources

Hein Online: The Modern Link to Legal History (1754+)
HeinOnline has four major library collections: the Law Journal Library, the Federal Register Library, the Treaties and Agreements Library, and the U.S. Supreme Court Library.   Here is an  ASU Law Library Tutorial on Using HeinOnline.

Legal Periodicals Retrospective (1908-1981) retrospective database indexes over 750 legal periodicals published in the United States, Canada, Great Britain, Ireland, Australia and New Zealand. Annual surveys of the laws of a jurisdiction, annual surveys of the federal courts, yearbooks, annual institutes, and annual reviews of the work in a given field or on a given topic are also covered.

Nexis Uni Full text of selected newspapers, trade publications, legal periodicals, and scholarly journals. Includes company directories/financials; Hoover reports; quotes; almanac; federal/state laws, regulations, court opinions; accounting statements/guidelines; & news transcripts.  Here are  ASU Law Library Tutorials on Finding Legal Articles Using Nexis Uni and    Finding Cases Using Nexis Uni

Library of Congress Law Library - Guide to Law Online:   The Guide to Law Online, prepared by the Law Library of Congress Public Services Division, is an annotated guide to sources of information on government and law available online. It includes selected links to useful and reliable sites for legal information   Select a Link: International and Multinational; Nations of the World; U.S. Federal - includes U.S. Code and Constitution links; and U.S. States and Territories

Polling Data

Polling Data

Hours and Locations