Login to LibApps

HSD 610: Human & Social Dimensions in Science & Technology Colloquium: Social Sciences

Library and Internet resources for HSD topics.

Journal Article Databases

Sociological Abstracts: A primary database for research in sociology and related areas. Click on the "peer-reviewed" option to limit your results to just that type of journal article. The search boxes allow you to combine concepts to narrow your search. Example: political attitudes AND college students.

PsycInfo: Covers all areas of psychology and is also a primary database for research in family studies and human development. Click on the "peer-reviewed" option to limit your results to just that type of publication. The search boxes allow you to combine concepts to narrow your search. Example: social anxiety AND treatment effectiveness.

Academic Search Premier: Also known as Ebscohost. Covers a wide variety of journals in all subject areas including the social sciences. Also covers a lot of popular magazines that are not research-based, so be sure to click the box for "scholarly peer reviewed articles". Use the "advanced search" option to search more effectively.

SocIndex with Fulltext: Searches the same way as Academic Search Premier, but adds coverage for some additional social science journals. You may want to search both databases for a more comprehensive search. Remember to use the "advanced search" option and to click on "scholarly peer reviewed articles".


 

Databases for Other Types of Materials

These are just a few examples. Many more can be found on other Research Guides or on our complete database list which has both an alphabetical list and a pulldown subject menu.

Dissertations: Proquest Dissertations and Theses database

Polling Sources: Check out this list of sources here, especially the iPoll Databank from the Roper Center for Public Opinion

Statistics: ProQuest Statistical Insight is just one of many places to find statistical sources.

Legal: Nexis Uni; There are links on the left to both U.S. and international legal materials.

Newspapers: Good list of newspaper databases here, especially Nexis Uni and Access World News.

Literature Reviews: Can be found in many places, but a good source is Annual Reviews. Coverage in many different disciplines, but all can be searched together in one easy interface.

Think Tanks and Policy Institute Publications

Subject Librarians

Subject Librarians are assigned to every academic area within ASU.  

To find the librarian most closely associated with your specific topic, see the list of

Subject Librarians

Hours and Locations