Skip to main content
LibApps staff login

ASU Library: Things to Know

Introduction to the ASU Library for students, faculty, and the ASU community.

Open Stacks Collections

The Open Stack Collections at ASU Library include millions of print and openly-accessible digital materials for all to explore and use. The Library’s open stacks create new and ongoing opportunities for library users to discover and engage with previously unknown works.

Print books are still a cornerstone component in the Library’s landscape of learning. The design of ASU Library’s print collections is guided in part by The Future of Print initiative, with support from The Andrew W. Mellon Foundation, which aims to inspire new thinking around the development of inclusive, high-quality, and user-focused print collections for research and learning.

To explore visit:

If you have suggestions on materials to add to the ASU Library collections, use this suggestion form. 

Archives and Distinctive Collections

Community-Driven Archives

The Archives unit brings together the Community-Driven Archives Initiative; inclusive collections such as the Chicano/a Research Collection and Black Collections; and relevant archives to the University and Greater Arizona. This enables us to enhance our local impact and social embeddedness.

This unit includes:

Curation and Research Services

This team focuses on the development of our collections of rare books and manuscripts, and specialized materials related to design and the arts, music, theater, child drama, international studies, and other interdisciplinary subjects. This unit is also responsible for coordination and operation of the reading rooms at Hayden and Design libraries. 

This unit includes:

 

Searchable finding aids are available through Arizona Archives Online. To inquiry about archival materials, reach out to curators and archivists via Ask An Archivist. 

Labriola National American Indian Data Center

International in scope, the Labriola National American Indian Data Center brings together the current and historical work of Indigenous authors across a multitude of disciplines. With an emphasis on language, government, education, tribal history, biography, religion and customs, the Labriola Center features thousands of books, journals, Native Nation newspapers and primary source materials, such as photographs, oral histories and manuscript collections.

This unit includes: 

Subjects: General

The ASU Library acknowledges the twenty-three Native Nations that have inhabited this land for centuries. Arizona State University's four campuses are located in the Salt River Valley on ancestral territories of Indigenous peoples, including the Akimel O’odham (Pima) and Pee Posh (Maricopa) Indian Communities, whose care and keeping of these lands allows us to be here today. ASU Library acknowledges the sovereignty of these nations and seeks to foster an environment of success and possibility for Native American students and patrons. We are advocates for the incorporation of Indigenous knowledge systems and research methodologies within contemporary library practice. ASU Library welcomes members of the Akimel O’odham and Pee Posh, and all Native nations to the Library.