Tests and Psychological Measures
How to locate psychological tests and measurement instruments and find evaluative information about them
Database to Evaluate Tests and Measures
Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print (MMY) are the most useful and popular reference series for gathering background information. Tests in Print (TIP) is a comprehensive bibliography of available tests. Mental Measurements Yearbook provides reviews of tests. Please note that the database does not include copies of the actual test instruments.
Resources for Assessment (General)
- APA Handbook of Testing and Assessment in PsychologyThis three-volume handbook is a comprehensive presentation of the theory and application of tests in psychology and education. It begins with an in-depth portrayal of psychometrics: the quantitative underpinning of testing. It then provides thorough, up-to-date and informative chapters related to five general application areas of testing: industrial/organisational psychology clinical psychology (including health psychology) counselling psychology school psychology educational testing In each of these five areas, this handbook is probably the most comprehensive review of the use of testing and assessment in the subfield.
You will find that not all of the resources below are available online. You may, however, request the physical book or a chapter scan using the links provided in the record. Learn more on how to request materials.
- Assessment Psychology, Volume 10 of Handbook of PsychologyThe purpose of this volume is to address important issues in assessment, it is not a manual of tests.
- Responsible Test Use : Case Studies for Assessing Human BehaviorPresents the seven competencies of testing and the sixty-four elements of good testing, classified into five categories using case examples.
- Comprehensive Handbook of Psychological AssessmentThis four-volume set provides comprehensive coverage of assessment in 1) Intellectual and Neuropsychological Assessment 2) Personality Assessment 3) Behavioral Assessment 4) Industrial and Organizational Assessment
- Rand Health SurveysFree-to-use scales on aging and health, homelessness, health economics, HIV/STDs/sexual behavior, maternal/child/adolescent health, mental health, military health, quality of care, quality of life, and managed health care.
- Standards for Educational and Psychological TestingCreated by the American Educational Research, the American Psychological Association and the National Council on Measurement in Education.
