Tests and Psychological Measures

Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print (MMY) is the most comprehensive and widely used reference series for gathering background information. Tests in Print (TIP) is an extensive bibliography of available tests. Mental Measurements Yearbook provides reviews of tests. Please note that the database does not include copies of the actual test instruments.

*Recommended* PsycTests is a research database providing access to psychological tests, measures, scales, other assessments, and descriptive and administrative information. The critical feature of this database is that most, but not all, of the actual tests are included. Be sure to select the "test available" box for actual tests. (Example is posted below)

Please note: It’s important to understand that while the full test may be available, PsycTests is NOT meant to be a source for tests you can administer to patients or research volunteers. Tests must be used and cited according to the owner's instructions. Most materials cannot be copied or reprinted; however, you may request permission from the owner.

Tests and Measures fall into two categories: 

1. Published tests: Also known as commercial tests, are copyrighted tests that must be purchased directly from the publisher. They typically require users to qualify as test administrators before purchases are approved. Published tests can be quite expensive and are generally not sold to libraries. 
2. Unpublished: These are not sold commercially and can be found in a variety of places, including journal articles, dissertations, and books. Copyright restrictions vary among unpublished tests, so contacting the author for permission is always recommended. 

Tip: Look for the Permissions field if you find a test you’d like to use. When it reads "May use for Research/Teaching," the test can be used for non-commercial research or educational purposes. This also permits general use in a clinical setting. However, it is essential to note that most tests in the database do not include all the materials you need to administer and score the test. Although the test text is provided, supplemental material such as instructor guides and answer sheets are not.

You can use the information in the records to contact the author or publisher for this permission. Even if you are not using the test commercially, you may wish to contact the author for additional information about the test to help you understand how best to administer it and interpret the results.

Learn more about APA PsycTests Top Features on their blog. 

The image is a screenshot of the APA PsycNet search page. A navigation bar provides options like "SEARCH," "BROWSE," and "APA THESAURUS." The "SEARCH" tab is highlighted with a dropdown that includes "Basic Search" and "Advanced Search," the latter being circled in red with an arrow pointing to it. Below this, the search interface consists of fields for entering search terms with corresponding drop-down menus for fields and conditions. A prominent blue search button is labeled "SEARCH.” On the right sidebar, there are sections titled "Search Tools," "Recent Searches," and "Trending," each listing relevant items. At the bottom, date range and filter options are displayed.

Below is a graphic showing the "test available" search feature. This filter will ensure that a test is included in your search. 

The image is a screenshot of the APA PsycNet webpage. The top of the page features navigation options, including "SEARCH," "BROWSE," and "APA THESAURUS," against a blue banner. Below these is the "Advanced Search" section. This section contains a search bar for entering search terms, drop-down menus for narrowing fields, and options for filtering results by criteria such as "Peer-Reviewed," "Impact Statement," "Open Access," and "Test Available," which is circled in red. The right side of the page displays additional search tools like "Author Lookup" and "Journal Lookup," along with a list of recent searches.