Research Success for High School Students

ASU Special Collections 

• Labriola National American Indian Data Center

With an emphasis on language, government, education, tribal history, biography, religion and customs, the Labriola Center features thousands of books, journals, Native Nation newspapers and primary source materials, such as photographs, oral histories and manuscript collections.

Databases

• American Indian History Online

A unique resource that offers fast access to more than 5,000 years of culture, history, and leaders. More than 240 Native American groups are presented through subject entries, biographies, primary source documents, historical maps, and photographs.

• American Indian Index

Part of the Labriola National American Indian Data Center Collection. Includes all topics dealing with the American Indian in Alaska, Canada, and the United States. Photographs are included in this collection.

• American Indian Histories and Cultures

American Indian Histories and Cultures contains primary source material such as manuscripts, maps, journals, photographs and drawings which examine the interaction between American Indians and Europeans in the Americans through the late 20th century.

• American Indian Newspapers

American Indian Newspapers includes newspapers produced by a range of Indigenous Nations in the United States and British Columbia from 1828 to 2016. The newspapers include national periodicals as well as local community news and student publications. Highlights from Arizona include the Ak-Chin O'odham Runner, Navajo Times, and Hopi Action News.

Websites

• Arizona State Library, Digital Archives
• The Phoenix Indian School, 1896 [Newspaper Article]

Databases

• JSTOR

This database provides image and full-text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in the Humanities, Social Sciences and Sciences.

• SocIndex

(1983+) Covers concepts, theories, and methodologies in all areas of the social sciences. Subjects covered include anthropology, criminology, economics, law, geography, policy studies, psychology, sociology, social work, and urban studies.

• Google Scholar

Enables you to search specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research. Use Google Scholar to find articles from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web.

• Bibliography of Native North Americans

(1500+) Covers the history, life and culture of native North Americans. Indexes works from the 16th century to the present, including monographs, essays, journal articles, government documents, historical and ethnographic books, and dissertations.

• Lexis Nexis Congressional

• Nexis Uni

• American Indian Studies