AIS 503 Contemporary Issues of American Indian Nations
Need more help?
Save Your Citations and Format Your Bibliography
- Citation Management ToolsThis guide will help you select the best citation management tool for you.
- ZoteroZotero is a free, easy-to-use citation management tool to help you collect, organize, cite, and share research.
- Citation StylesHelp with different citation styles including how to format citations.
Librarians Contact Information
Labriola Center
Director Alex Soto alexander.soto@asu.edu
Government Documents
Fletcher Library, West Valley campus Brad Vogus 602-543-5525
Federal Government Documents Library Guide
Law Library, Indian Law
http://www.law.asu.edu/library
Indian Law Library Guide
http://libguides.law.asu.edu/indianlaw/home
Labriola Center Information
Labriola Center Homepage http://lib.asu.edu/labriola
Labriola Center Hours Monday-Thursday 9am-7pm & Friday 9am-6pm
Contact the Center at 480-965-6490 or Ask-An-Archivist
Or call Alex Soto at 602-543-8261 or alexander.soto@asu.edu
Recommended Research Databases
- American Indian NewspapersAmerican Indian Newspapers includes newspapers produced by a range of Indigenous Nations in the United States and British Columbia from 1828 to 2016. The newspapers include national periodicals as well as local community news and student publications. Highlights from Arizona include the Ak-Chin O'odham Runner, Navajo Times, and Hopi Action News.
- Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples in North AmericaGeneral database for journal articles on various topics dealing with American Indian Nations - link to full text through Get it ASU
- Ethnic NewswatchNewspaper articles, including Indian Country Today, very contemporary information, full text
- Google ScholarGeneral database to search for academic journal articles Be sure to search through the ASU Library home page so you can connect to the full text of many articles at no cost to you. You can also find full text court cases and articles from law journals.
- HeinOnlineHeinOnline provides full-text page-image (PDF) format access to law reviews and journals; historical volumes of federal documents like the Federal Register; classic legal texts from the 17th through early 20th centuries; U.S. treaties; Supreme Court cases as they appear in U.S. Reports; and Attorney General opinions. HeinOnline's Law Journal Library offers access to pre-1980 legal-periodical scholarship that is not available on LexisNexis or Westlaw as well as recent volumes.
- Proquest CongressionalU.S. legislative information: hearings; committee reports; bills, bill tracking; Congressional Indexes; Congressional Record; Federal Register; Code of Federal Regulations; U.S. Code; Public laws; National Journal, Congress Daily, & member info.
Websites to find additional information
- National Congress of American IndiansIncludes current policy issues and legislation.
- National Indian Law LibraryThe National Indian Law Library (NILL) of the Native American Rights Fund (NARF) is a public law library devoted to federal Indian and tribal law. NILL serves the public by developing and making accessible a unique and valuable collection of Indian law resources and assisting people with their Indian law-related information needs.
- Tribal Court Clearning HousePending Federal Legislation click on United States Senate Committee on Indian Affairs link within the page
- Official Native Nations WebsitesOr consortiums such as Inter Tribal Council of Arizona https://itcaonline.com/
Labriola Center Books
American Indian Politics and the American Political System by ISBN: 9781442203877Publication date: 2010-10-16This book is a lively and accessible account of the remarkably complex legal and political situation of American Indian tribes and tribal citizens (who are also U.S. citizens) David E. Wilkins and Heidi Kiiwetinepinesiik Stark have provided the ̀go-to' source for a clear yet detailed and sophisticated introduction to tribal soverignty and federal Indian policy.
Bureau of Indian Affairs by ISBN: 9780313391798Publication date: 2012-01-01From 19th-century trade agreements and treatments to 21st-century reparations, this volume tells the story of the federal agency that shapes and enforces U.S. policy toward Native Americans. * 20 original documents, including the Delaware Treaty of 1778, the Indian Removal Act (1830), and the act of 1871 that halted Indian treaty making * Biographies of key figures, including longtime bureau commissioners John Collier and Dillon Myer
Documents of United States Indian Policy by ISBN: 0803237286Publication date: 2000-10-01Among the topics dealt with are tribal self-governance, government-to-government relations, religious rights, repatriation of human remains, trust management, health and education, federal recognition of tribes, presidential policies, and Alaska Natives.
Introduction to Tribal Legal Studies by ISBN: 9781442232259Publication date: 2015-12-17In clear and straightforward language, Justin B. Richland and Sarah Deer discuss the history and structure of tribal justice systems; the scope of criminal and civil jurisdictions; and the various means by which the integrity of tribal courts is maintained. This book is an indispensable resource for students, tribal leaders, and tribal communities interested in the complicated relationship between tribal, federal, and state law.
Native Americans and the Law by ISBN: 0874368774Publication date: 2000-11-10The A–Z entries in this volume answer the most commonly asked questions about the laws as they affect Native Americans. * A–Z entries provide coverage of key court decisions, case studies, concepts, individuals, tribes, organizations, and agencies
Native Waters by ISBN: 0816522278Publication date: 2002-10-01In the 1980s the federal government began to emphasize negotiated settlements over lawsuits, and the settlements are changing water rights in fundamental ways--not only for tribes but also for non-Indian communities that share scarce water resources with Indians. In Native Waters, Daniel McCool describes the dramatic impact these settlements are having both on Indian country and on the American West as a whole. The author considers whether they will guarantee the water future of reservations--or, like treaties of old, will require tribes to surrender vast resources in order to retain a small part of their traditional homelands.
The Rights of Indians and Tribes by ISBN: 9780199795352Publication date: 2012-01-25The Rights of Indians and Tribes addresses the most significant legal issues facing Indians and Indiantribes today, including tribal sovereignty, the federal trust responsibility, the regulation of non-Indians on reservations, Indian treaties, the Indian Civil Rights Act, the Indian Gaming Regulatory Act, and the Indian Child Welfare Act.
Library OneSearch (Primo) Narrow Widget
The ASU Library acknowledges the twenty-three Native Nations that have inhabited this land for centuries. Arizona State University's four campuses are located in the Salt River Valley on ancestral territories of Indigenous peoples, including the Akimel O’odham (Pima) and Pee Posh (Maricopa) Indian Communities, whose care and keeping of these lands allows us to be here today. ASU Library acknowledges the sovereignty of these nations and seeks to foster an environment of success and possibility for Native American students and patrons. We are advocates for the incorporation of Indigenous knowledge systems and research methodologies within contemporary library practice. ASU Library welcomes members of the Akimel O’odham and Pee Posh, and all Native nations to the Library.
