Computer Science and Engineering
Game Engine Tutorials
Online resources
- Learn Unreal Engine (from Epic Games)
- Unity Learn (from Unity)
- Godot Tutorials (compiled by Godot Developers)
Library resources
-
Unreal Engine 5 - The Complete Beginner's Course, by David NixonIn this 10-hour course, you'll learn to develop games from scratch using Unreal Engine 5, the leading real-time 3D creation tool. With a hands-on approach, you'll master game mechanics, design immersive worlds, and craft interactive experiences, all while building a fully playable game.
-
Unity Game Development Video How-ToUnity Game Development Video How-To is a series of short, 2- to 5-minute how-to videos that walk the learner through a specific task or technique related to developing games with Unity 5.
-
Build a complete pixel platformer in Godot 4In this 6-hour course, you'll learn how to create a complete 2D pixel platformer in the Godot 4 engine. From character controls and gameplay mechanics to level design and final polish, this course guides you through building a production-ready game step by step.
Books
Many published books on the technical aspect of game development are practical guides and references.
-
O'Reilly for Higher Education"Unreal Engine" and "Unity" are skill subjects, as well as other game-related topics.
1. On the top of the page, click on "Explore Skills"
2. Click on "View All"
3. Search for "Unreal Engine", "Unity", or "game" in the skill filter
4. Select the skill you need -
Paradigm Professional eBooks
Professional and technical e-books in computing and STEM, with resources on AI, cybersecurity, software engineering, and certification prep for CompTIA, AWS, and Cisco. Featuring publishers like ACM, Bentham Science, and Packt.
-
Ebook Central
Offers academic ebooks across disciplines from top publishers, supporting research and coursework at all levels.
-
Springer Nature Link
Includes peer-reviewed journals, e-books, reference works, and protocols across disciplines including science, technology, medicine, and social sciences.
Recommendations
Below are a sampling of foundational titles covering different disciplines in game development.
-
The Game Production Handbook
by
ISBN: 1449688101Publication date: 2013-03-01A common reference for professionals in the game production industry, the Game Production Handbook, Third Edition gives producers, leads, and studio managers all the information they need in order to successfully develop a game from concept to release-ready gold master. A fictitious game project is used to fully illustrate the production cycle, documentation, and other production concepts. Contains new interviews with industry insiders that provide key insights into successful game development. -
Game Engine Architecture
by
ISBN: 9781351974288Publication date: 2018-07-20In this new and improved third edition of the highly popular Game Engine Architecture, Jason Gregory draws on his nearly two decades of experience at Midway, Electronic Arts and Naughty Dog to present both the theory and practice of game engine software development. This third edition offers the same comprehensive coverage of game engine architecture provided by previous editions, along with updated coverage of: computer and CPU hardware and memory caches compiler optimizations C++ language standardization the IEEE-754 floating-point representation 2D user interfaces plus an entirely new chapter on hardware parallelism and concurrent programming. -
Theory of Fun for Game Design
by
ISBN: 9781306810487Publication date: 2013-01-01The 10th anniversary edition of this classic book takes you deep into the influences that underlie modern video games, and examines the elements they share with traditional games such as checkers. At the heart of his exploration, veteran game designer Raph Koster takes a close look at the concept of fun and why it's the most vital element in any game. Whether you're a game developer, dedicated gamer, or curious observer, this illustrated, fully updated edition helps you understand what drives this major cultural force, and inspires you to take it further. -
Game Audio Programming 4
by
ISBN: 1003330932Publication date: 2023-12-06Welcome to the fourth volume of Game Audio Programming: Principles and Practices - the first series of its kind dedicated to the art, science, and craft of game audio programming. This volume contains 17 chapters from some of the top game audio programmers in the industry and dives into subjects that apply to diverse game genres and from low-level topics such as thread-safe command buffers and pitch detection to high-level topics such as object management, music systems, and audio tools. -
Physically Based Rendering
by
ISBN: 9780123785800Publication date: 2004-09-28Physically Based Rendering, Second Edition, describes both the mathematical theory behind a modern photorealistic rendering system as well as its practical implementation. A method known as literate programming combines human-readable documentation and source code into a single reference that is specifically designed to aid comprehension. The 3rd and 4th editions can be read for free online. -
Computer Graphics
by
ISBN: 9780321399526Publication date: 2013-07-10Computer Graphics: Principles and Practice, Third Edition, remains the most authoritative introduction to the field. The authors explain the principles, as well as the mathematics, underlying computer graphics-knowledge that is essential for successful work both now and in the future. -
Game Mechanics
by
ISBN: 9780132946681Publication date: 2012-06-18This in-depth resource teaches you to craft mechanics that generate challenging, enjoyable, and well-balanced gameplay. You'll discover at what stages to prototype, test, and implement mechanics in games and learn how to visualize and simulate game mechanics in order to design better games.
Conference Proceedings
ACM Digital Library
- Motion in Games (MIG)
- Engineering Interactive Computing Systems (EICS)
- Intelligent User Interfaces (IUI)
- International Conference on Computer Graphics and Interactive Techniques (SIGGRAPH)
IEEE Xplore
- Conference on Games (COG)
- International Workshop on Games and Software Engineering (GAS)
- Games, Entertainment, and Media Conference (GEM)
- International Conference on Serious Games and Applications for Health
Other
Databases & Journals
Below are journal titles published in databases or open access online.
ACM Digital Library
- Games: Research and Practice
- Transactions on Multimedia Computing, Communications, and Applications
- Transactions on Interactive Intelligent Systems
IEEE Xplore
Play Story Press
- Analog Game Studies
- Transactions on Digital Games Research Association
- Journal of Games, Self, and Society
- Well Played: a journal on games, value, and meaning
Online
Interdisciplinary topics
There are many research and development articles about using game development tools in other disciplines, game development for non-commercial purposes, the psychological effects of games on users, and other perspectives that may inform your game design and development. While you might find more results in engineering databases, consider other subject databases.
-
PubMed
Citations of biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books are available; may include links to full text content from PubMed Central and publisher websites.
-
PsycINFO
Expertly indexed abstracts and citations for global peer-reviewed research in psychology and related behavioral, social science, and mental health fields.
-
Biological Science Collection
Full-text access to Biological Sciences, MEDLINE, and TOXLINE databases, offering peer-reviewed research, technical reports, and conference proceedings in biology, medicine, ecology, and biotechnology from 1946 to the present.