Computer Science and Engineering
Books
Finding Books with ASU Library's One Search
One Search locates items from across the ASU Library's collections and includes not just books, but also articles from scholarly journals, trade magazines and newspapers, chapters from reference books, dissertations/theses, maps, data sets, photographs, government documents and much more. New material is being added almost every day.
Search titles, keywords or authors in the single search box; an advanced search feature is also available. When the results list is displayed, use the Content Type option in left column to limit the results to books/e-books.
- If the book is available in print, clicking on the title will take you to the ASU Library Catalog where you'll find which library the book is located, its call number, and whether it is checked out. Use Request on the catalog record to recall a book that is checked out or to have a book shipped to the ASU Library of your choice.
- If the book is available online, clicking on the title or on the "Full Text" link will take you directly to the book.
If the ASU Library doesn't have the book that you need, request the book via our Interlibrary Loan Service. You may also suggest purchasing a book for research.
Electronic Books (E-Books) Collections
Many of our electronic books can be found in the ASU Library Catalog. However, you can search e-book collections directly.
-
Springer Nature Link eBooks in Computer Science
A collection of computer science eBooks, including conference proceedings, textbooks, and reference works, covering diverse topics from artificial intelligence to software engineering.
-
Lecture Notes in Computer Science
A series of research volumes covering the latest in computer science and information technology. It includes conference proceedings, tutorials, and research findings, supporting students, educators, and professionals in advancing CS knowledge.
-
Synthesis Collection of Technology - Computer ScienceSynthesis books contain emerging topics, principles, fundamentals, methods, models and applications containing practical, accessible information on recent innovations in fast-moving research areas.
Other databases with CS&E e-books
-
MIT Press DirectMIT Press Direct includes two collections of scholarly e-books from MIT Press: STEAM (Science, Technology, Engineering, the Arts, and Mathematics) and HSS (Humanities and Social Sciences).
-
Paradigm Professional eBooks
Professional and technical e-books in computing and STEM, with resources on AI, cybersecurity, software engineering, and certification prep for CompTIA, AWS, and Cisco. Featuring publishers like ACM, Bentham Science, and Packt.
-
Ebook Central
Offers academic ebooks across disciplines from top publishers, supporting research and coursework at all levels.
-
eBooks on EBSCOhost
Search a broad collection of academic and professional full-text e-books across disciplines.
-
Gale eBooks
A searchable collection of cross-curricular nonfiction titles, including encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized references for multidisciplinary research.
Databases & Journals
Find Computer Science & Engineering journal articles in these recommended databases. Some databases also contain grey literature, such as conference proceedings and standards.
-
ACM Digital Library
A comprehensive collection of full-text articles, journals, conference proceedings, multimedia and bibliographic records covering computing and information technology.
-
IEEE Xplore
Full-text documents in electrical engineering, computer science, and related fields, including peer-reviewed journals, conference proceedings, standards, and eBooks to support advanced research and innovation.
-
Computer Science, Data, and AI
Explore reports, white papers, podcasts, blogs, and videos on AI, machine learning, data science, and emerging technologies.
-
Engineering Village
Search across Compendex, Inspec, Inspec Archive, GEOBASE, and GeoRef. Covering all fields of engineering.
-
Scopus
An abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature, including journals, proceedings, and patents. It offers tools for citation analysis, research tracking, and collaboration. Includes AI assistant: Scopus AI, for enhanced research with natural language searches, summaries, and expert identification.
Other Databases
-
Compendex
Index to engineering journal articles and conference papers from the major engineering publishers. Coverage from 1884 onward.
-
Inspec
A global index of scientific and technical literature in physics, engineering, and computer science, accessible through Engineering Village, with coverage dating back to 1898.
-
Knovel
Access thousands of engineering, technology, and science reference works, including data searching tools, a periodic table, unit converters, and interactive equations for research and problem-solving.
Associations, Organizations, Societies, Communities
- Association for Computing Machinery (ACM)
- ACM's Women in Computing
- ACM SIGGRAPH (Special Interest Group on GRAPHics and Interactive Techniques)
- Computing Research Association
- IEEE Computer Society
- National Society of Black Engineers
- Society of Hispanic Professional Engineers
- Society of Women Engineers
- DevLabs
Dictionaries & Encyclopedias
Dictionaries
-
Hutchinson Dictionary of Computing and the Internet
by
ISBN: 9786610731893Publication date: 2005-01-01 -
Dictionary of Information Security
by
ISBN: 9781281035745Publication date: 2010-01-10The Dictionary of Information Security is a compilation of security terms and definitions that working security professionals and IT students will find helpful. IT professionals and IT students will find this a handy reference to help them identify terms used in practice, in journals and articles, and on websites. The dictionary has complete coverage of security terms and includes cutting-edge technologies and newer terminology only now becoming accepted use amongst security practitioners.
BABEL: A Glossary of Computer Oriented Abbreviations and Acronyms
BABEL can be used online or can be downloaded freely for personal use only.
Free On-Line Dictionary of Computing
According to the site, the Free On-Line Dictionary of Computing contains more than more than 700,000 definitions of acronyms, jargon, programming languages, tools, architecture, operating systems, networking, theory, standards, mathematics, telecoms, electronics, institutions and companies, projects, history, in fact any of the vocabulary you might expect to find in a computer dictionary.
The internet’s largest educational resource about all things (including definitions) networking and blockchain.
Encyclopedias
-
Encyclopedia of 20th-Century Technology
by
ISBN: 1579583865Publication date: 2004-11-17Comprising 395 essays arranged alphabetically, mostly on individual objects, artefacts, techniques, and products, this is an up-to-date work of reference for all those involved in teaching or researching the history of twentieth-century technology. For a full list of entries, contributors, and more, visit the Encycloped ia of 20th-Century Technology website. -
Encyclopedia of Multimedia
by
ISBN: 9780387747248Publication date: 2008-11-26Encyclopedia of Multimedia, Second Edition provides easy access to important concepts, issues and technology trends in the field of multimedia technologies, systems, techniques, and applications. Hundreds of leading researchers and world experts have contributed to this comprehensive collection of nearly 350 entries. Over 1,100 heavily-illustrated pages -- including 80 new entries -- present concise overviews of all aspects of software, systems, web tools and hardware that enable video, audio and developing media to be shared and delivered electronically. Borko Furht, Editor-in-Chief, in collaboration with the Editorial Board, surveyed and divided the field of multimedia into specific topics that collectively encompass foundations, technologies, applications, and emerging elements behind web technologies, wireless information transfer, and audio-visual formatting and storage. Borko Furht is also the Founder and Editor-in-Chief of the international journal, Multimedia Tools and Applications. -
Encyclopedia of Computer Science
by
ISBN: 9780470864128Publication date: 2003-08-29The Encyclopedia of Computer Science is the definitive reference in computer science and technology. First published in 1976, it is still the only single volume to cover every major aspect of the field. -
Concise Encyclopedia of Computer Science
by
ISBN: 0470090952Publication date: 2004-09-03The Concise Encyclopedia of Computer Science contains shorter versions of 60% of the articles found in the Fourth Edition. Includes: Cross references to closely related articles, appendices covering abbreviations and acronyms, notation and units, and a timeline of significant milestones in computing. A comprehensive index containing article titles, names of persons cited, references to sub-categories and important words in general usage. Classification of articles around the following nine main themes: Hardware, Computer Systems, Information and Data, Software, Mathematics of Computing, Theory of Computation, Methodologies, Applications, Computing Milieux.
An online peer-reviewed, open source encyclopedia
Standards
For more detailed information about standards at the ASU Library, please see the Standards Guide
- IEEE SA (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers Standards Association) - Full text of IEEE standards available in IEEEXplore
- Software Standards at ANSI (American National Standards Institute)
- ISO (International Organization for Standardization)
Search Engines for Standards
- ANSI Search (formerly NSSN)
Technical Reports
To identify what technical reports exist on a particular topic, use:
- National Technical Information Service (NTIS)
Contains over 2 million research citations from 1964 to the present. In addition to technical reports, also covers some computer products, software, video and audio material. Covers all subject areas of U.S. federally sponsored research and select foreign governments.
- Department of Defense (DoD):
- Department of Energy (DOE):
- DOE Patents
- Office of Scientific and Technical Information (formerly SciTech Connect)
- DOE Pages
- R&D Accomplishments search instructions (R&D Accomplishments has been retired)
- Environmental Protection Agency (EPA)
- Geological Survey (USGS)
- National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA)
- Science.gov
Searches over 36 scientific databases and 200 million pages of science information with just one query, and is a gateway to 1,850+ scientific Websites. Covers all types of government publications in addition to technical reports.
To find the full text of a specific report:
- Some technical reports are freely available on the Web at the sponsoring agency's website, try:
- Using Google or another Internet search engine to find the report either by title, author, or report number
- Go to the sponsoring agency's website and browse/search the site
- TRAIL (Technical Report Archive and Image Library)
An ongoing project to digitize technical reports issued prior to 1975. As of September 2008, mostly NBS (National Bureau of Standards) and some AEC (Atomic Energy Commission) reports were available. U.S. Bureau of Mines may appear soon.
- The ASU Library have some technical reports in the collections of Noble Library (Tempe Campus) and in our Government Documents Department (3rd floor, Hayden Library, Tempe Campus) in either print, microfiche, and/or CD. If the document(s) you need is not on the Web, check for availability by calling either Gov Docs (480-965-3390) or Noble Library (480-965-2600) or using our Ask a Librarian's service at http://lib.asu.edu/ask-a-librarian.
- If the document(s) you need is not available in the ASU Library, ASU faculty/students may submit an Interlibrary Loan request