Environmental Engineering
Introduction
Not familiar with your topic? Need a quick introduction to the subject? Try an encyclopedia...
Encyclopedias provide background information summarizing the important points of a subject. You should find and read this background information before you begin researching the literature as it will bring you "up-to-speed" on the topic as well as help you determine the appropriate terminology for the search.
On this page, there are 2 sections:
- General Encyclopedias (multi-disciplinary)
- Encyclopedias specializing in this guide's subject area
General Encyclopedias
Britannica AcademicPublication date: 2012+Combination of the Encyclopædia Britannica and Merriam-Webster’s Collegiate Dictionary and Thesaurus.
Encyclopedias about the Environment and Sustainability
Encyclopedia of Environment and SocietyPublication date: 2007Brings together multiplying issues, concepts, theories, examples, problems, and policies, with the goal of clearly explicating an emerging way of thinking about people and nature.
Encyclopedia of SustainabilityPublication date: 2009Explores the concept of sustainability in the contexts of the environment, economics, and justice. Includes biological sketches of important leaders, over 50 illustrations and drawings and a variety of helpful maps, and original documents not easily located otherwise.
Encyclopedia of the U. S. Government and the EnvironmentPublication date: 2011A history of the U.S. government's approach to environmental policy. * 200 alphabetically organized entries on all aspects of the development of U.S. environmental policy, the events, issues, people, and politics. Includes a timeline of major laws, events, and governmental agencies related to environmental policy and a bibliography of important books and essays on U.S. government environmental policy.
Environmental EncyclopediaPublication date: 2002Provides in-depth, worldwide coverage of environmental issues. Each article is written in a nontechnical style and provides analysis and suggests solutions whenever possible.
The ASU Library acknowledges the twenty-three Native Nations that have inhabited this land for centuries. Arizona State University's four campuses are located in the Salt River Valley on ancestral territories of Indigenous peoples, including the Akimel O’odham (Pima) and Pee Posh (Maricopa) Indian Communities, whose care and keeping of these lands allows us to be here today. ASU Library acknowledges the sovereignty of these nations and seeks to foster an environment of success and possibility for Native American students and patrons. We are advocates for the incorporation of Indigenous knowledge systems and research methodologies within contemporary library practice. ASU Library welcomes members of the Akimel O’odham and Pee Posh, and all Native nations to the Library.
