Skip to main content
Login to LibApps


Environmental Engineering

Guide to library and internet resources for environmental engineering

How to Use This Guide

This guide provides environmental engineering majors, graduate students and faculty with links to the best library and internet resources.  It also includes recommendations for doing a rigorous literature review, how to stay current in your area, and using citation management software. 

 

The SIDE-HEADINGS on this guide include:

Resources tells you what resources to use to find the information you need.  Organized by the type of literature used by environmental engineers; on each sub-page, we'll link you to the best library and internet resources for that document type; many of these resources have instructions or tutorials for effective searching.    

Information Research Skills contains step-by-step instructions for "how to" find an item from its citation, finding material properties, searching  the literature and keeping current.    

Communication Tools has information about citation management, where to find writing assistance for your assignments, and poster design tips.  

Library Services tells about our the Ask a Librarian, Interlibrary Loan, and Document Delivery services plus how to stay up-to-date on new material being added to the ASU Library. 

Online Research Assistance

The ASU Library has moved its engineering reference assistance online! 

We are now offering LIVE, DROP-IN CONSULTATIONS.

To speak with a librarian, check the schedule below and click on this link for a Zoom meeting with an engineering librarian.

Day of the Week Hours (Arizona Time)                                                                                    
Monday 10am - Noon
Tuesday 10am - Noon
Wednesday 10am - Noon
Thursday 10am - Noon
Friday 10am - Noon

Can't meet with a librarian during those hours? We also offer CONSULTATIONS BY APPOINTMENT, just e-mail Eric Prosser, Engineering & Entrepreneurship Librarian, to set up a time that works for you. And, remember, you can always use our Ask-a-Librarian service as well.

Best Bets ...

For finding environmental engineering information

Library One Search 
An interdisciplinary database for finding books, journal articles, films and more at the ASU Library. 

EI Compendex
An index to journal articles and conference papers for all areas of engineering.

Environment Complete
An index to journal articles and encyclopedia entries for all aspects of environmental issues. 

Knovel 
A full text database of handbooks, encyclopedias and manuals for most areas of engineering.  Great place to find quick facts, formulas and properties of materials. 

SciFinder
An index to journal articles, conference papers, dissertations and patents for all areas of pure and applied chemistry.  Also has sections for chemical reactions, properties of substances, and catalog of manufacturers/suppliers. 

Hours and Locations