Skip to main content
LibApps staff login

Faculty Research Support

A guide to research resources and library services for new and established ASU faculty.

How We Build Collections

Building Collections at ASU Library
Selected university press titles tailored to ASU research needs are added to our collections via purchasing plans. Additional titles are acquired by librarians based on research and curriculum needs or by faculty requests. Books and e-books can be requested directly from our online catalog. Media titles in physical formats (CDs, DVDs) and streaming audio and video are also part of the collection.

  • Faculty Recommendations: When you click on the link it will take you to a form where you can enter the Author, Title, and Publisher of the book. If the book is purchased, you will be notified when it arrives for pick-up. Or contact your Subject Librarian to discuss your recommendation.

ASU Digital Repository
The ASU Library has developed the ASU Digital Repository to serve as a central place for preserving and sharing the scholarly and creative work of ASU faculty. This tool preserves research and provides international exposure through commercial search engines, such as Google Scholar and Bing, and ASU Library OneSearch.

For inquiries and contributions contact digitalrepository@asu.edu.

Area Studies
Collection development and departmental liaison services for the areas of Chinese Studies, French, German, and Italian Studies, Japanese Studies, Jewish Studies, Latin American, Caribbean, and Iberian Studies, Slavic Studies, South Asia Studies, and Southeast Asia Studies. To contact an Area Studies Librarian, please visit the Find a Subject Librarian page.

Beyond ASU Library

ArchiveFinder:  A current directory of repositories and collections of primary source material housed across the United States and the United Kingdom. The material in this collection ranges from pre-historic to modern. 

Arizona Archives Online: Provides free public access to descriptions of archival collections, preserved and made accessible by Arizona repositories, including libraries, special collections, archives, historical societies, and museums. Through the collaboration of the Arizona repositories we strive to inform, enrich, and empower the researcher by creating and promoting access to a vast array of primary sources across the state of Arizona.

Arizona State Library Online Resources: If you are an Arizona resident, you may connect to selected resources through the website of Arizona State Library, Archives and Public Records (State Library) and you will be asked to enter your home ZIP CODE to continue.

Center for Research Libraries: An international consortium of university, college, and independent research libraries. CRL acquires and preserves newspapers, journals, documents, archives, and other traditional and digital resources from a global network of sources. Use ASU Library's Interlibrary Loan to request materials.

HathiTrust Digital Library: A partnership of eighty academic libraries and research institutions that share a digital repository of print works in the public domain and copyright-permitted materials.  For more information see the ASU Library's guide HathiTrust Digital Library.

ICPSR: Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research: ICPSR is a comphrehensive archive of digital social science data. As a member institution, ASU affiliates have full access to the data archive and to all of ICPSR's services. To insure full access, create your account on campus.

OCLC Reciprocal Faculty Borrowing Program: This program allows faculty members from participating institutions to gain borrowing privileges and on-site access to the collections ofother research libraries in North America. See a membership roster of libraries. For more information contact Head of Access Services: Ginny.Sylvester@asu.edu.

OCLC WorldCat: A searchable database containing millions of records from hundreds of libraries around the world, WorldCat contains records covering books, journals, archival materials, music CDs, and videos as well as many kinds of digital content. This source can help researchers find items, verify citations, and see at which libraries items are available.

USA.gov: Government Made Easy: As the U.S. government's official web portal, USA.gov makes it easy for the public to get U.S. government information and services on the web. Provides trusted, timely, valuable government information and services when and where you want them.

The ASU Library acknowledges the twenty-three Native Nations that have inhabited this land for centuries. Arizona State University's four campuses are located in the Salt River Valley on ancestral territories of Indigenous peoples, including the Akimel O’odham (Pima) and Pee Posh (Maricopa) Indian Communities, whose care and keeping of these lands allows us to be here today. ASU Library acknowledges the sovereignty of these nations and seeks to foster an environment of success and possibility for Native American students and patrons. We are advocates for the incorporation of Indigenous knowledge systems and research methodologies within contemporary library practice. ASU Library welcomes members of the Akimel O’odham and Pee Posh, and all Native nations to the Library.