Login to LibApps

Graduate Students Guide: Finding Scholarly Research

An introduction to research resources and library services for ASU graduate students

Get to Know Your Resources

Find the librarian skilled in your research area. They can help you determine the best databases and resources for your topic.

Get acquainted with the Research Guide for your subject. This will supply descriptions and links for the major sources in your field.

The ASU Library provides a network of physical and virtual resources for your use. We have a comprehensive collection of databases for finding research articles. The research guides in your area and your subject librarian can help you find the best starting point. 

Our book collection contains both print and e-books. You can easily find both in our catalog.

Interlibrary Loan and Document  Delivery -  Don't find the item you need? Our Interlibrary Loan service can get it for you. Is the book you need checked out? Use our BorrowItNow service and get it quickly!

Need to do a Literature Review for a project, publication, thesis, or dissertation?  Take a look at tools and information on this page, Graduate Research and the Literature Review.

Search for dissertations that have been done on your topic before you begin your thesis or dissertation. The library provides a database called Proquest Dissertations and Theses which includes the full text of many doctoral dissertations from institutions in the United States and abroad.

JournalTOCs - Keep current with this searchable collection of scholarly journal Tables of Contents (TOCs). Sign up for alerts when new content is published. 

Finding the Full Text of Articles

The yellow "Get it @ ASU" links or other full-text links within our databases should take you to the article if we have it. But if it doesn't, it's a good idea to check further. There's a good chance that we might still have the article you need. There are several ways that you can do this:

Search the title of the article in Google Scholar. If you put the title of the article in quotation marks into the search box it will be a little more specific, but that's not always necessary. Usually just a simple cut and paste will work. Use the "get it @ ASU" links within Google Scholar to take you to the article. 

Search the title of the article in Library One Search. Same procedure as above. Note that this will only find the article if ASU has it, so it's more limiting than a Google Scholar search.

If those methods don't work, you can make a final check using our our Journal Title Lookup feature to lead you to the volumes of that particular journal that we have access to online.

These are also the methods you can use to find an article if you have gotten a reference from another source, such as a bibliography, and already know the citation information (journal name, volume number, date, etc.).

How We Build Collections

Building Collections at ASU Library
Selected university press titles tailored to ASU research needs are added to our collections via purchasing plans. Additional titles are acquired by librarians based on research and curriculum needs or by faculty requests. Books and e-books can be requested directly from our online catalog. Media titles in physical formats (CDs, DVDs) and streaming audio and video are also part of the collection.

  • Faculty Recommendations: When you click on the link it will take you to a form where you can enter the Author, Title, and Publisher of the book. If the book is purchased, you will be notified when it arrives for pick-up. Or contact your Subject Librarian to discuss your recommendation.

ASU Digital Repository
The ASU Library has developed the ASU Digital Repository to serve as a central place for preserving and sharing the scholarly and creative work of ASU faculty. This tool preserves research and provides international exposure through commercial search engines, such as Google Scholar and Bing, and ASU Library OneSearch.

See the ASU Digital Repository Guide for more information.

Area Studies
Collection development and departmental liaison services for the areas of Chinese Studies, French, German, and Italian Studies, Japanese Studies, Jewish Studies, Latin American, Caribbean, and Iberian Studies, Slavic Studies, South Asia Studies, and Southeast Asia Studies. To contact an Area Studies Librarian, please visit the Find a Subject Librarian page.

Beyond ASU Library

Go beyond ASU Library

Catalogs

  • OCLC WorldCat: A searchable database containing millions of records from hundreds of libraries around the world, WorldCat contains records covering books, journals, archival materials, music CDs, and videos as well as many kinds of digital content. This source can help researchers find items, verify citations, and see at which libraries items are available.
  • USA.gov: Government Made Easy: As the U.S. government's official web portal, USA.gov makes it easy for the public to get U.S. government information and services on the web. Provides trusted, timely, valuable government information and services when and where you want them.

Archives & Digital Libraries

  • ArchiveFinder:  A current directory of repositories and collections of primary source material housed across the United States and the United Kingdom. The material in this collection ranges from pre-historic to modern. 
  • Arizona Archives Online: Provides free public access to descriptions of archival collections, preserved and made accessible by Arizona repositories, including libraries, special collections, archives, historical societies, and museums. Through the collaboration of the Arizona repositories we strive to inform, enrich, and empower the researcher by creating and promoting access to a vast array of primary sources across the state of Arizona.
  • Center for Research Libraries: An international consortium of university, college, and independent research libraries. CRL acquires and preserves newspapers, journals, documents, archives, and other traditional and digital resources from a global network of sources. Use ASU Library's Interlibrary Loan to request materials.
  • HathiTrust Digital Library: A partnership of eighty academic libraries and research institutions that share a digital repository of print works in the public domain and copyright-permitted materials.  For more information see the ASU Library's guide HathiTrust Digital Library.
  • Repositories of Primary Sources: A listing of over 5000 websites describing holdings of manuscripts, archives, rare books, historical photographs, and other primary sources for the research scholar.

Data Repositories

  • Databib: Databib is a tool for helping people identify and locate online repositories of research data.
  • ICPSR: Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research: ICPSR is a comphrehensive archive of digital social science data. As a member institution, ASU affiliates have full access to the data archive and to all of ICPSR's services. To insure full access, create your account on campus.
  • OpenDOAROpenDOAR is an authoritative directory of academic open access repositories. 

Open Education Resources

Research Support

Hours and Locations