Science and Technology Resources

AMERICAN ASSOCIATION FOR THE ADVANCEMENT OF SCIENCE
The AAAS seeks to "advance science, engineering, and innovation throughout the world for the benefit of all people."
Baker Institute for Public Policy
The mission of the Science and Technology Policy Program is to engage policymakers and scientists in substantive dialogue with the hope that policy will more accurately reflect and be more consistent with current scientific knowledge.
Bureau of Oceans and International Environmental and Scientific Affairs
State Department Office working to advance U.S. foreign policy goals in such critical areas as climate change, wildlife trafficking, water, polar issues, oceans policy, infectious diseases, science and technology, and space policy, to name a few.
Catalog of United States Government Publications
The Catalog of U.S. Government Publications is an index to print and electronic publications created by Federal agencies. When available, links are provided to the full-text of these publications. The locate libraries feature enables users to find libraries that can make print publications available for their use.
Center for Science and Technology Policy Research
CSTPR has closed May 31, 2020:
seeks to improve how science and technology policies address societal needs, through research, education and service.
Defense Technical Information Center
The largest central resource for DoD and government-funded research, development, technical, and engineering information. DTIC enables the defense research and development community to maximize the availability, use and collaboration of the almost 4,000,000 technical records resulting from Defense-funded technical activities. Approximately half of the records are available for the public to search, free of charge, through this site.
DOE Office of Scientific and Technical Information
OSTI is the Department of Energy (DOE) office that collects, preserves, and disseminates DOE-sponsored R&D results that are the outcomes of R&D projects or other funded activities at DOE labs and facilities nationwide and grantees at universities and other institutions. The information is typically in the form of technical documents, conference papers, articles, multimedia, and software, collectively referred to as scientific and technical information (STI).
Federal Laboratory Consortium for Technology Transfer
The Federal Laboratory Consortium for Technology Transfer (FLC) is the nationwide network of federal laboratories that provides the forum to develop strategies and opportunities for linking laboratory mission technologies and expertise with the marketplace.
GAO Reports and Testimony - Science and Technology
The U.S. Government Accountability Office (GAO) is an independent, nonpartisan agency that works for Congress. Often called the "congressional watchdog," GAO investigates how the federal government spends taxpayer dollars.
GlobalChange.gov
The U.S. Global Change Research Program (USGCRP) was established by Presidential Initiative in 1989 and mandated by Congress in the Global Change Research Act (GCRA) of 1990 to “assist the Nation and the world to understand, assess, predict, and respond to human-induced and natural processes of global change.”
Global Council for Science and the Environment
The Global Council for Science and the Environment (GCSE) is a nongovernmental organization established in 1990 that advances the use of science to inform environmental decision-making. The work of GCSE spans boundaries between science and decision-making to strengthen the impact of durable solutions to environmental challenges. GCSE engages scientists, educators, policymakers, business leaders, and officials at all levels of government. NCSE specializes in programs that foster collaboration between the diverse institutions and individuals creating and using environmental knowledge, including research, education, environmental, and business organizations as well as governmental bodies at all levels.
Harvard Kennedy School - Think Tank Search
Think Tanks are organizations that conduct research, publish reports, and provide advocacy in a variety of areas of public interest. They may be non-profit, funded by business associations or advocacy groups, or run by the government.
Be sure to look at the 'Related Links"
Homeland Security - Science and Technology
The Science and Techology Directorate (S&T) manages science and technology research to protect the homeland, from development through transition for Department components and first responders.
Library of Congress, Science Reference Services
Includes bibliographies, research guides, and web resources from the world's largest library.
MetaLib
MetaLib is a government library portal providing end users with an easy and personalized interface which can search simultaneously for information in a variety of electronic resources, such as catalogs, reference databases, digital repositories or subject-based Web gateways.
The National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine
The National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine are private, nonprofit institutions that provide expert advice on some of the most pressing challenges facing the nation and the world. Our work helps shape sound policies, inform public opinion, and advance the pursuit of science, engineering, and medicine.
National Institute of Standards and Technology
NIST is one of the nation's oldest physical science laboratories. Congress established the agency to remove a major handicap to U.S. industrial competitiveness at the time—a second-rate measurement infrastructure that lagged behind the capabilities of the United Kingdom, Germany, and other economic rivals. Today, NIST measurements support the smallest of technologies—nanoscale devices so tiny that tens of thousands can fit on the end of a single human hair—to the largest and most complex of human-made creations, from earthquake-resistant skyscrapers to wide-body jetliners to global communication networks.
National Nanotechnology Initiative
The NNI is a U.S. Government research and development (R&D) initiative involving 20 departments and independent agencies working together toward the shared vision of "a future in which the ability to understand and control matter at the nanoscale leads to a revolution in technology and industry that benefits society." The NNI brings together the expertise needed to advance this broad and complex field—creating a framework for shared goals, priorities, and strategies that helps each participating Federal agency leverage the resources of all participating agencies. With the support of the NNI, nanotechnology R&D is taking place in academic, government, and industry laboratories across the United States.
National Science Foundation
The National Science Foundation (NSF) is an independent federal agency created by Congress in 1950 "to promote the progress of science; to advance the national health, prosperity, and welfare; to secure the national defense…" With an annual budget of $7.3 billion (FY 2015), we are the funding source for approximately 24 percent of all federally supported basic research conducted by America's colleges and universities. In many fields such as mathematics, computer science and the social sciences, NSF is the major source of federal backing.
National Technical Information Service
The National Technical Information Service serves as the largest central resource for government-funded scientific, technical, engineering, and business related information available today. For more than 60 years NTIS has assured businesses, universities, and the public timely access to approximately 3 million publications covering over 350 subject areas.
Nuclear Regulatory Committee
The U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission (NRC) was created as an independent agency by Congress in 1974 to ensure the safe use of radioactive materials for beneficial civilian purposes while protecting people and the environment. The NRC regulates commercial nuclear power plants and other uses of nuclear materials, such as in nuclear medicine, through licensing, inspection and enforcement of its requirements.
OECD iLibrary - Science and Technology
OECD iLibrary is the online library of the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD) featuring its books, papers and statistics and is the gateway to OECD’s analysis and data.
Office of Science and Technology Policy (OSTP): History and Overview
Recent Congressional Research Service Report on how the President is involved in policy development.
Patents Library Guide
This ASU Library Guide provides an introduction to patents and patentability searching for the areas of science and engineering.
Research.gov
Research.gov provides grants management for the research community.
Ross-Blakley Law Library - Law and Science Research Guide
The purpose of the Law and Science Research Guide is to provide a starting point to subject materials that support the curriculum of the ASU College of Law. This portal brings together in one place many scientific and legal resources available to ASU students including databases, indexes, and full text electronic journals. The guide also highlights authoritative websites devoted to the intersection of law and science.
Science.gov
Science.gov is a gateway to government science information and research results. Science.gov provides a search of over 55 scientific databases and 200 million pages of science information with just one query, and is a gateway to over 2100 scientific Websites
White House Office of Science and Technology Policy
The mission of the Office of Science and Technology Policy is threefold; first, to provide the President and his senior staff with accurate, relevant, and timely scientific and technical advice on all matters of consequence; second, to ensure that the policies of the Executive Branch are informed by sound science; and third, to ensure that the scientific and technical work of the Executive Branch is properly coordinated so as to provide the greatest benefit to society.