Skip to main content
LibApps staff login

Resources for International Teachers

Library support for international teachers from the Center for Advanced Studies in Global Education at the Mary Lou Fulton Teachers College.

Library Guides

Open Access Resources
Unrestricted online access to scholarly research.

Open Education
Open Education refers to organizations and institutions that aim to provide education without financial barriers.
| Open Courses |

Free Open Access & Open Education Resources

D O A J : Directory of Open Access Journals 
Covers free, full-text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals in many languages. 

ERIC
ERIC (Education Resources Information Center) provides ready access to education literature to support the use of educational research and information to improve practice in learning, teaching, educational decision-making, and research. It is sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences (IES) of the U.S. Department of Education.

More open access education resources

Statistics

Demographic and Social Statistics (UN)
collects data on literacy, educational attainment and school attendance from national statistical offices around the world and disseminates them in tabular form in special issues of the United Nations Demographic Yearbook. More UN statistical resources 

Education Statistics (World Bank EdStats)
The World Bank EdStats (Education Statistics) portal is your comprehensive data and analysis source for key topics in education. EdStats tools, resources and queries help users visualize and analyze education data.

Education Data (UNESCO)
From pre-primary school enrolment to tertiary graduation rates, the UIS is the leading source for international education statistics. Covering more than 200 countries and territories, the UIS database covers all education levels and addresses key policy issues such as gender parity, teachers and financing.

Education GPS (OECD)
The source for internationally comparable data on education policies and practices, opportunities and outcomes. Accessible any time, in real time, the Education GPS provides you with the latest information on how countries are working to develop high-quality and equitable education systems.

Education Policy and Data Center
Serves as a resource for education data, profiles, and data reports on education status at the country and subnational level, research papers on issues and challenges in education in developing and transitional countries, as well as medium-term education projections. 

National Center for Education Statistics   
The National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), located within the U.S. Department of Education and the Institute of Education Sciences, is the primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data related to education. 

Nationmaster - Education
Comparison of education statistics across countries. Includes education spending, average schooling years of adults, female literacy rate, school enrollment, etc. Sources are U.N. publications, OECD, etc. 

United States Agency for International Development (USAID)
|Education | Data Resources |


Additional resources 

Subjects: Education

The ASU Library acknowledges the twenty-three Native Nations that have inhabited this land for centuries. Arizona State University's four campuses are located in the Salt River Valley on ancestral territories of Indigenous peoples, including the Akimel O’odham (Pima) and Pee Posh (Maricopa) Indian Communities, whose care and keeping of these lands allows us to be here today. ASU Library acknowledges the sovereignty of these nations and seeks to foster an environment of success and possibility for Native American students and patrons. We are advocates for the incorporation of Indigenous knowledge systems and research methodologies within contemporary library practice. ASU Library welcomes members of the Akimel O’odham and Pee Posh, and all Native nations to the Library.