Covers the history, life and culture of native North Americans. Indexes works from the 16th century to the present, including monographs, essays, journal articles, government documents, historical and ethnographic books, and dissertations.
Premier U.S. database of education literature. The collection includes articles from journal and non-journal education literature. When using Get it @ ASU to retrieve ERIC Documents (those with an ED number), the feature may indicate full-text availability when the document is not available online. In many of these instances, users may get the document from the ERIC microfiche collection held in the Hayden Library. Users from campuses other than Tempe may request a digital copy of the microfiche document through ILLIAD.
(1960+) Full-text of ethnic, minority and native press newspapers, magazines and journals. Provides a broad diversity of perspectives and viewpoints. Represents the diversity of the American population in ways that are not seen in the mainstream media.
ProQuest Congressional provides access to federal legislative bills, statutes, committee hearings, committee reports, and voting history while also covering executive branch documents and executive orders.
You can request a journal article, book, or book chapter that ASU Library does not have at no cost to you.
Decolonizing Methodologies by Linda Tuhiwai Smith
Publication date: 2012-05-10
Indigenous Statistics by Maggie Walter; Chris Andersen
Publication date: 2013-09-15
Native Women and Land by Stephanie J. Fitzgerald
Publication date: 2015-03-15
Peace, Power, Righteousness by Taiaiake Alfred
Publication date: 2009-05-15
Postsecondary Education for American Indian and Alaska Natives by AEHE Staff; Bryan McKinley Jones Brayboy; Angelina E. Castagno; Amy J. Fann; Jessica A. Solyom
Publication date: 2012-03-20
Voices of Resistance and Renewal by Dorothy Aguilera-Black Bear (Editor); John W. Tippeconnic (Editor)
Publication date: 2015-10-15
Western education has often employed the bluntest of instruments in colonizing indigenous peoples, creating generations caught between Western culture and their own. Dedicated to the principle that leadership must come from within the communities to be led, Voices of Resistance and Renewal applies recent research on local, culture-specific learning to the challenges of education and leadership that Native people face.
The ASU Library acknowledges the twenty-three Native Nations that have inhabited this land for centuries. Arizona State University's four campuses are located in the Salt River Valley on ancestral territories of Indigenous peoples, including the Akimel O’odham (Pima) and Pee Posh (Maricopa) Indian Communities, whose care and keeping of these lands allows us to be here today. ASU Library acknowledges the sovereignty of these nations and seeks to foster an environment of success and possibility for Native American students and patrons. We are advocates for the incorporation of Indigenous knowledge systems and research methodologies within contemporary library practice. ASU Library welcomes members of the Akimel O’odham and Pee Posh, and all Native nations to the Library.