Login to LibApps

Keeping Current: RSS Feeds

How to use journal alerts, RSS feeds, saved searches, and more to receive updates on the current literature in your research area

Introduction

RSS Feeds are offered by research databases and journals as an alternative to sending email alerts about new articles and tables of contents.   

Feeds are more flexible than emails but require "feed reader" software. Some web browsers have a feed reader (ex., Internet Explorer handles feeds within "Favorites") and a feed can be embedded within a web page. For advice on choosing a feed reader, see the following or do a web search for "best feed readers".  

Try it ...

  This symbol indicates that a feed is available; in general ...     

  • If you would like to add the feed into your browser, when you are viewing a webpage click on the feed icon to display the feed and then click on the "subscribe to this feed" link. The browser will then ask where you want the feed placed.

  • To add a feed to your reader, you'll need to have the feed's URL. Instead of clicking on the "subscribe to this feed link", right-click on it instead; then choose "properties" - the feed's URL will be displayed in the pop-up window. Copy and paste this URL into your feed reader.

Specific Instructions for ...

ASU Library One Search

ASU Library One Search (books, journal articles, films, dissertations, sound recordings, maps, etc. added to the ASU Library)
 

Instructions for setting up a Topic Alert Feed

  • Do the search
  • At the top right of the results, click on the RSS feed icon



  • Add the feed to your feed reader

Top of Page

EbscoHost

EBSCOHost Databases

To set up topic alerts: 

  1. From the Result List or Search History Screen, click the RSS alert icon, or the RSS Feed link on the Share drop-down menu:


  2. A pop-up screen displays with the search alert information. Copy the RSS Feed URL into your newsreader.  After pasting the URL remove "ezproxy1.lib.asu.edu" from the URL, then add your feed.



  3. Click the Save Alert button.

  4. If you decide that e-mail delivery of the alert information is required, click the Sign in link. Once you sign in to My EBSCOhost, the Search Alert Screen appears. You can save the alert.


To set up Table of Contents alerts:

  1. Click the Publications link at the top of the screen. Once you have found the desired publication, click the RSS alert icon to the left of the publication name.



  2. A pop-up screen displays with the journal alert information. Copy the RSS Feed URL into your newsreader. After pasting the URL. remove "ezproxy1.lib.asu.edu" from the URL, then add your feed



  3. Click the Save Alert button.

  4. If you decide that e-mail delivery of the alert information is required, click the Sign in link. Once you sign in to My EBSCOhost, the Journal Alert Screen appears. You can save the alert.

 

Top of Page

Elsevier/Science Direct

Science Direct covers over 2500 journals published by Elsevier for itself and other organizations.     

To set up topic alerts: 

  1. Enter your search in either the basic search box or use the advanced search option




  2. On the results screen, click on the "RSS feed" link at the top of the results



  3. You'll be given the opportunity to give the feed a name of your choice and then click on the "Continue" button



  4. The next screen will give you the feed's URL, quick set ups for specific feed readers, and instructions on how to set an html feed within a web page.

     

To set up Table of Contents alerts:

  1. In the "Journal Title" search box put the title of the journal 




  2. Once you reach the journal's home page, click on the  "New Article Feed" link next to the journal's cover 




  3. You'll be given the opportunity to give the feed a name of your choice and then click on the "Continue" button




  4. The next screen will give you the feed's URL, quick set ups for specific feed readers, and instructions on how to set an html feed within a web page. 

Top of Page

Proquest

Proquest Databases at ASU

Instructions: 

First, set up a My Research Account

  • Once in the database, click on the "My Research" link in the upper right corner of the screen on the blue navigation bar
  • Login (If you haven't already registered, click on "Create a My Research Account")

 

Next, to set up an RSS feed:

  • Run a search.
  • Click "Create RSS feed" and complete the form.
  • Come back to My Research if you want to manage your RSS feeds.

RSS feeds for full text.

If you want only complete documents included in your RSS feed, search with the "full text" box selected when you set up a RSS feed.

Top of Page

PubMed

PubMed (journal articles from biomedical and health sciences)
Will send email notification for newly published articles that come up with your saved search 

  • Once in PubMed, conduct a search on your topic
  • On the search results page, click on the 'RSS' link below the search bar
  • Choose the number of items to be sent daily to the feed reader, and rename the feed, if desired. Click Create RSS. 
  • Drag and drop the XML icon onto the feed reader interface 
  • Click on the orange XML icon, and copy the URL in the address box of the resulting browser window. Follow the instructions of your feed reader software.

Top of Page

SpringerLink

SpringerLink

  • Conduct the search for which you’d like to set up an alert.
  • Right click on the orange RSS icon located near the top right of the results page. A menu should appear.
  • Select “Copy Shortcut.”
  • Follow your aggregator’s instructions to add the feed to your subscriptions.

Top of Page

Web of Science

The Web of Knowledge platform has two databases: 

Instructions for RSS feeds

  • Sign in by clicking on link in top right hand corner of screen
  • If you are not registered, click on "Register"
  • After signing in, perform search
  • Click on "Search History"
  • Choose "Save History/Create Alert"
  • Give a name to the search.
  • Click on the "Save" button
  • Click on the XML icon ( rss )
  • Copy the URL from the Internet Address box
  • Log into your RSS feed reader and subscribe to the feed

Top of Page

Web of Knowledge

The Web of Knowledge platform has two databases: 

 

Instructions for setting up a topic alert 
To set up an RSS Feed, you first must set up an Email Alert; once the Email Alert is set you'll have the option to use an RSS Feed. 

  • Once you're in the database, do the search you'd like to save. 
  • On the results page, at the top right, click on "Sign In" and then login (or register) 





  • Back on the results page, in the upper left, click on the orange "Create Alert" link.



  • Fill out the information in the Save Search History window 



  • Next, click on My Tools in the upper right and select "Saved Searches & Alerts"



  • Make sure the tab is set to "Saved Searches"
  • Click on the RSS Feed icon for the search



Instructions for setting up a citation alert for a specific article:
To set up an RSS Feed, you first must set up an Email Alert; once the Email Alert is set, then you'll have the option to use an RSS Feed. 

  • Once in the a database, click on "Sign In" and then login (or register) 
  • Find the article for which you'd like to receive citation alerts
  • Click on the title of the article to go to the full record page,
  • In the right hand column, click on the "Create Citation Alert" link,



  • Check to make sure that the information is correct on the "Create Citation Alert" window



  • Click on the "Citation Alerts" tab and then click on the RSS Feed icon for the article



Top of Page

Wiley

The Wiley Online Library Provides RSS feeds for each of its journals.

  1. Go to Wiley Online Library
  2. Click on the Publications Tab

     screenshot of part of the Wiley Online Library opening page

  3. Filter the list down to the publication type of journals, by clicking on the word Journals under Filter List along the right sidebar.

    screenshot of filtering function in Wiley Online Library 

  4. Use the letter links at the top of the pane to navigate to the title of the journal to which you wish to subscribe

    screenshot of alphabetical navigation links 

  5. Click on the journal's title
  6. Under Journal Tools, click on the Get RSS feed that appears in the upper left corner of the screen

     screenshot of journal tools part of page

  7. Copy the URL from the page that opens.

    screenshot of the navigation bar with URL to RSS feed 

  8. Add this feed URL to your favorite feed reader

Top of Page

Individual Journals

To see if a specific journal has an RSS feed available:

  • Start at the Libraries home page 
  • Click on the Journals tab above the Library One Search box



  • Fill in the top search box with the journal's title 



  • Follow the link to where the recent issues of the journal are available 


  • Look for the RSS Feed icon and/or links to "alerts" 



The ASU Library does not subscribe to the current volumes of all journals; if the journal from which you want an RSS Feed is not an ASU subscription, find the journal's website and see if the journal will allow you to set up an RSS Feed; if  you do set up a Feed, the article links in the feed will not work - you'll need to request the articles via the Interlibrary Loan service

Need Help?

When you can't find the information you need ...

 

 


https://lib.asu.edu/help

We'll recommend the best resources and search strategies to use. 

RSS Feed vs. Email Alert

Which one should I use?   

There's no right answer.   Pick whichever fits most comfortably with your work habits; you may also choose to use different methods for different publications or databases.   It's whatever makes sense for you.  

Hours and Locations