ASU Library: Things to Know

The Open Stack Collections at ASU Library include millions of print and openly-accessible digital materials for all to explore and use. The Library’s open stacks create new and ongoing opportunities for library users to discover and engage with previously unknown works.

Print books are still a cornerstone component in the Library’s landscape of learning. The design of ASU Library’s print collections is guided in part by The Future of Print initiative, with support from The Andrew W. Mellon Foundation, which aims to inspire new thinking around the development of inclusive, high-quality, and user-focused print collections for research and learning.

Visit the Open Stack Collections site to view collection highlights.

If you want to suggest an item for the library to purchase, complete our Suggest Materials form.

The ASU Archive unit brings together collections that enable us to enhance our local impact and social embeddedness. These collections include:

• Community-Driven Archives Initiative
• Chicano/a Research Collection
• Black Collections
• University Archives Collection
• Greater Arizona Collection

The ASU Library Curation and Research Services focuses on the development of our rare collections. This unit is responsible for coordination and operation of the reading rooms at Hayden and Design libraries. These collections include:

•  Rare Books and Manuscripts Collection
• Design and the Arts, Music Collection
• Theatre for Youth and Community Collection

Searchable finding aids are available through Arizona Archives Online. To inquiry about archival materials, reach out to curators and archivists via Ask An Archivist. 

International in scope, the Labriola National American Indian Data Center brings together the current and historical work of Indigenous authors across a multitude of disciplines. With an emphasis on language, government, education, tribal history, biography, religion and customs, the Labriola Center features thousands of books, journals, Native Nation newspapers and primary source materials, such as photographs, oral histories and manuscript collections.