Skip to main content
Login to LibApps


Materials Science and Engineering

Library and Internet resources for materials science and engineering

Using This Guide

This guide provides students and faculty studying materials science and engineering with links to the best library and internet resources and also includes recommendations for doing a rigorous literature review and using citation management software. 

The SIDE HEADINGS on this guide include:

Resources is organized by the type of literature most used by engineers; on each sub-section, we'll link you to the best library and internet resources for that document type; many of these resources have instructions or tutorials for effective searching.  

Writing & Citing contains information on writing in STEM subject areas and on citation style guides and management.

Literature Review contains step-by-step instructions for doing a comprehensive literature review appropriate for dissertations, theses, grant applications and project reports.  Includes organization tips, creating effective search strategies, what resources to use and how to use them. 

Online Research Assistance

The ASU Library has moved its engineering reference assistance online! 

We are now offering LIVE, DROP-IN CONSULTATIONS.

To speak with a librarian, check the schedule below and click on this link for a Zoom meeting with an engineering librarian.

Day of the Week Hours (Arizona Time)                                                                                    
Monday 10am - Noon
Tuesday 10am - Noon
Wednesday 10am - Noon
Thursday 10am - Noon
Friday 10am - Noon

Can't meet with a librarian during those hours? We also offer CONSULTATIONS BY APPOINTMENT, just e-mail Eric Prosser, Engineering & Entrepreneurship Librarian, to set up a time that works for you. And, remember, you can always use our Ask-a-Librarian service as well.

Quick Starts

Want to jump right into searching? Start with the selections below, but be sure to visit the Resources page on this guide for a comprehensive list of options.

Engineering Village (Compendex and Inspec)
An index to journal articles and conference papers for all areas of engineering.

SciFinder
An index to journal articles, conference papers, dissertations and patents for all areas of pure and applied chemistry. Also has sections for chemical reactions, properties of substances, and catalog of manufacturers/suppliers. 

Knovel 
A full text database of handbooks, encyclopedias and manuals for most areas of engineering.  Great place to find quick facts, formulas, and properties of materials. 

Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology
A 20+ volume encyclopedia for all aspects of applied chemistry. 

 

Hours and Locations