Skip to main content
LibApps staff login

Materials Science and Engineering

Library and Internet resources for materials science and engineering

Books

FOR ENGINEERING BOOKS USE THESE SELECTED RESOURCES:

ASCE Digital Library 

Full text of the American Society of Civil Engineers' publications including journal articles, conference papers, standards and books.

ASM Handbooks

Contains full-text of the ASM handbooks

Gale Virtual Reference Library

A  collection of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.​

Knovel
Over 2,000 science and engineering handbooks in which you can find facts, formula and property data.

SpringerLink

Full-text of selected journals, books, book series, and reference works and the Online Archives Collection from science publisher Springer.

Synthesis Digital Library
Innovative online information service for the research, development and educational communities in engineering and computer science.

 

LOOKING FOR BOOKS OF A MORE GENERAL NATURE?

To Find Books in the ASU Library:

  • Use the ASU Library's One Search

    As the name implies, "Library One Search" locates items from across the ASU Library's collections and includes not just books but also articles from scholarly journals, trade magazines and newspapers, chapters from reference books, dissertations/theses, maps, data sets, photographs,  government documents and much more.   New material is being added almost every day. 

    Search titles, keywords or authors in the single search box; an advanced search feature is also available.  When the results list is displayed, use the Content Type option in left column to limit the results to books/e-books.  
     
    • If the book is available in print, clicking on the title will take you to the ASU Library Catalog where you'll in which library the book is located, it's call number and whether it is checked out.   Use the Request on the catalog record to recall a book that is checked out or to have a book shipped to the ASU Library of your choice. 
       
    • If the book is available online, clicking on the title or on the "Full Text" link will take you directly to the book. 

To Find Books In Other Libraries:   
 

If the ASU Library doesn't have the book that you need, request the book via our Interlibrary Loan Service.

Electronic Books (E-Books):

Many e-books can be found through the ASU Library Catalog.

To limit your search to e-books:

  • After entering your keywords and viewing the results screen
  • Select Full Text Online from the availability subheading on the right hand side and then select Books from the Resource Type heading.

Results will include a link to access the book.

*Many of our electronic books are listed in the catalog however, we also have several e-book collection in which you can use the native search engine for these collections, these include:

ebrary

Books from major publishers in all subject areas.

e-books on EBSCOhost

​Books from major publishers in all subject areas.

 

The ASU Library acknowledges the twenty-three Native Nations that have inhabited this land for centuries. Arizona State University's four campuses are located in the Salt River Valley on ancestral territories of Indigenous peoples, including the Akimel O’odham (Pima) and Pee Posh (Maricopa) Indian Communities, whose care and keeping of these lands allows us to be here today. ASU Library acknowledges the sovereignty of these nations and seeks to foster an environment of success and possibility for Native American students and patrons. We are advocates for the incorporation of Indigenous knowledge systems and research methodologies within contemporary library practice. ASU Library welcomes members of the Akimel O’odham and Pee Posh, and all Native nations to the Library.