Materials Science and Engineering
Helpful Databases
Databases that index and abstract articles allow you to search the content from thousands of journal in just one search. In addition to peer-reviewed articles, many of these databases also include conference papers, trade journals, technical reports, book chapters, and news articles. Can't find the full text of the article you need through the ASU Library resources? You can request it through our Interlibrary Loan service.
Databases and resources covering materials science and engineering, as well as other engineering disciplines:
- ASCE Digital LibraryFull text of the American Society of Civil Engineers' publications including journal articles, conference papers, standards and books.
- ASME Online JournalsDigital Library of American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME) publications. Full text of ASME journal articles is available within the database. For all other ASME publications check Library One Search for availability in print.
- Engineering Village (Compendex and Inspec)Use these databases to find computing, engineering, manufacturing, physics, and technical information. Coverage goes back to 1884 and includes some conference papers, patents and trade magazines in addition to journal articles. Use either the Full Text or Get It @ ASU buttons to get to the document. Online tutorials are available
- SciFinderUse this database to find information about chemicals, pharmaceuticals, materials and other types of substances. "Research Topic" searching covers journal articles, book chapters, patents, dissertations and conference papers for all areas of pure and applied chemistry. Other sections available for finding reactions, property data, and chemical suppliers. Use the "Links to Other Sources" to get to the document.
- ScopusUse this database to find journal articles, conference papers and book chapters on a topic. Database is interdisciplinary and includes citation data and analysis. Use either the Full Text or Get It @ ASU buttons to get to the document.
For broader searches we suggest:
Library One SearchA good place to start for just about any search. Once you get a list of results, use the CONTENT TYPE limiter in the left-hand column to restrict the answers to just JOURNAL ARTICLES. You may also use the limiter near the top of the left-hand column to restrict the answers to SCHOLARLY/PEER_REVIEWED journals, if appropriate. To see the full text of an article, click on either the TITLE of the article or the link that says FULL TEXT ONLINE.- Academic Search PremierExcellent multi-disciplinary database covering journal articles from all subject areas. On the results page, in the left-hand (Refine Results) column, use the LIMIT TO SCHOLARLY (PEER-REVIEWED) JOURNALS, if appropriate. To get the full text of the article, click on either the PDF or HTML full text link/icon or click on the "Get It @ ASU" button. Online tutorials are available.
Google ScholarCovers whatever scholarly material the publishers make available to Google. Focuses primarily on articles from scholarly journals, however, as these articles' references are included, you may also discover other types of documentation such as books, patents, technical reports, etc. Indexes not only the authors, titles and abstracts of articles but also searches the full text of documents.Best used for interdisciplinary topics and/or for information that is usually found within the full text rather than title or abstract.
The ASU Library acknowledges the twenty-three Native Nations that have inhabited this land for centuries. Arizona State University's four campuses are located in the Salt River Valley on ancestral territories of Indigenous peoples, including the Akimel O’odham (Pima) and Pee Posh (Maricopa) Indian Communities, whose care and keeping of these lands allows us to be here today. ASU Library acknowledges the sovereignty of these nations and seeks to foster an environment of success and possibility for Native American students and patrons. We are advocates for the incorporation of Indigenous knowledge systems and research methodologies within contemporary library practice. ASU Library welcomes members of the Akimel O’odham and Pee Posh, and all Native nations to the Library.
