Skip to Main Content
Login to LibApps


Transportation Engineering

Best library and internet resources for engineering topics related to the design, construction and operation of transportation structures and systems.

Getting Started

How to use this guide:

This guide provides transportation engineering majors, graduate students and faculty with links to the best library and internet resources.  Also includes recommendations for doing a rigorous literature review, how to stay current in your area, and using citation management software. 

 Night time view of a major city skyline with highways in the foreground

The SIDE HEADINGS on this guide include:

Keeping Current shows how to set up alerts and rss feeds in your favorite journals and indexing services so you're automatically notified of newly published material in you don't have to remember to manually search these resources regularly.

Literature Review contains step-by-step instructions for doing a comprehensive literature review appropriate for dissertations, theses, grant applications and project reports.  Includes organization tips, creating effective search strategies, what resources to use and how to use them. 

Resources is organized by the type of literature most used by transportation engineers; on each sub-section, we'll link you to the best library and internet resources for that document type; many of these resources have instructions or tutorials for effective searching.   

STEM Biographies contains information and links on how to find biographies of notable individuals in STEM fields.

Writing & Citing contains information on writing in STEM subject areas and on citation style guides and management.

Online Research Assistance

LIVE, DROP-IN CONSULTATIONS via Zoom.

Drop-in consultations are currently paused. Please, email Eric Prosser to set up an appointment.

Day of the Week Hours (Arizona Time)                                                                                    
Monday By appointment. Email eric.prosser@asu.edu
Tuesday By appointment. Email eric.prosser@asu.edu
Wednesday By appointment. Email eric.prosser@asu.edu
Thursday By appointment. Email eric.prosser@asu.edu
Friday By appointment. Email eric.prosser@asu.edu

And, remember, you can always use our Ask-a-Librarian service as well.

Best Bets ...

Library One Search 
An interdisciplinary database for finding books, journal articles, films and more at the ASU Library. 

EI Compendex
An index to journal articles and conference papers for all areas of engineeing.

Knovel 
A full text database of handbooks, encyclopedias and manuals for most areas of engineering.  Great place to find quick facts, formulas and properties of materials. 

SciFinder
An index to journal articles, conference papers, dissertations and patents for all areas of pure and applied chemistry.  Also has sections for chemical reactions, properties of substances, and catalog of manufacturers/suppliers. 

U.S. Environmental Protection Agency
Access to most EPA publications. 

The ASU Library acknowledges the twenty-two Native Nations that have inhabited this land for centuries. Arizona State University's four campuses are located in the Salt River Valley on ancestral territories of Indigenous peoples, including the Akimel O’odham (Pima) and Pee Posh (Maricopa) Indian Communities, whose care and keeping of these lands allows us to be here today. ASU Library acknowledges the sovereignty of these nations and seeks to foster an environment of success and possibility for Native American students and patrons. We are advocates for the incorporation of Indigenous knowledge systems and research methodologies within contemporary library practice. ASU Library welcomes members of the Akimel O’odham and Pee Posh, and all Native nations to the Library.