HEB 348: Israeli Society and Culture
The Arab-Israeli Confict
COMING SOON -
News Articles
Newspaper articles are accessed through the following databases: Access World News, Ethnic NewsWatch, and Nexis Uni.
New York Times: The largest metropolitan newspaper in the United States (founded 1851).
Aruts Sheva (Israel National News): A media network that self-identifies with Religious Zionism; streams news, radio shows, podcasts, and video in Hebrew, English, and Russian.
Haaretz: The oldest newspaper still operating (founded 1918) and the most left and liberal news source in Israel; comparable with the New York Times. Limited access to non-subscribers.
The Jerusalem Post: An established English newspaper (founded 1932) that aims to reflect a centric point of view.
Times of Israel: An online-only newspaper (founded 2012) that proclaims to have no partisan political affiliation; published in a number of languages (no Hebrew edition): English, Arabic, French, Chinese, and Farsi.
YnetNew (founded 1939): Part of the media group that publishes the widely-read Hebrew daily,Yediot Ahronot.
Jewish Culture and History
Encyclopaedia Judaica 2, 2007. Detroit [u.a.]: Thomson Gale: An online resource that includes texts, images, and video. A print set (1972 edition) is at Hayden Library Reference: DS102.8 .E496.
The Cambridge Guide to Jewish History, Religion, and Culture, 2010: A print comprehensive overview of Jewish life, from its origins in the ancient Near East to contemporary popular culture.
Encyclopedia of Jews in the Islamic World, 2010: A print encyclopedia; reviews the historical and cultural background of Israelis who arrived at Israel from Arab countries.
Encyclopedia of the Bible and its Reception (EBR), 2012: The origins and portrayal of biblical texts in literature, visual art, music, film, and dance. Covers Jewish and other religious traditions.
Fifty Key Jewish Thinkers (2007): A print encyclopedia.
Jewish Women: A Comprehensive Historical Encyclopedia: This up-to-date resource is kept by the Jewish Women's Archive.
YIVO Encyclopedia of Jews in Eastern Europe: Reviews the historical and cultural background of Israelis who arrived at Israel from Eastern European. Includes primary source materials such as documents, images, audio and video, and maps. Also, a print edition is available here.
Bloomsbury Companion to Jewish Studies (2013): eBook (see in particular Chapter 13: "The State of Israel Studies: An Emerging Academic Field" by Michael Kotzin and Elie Rekhess.
Holocaust Studies
US Holocaust Memorial Museum: Lean about the Holocaust: A comprehensive website that includes the Holocaust Encyclopedia, maps, timeline of events, and more.
The Encyclopedia of the Holocaust (1990): A print book (4 volumes) edited by Israel Gutman, New York: Macmillan, 1990.
The Encyclopedia of Jewish Life before and during the Holocaust (2001): A print book (3 volumes), edited by Shmuel Spector; consulting editor, Geoffrey Wigoder; foreword by Elie Wiesel. Jerusalem: Yad Vashem; New York: New York University Press.
The Holocaust Encyclopedia (2001): A print book, edited by Walter Laqueur, editor; Judith Tydor Baumel, associate editor. New Haven: Yale University Press.
The Routledge Atlas of the Holocaust (2002): Martin Gilbert. London; New York: Routledge.
Yad va-Shem Holocaust Lexicon: Entries are based on Yad ve-Shem's Encyclopedia of the Holocaust.
Effects of the Holocaust / Holocaust Studies
Encyclopedia of Holocaust Literature (2002): A print book, edited by David Patterson, Alan L. Berger, and Sarita Cargas. Westport, Conn.; London: Oryx Press.
Holocaust Literature: an Encyclopedia of Writers and their Work (2003): A print book (2 volunes), edited by S. Lillian Kremer. New York: Routledge.
Holocaust Survivors: a Biographical Dictionary (2007): A print book (2 volumes). edited by Emily Taitz. Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press.
The Oxford Handbook of Holocaust Studies (2010): A guide to the state of the academic field, edited by Peter Hayes and John K. Roth. New York: Oxford University Press. eBook; print.
Sample Our Collections...
Beyond the Basilica by ISBN: 0226207110Publication date: 1995Nazareth, the largest Arab city in Israel, is a surprising example of ethnic harmony in a region dominated by conflict. A recent trend toward integration of its historical Greek Orthodox, Roman Catholic, and Muslim quarters however, has disrupted the harmony.
Playing Across a Divide by ISBN: 9780195175813Publication date: 2009In the last decade of the twentieth century and on into the twenty-first, Israelis and Palestinians saw the signing of the Oslo Peace Accords, the establishment of the Palestinian Authority, the assassination of Israeli Prime Minister Yitzhak Rabin, and the escalation of suicide bombings and retaliations in the region. During this tumultuous time, numerous collaborations between Israeli and Palestinian musicians coalesced into a significant musical scene informed by these extremes of hope and despair on both national and personal levels.
Co-Memory and Melancholia by ISBN: 9780719081705Publication date: 2010The 1948 war that led to the creation of the State of Israel also resulted in the destruction of Palestinian society when some 80% of the Palestinians who lived in the major part of Palestine upon which Israel was established became refugees. Israelis call the 1948 war their 'War of Independence' and the Palestinians their 'Nakba', or catastrophe. After many years of Nakba denial, land appropriation, political discrimination against the Palestinians within Israel and the denial of rights to Palestinian refugees, in recent years the Nakba is beginning to penetrate Israeli public discourse.
Culture and Customs of Israel by ISBN: 0313320918Publication date: 2004Understand and appreciate Israelis of all backgrounds and their ways of life and culture. In this solid source of engaging, balanced, and accurate information. Israel's brief, turbulent history and the Arab-Israeli conflict are always taken into account in the narrative; however, the emphasis here is nonpolitical and encompassing of the heterogenous culture of its citizens, including Jews, Arabs, Druze, and others.
The Druze in the Middle East by ISBN: 1903900360Publication date: 2003This book discusses the Druze in the Middle East in general, with a particular focus of the Druze relationship with the State of Israel.
Multicultural Challenge in Israel by ISBN: 9781934843499Publication date: 2009Delving into Israel's multifaceted society, editors Avi Sagi and Ohad Nachtomy, along with their distinguished contributors, explore the many ethnic and religious communities that comprise modern Israel and the ways in which they interact and often misunderstand each other.
Negev Bedouin and Livestock Rearing by ISBN: 0854963197Publication date: 1994In the past sheep-rearing was the main means of existence for most Bedouin. Today it is developing in a new direction. This volume looks at the effects social, political and economic change has had upon the traditional livelihood of the Negev Bedouin.
Information Sources and Statistics
Bank of Israel Statistics: Official information on economic activity in Israel.
Central Bureau of Statistics: The CBS is an apolitical, independent body that collects and publishes statistical data.
OECD Library: Provides studies, periodicals, and statistical annuals produced by the Organization for Economic Co-operation and Development, including a country statistical profile for the Sate of Israel.
The Dayan Center Bibliographical Database: An interdisciplinary research center devoted to the study of the modern history and contemporary affairs of the Middle East and Africa, Tel Aviv University.
Israel Social Sciences Database Center:
The Jerusalem Institute for Israel Studies: An independent, nonprofit organization; provides professional analysis for use by decision-makers, researchers, and the general public.
Legal Research Guide: Israel (Library of Congress)
The Taube Center Social Policy Studies in Israel: An independent, non-partisan, socioeconomic research institute based in Jerusalem.
GuideStar Israel: Online database of nonprofit organizations in Israel; click on "English" on the top left, then use the search box to search by keyword. Most of the text is in Hebrew but URLs are available.
Collections, Libraries and Archives
Israel Antiquities Authority Scientific Archive, 1919-1948: Documents and data collecting of archeological sites.
The Israel State Archives: Official documents of the State of Israel.
The National Library of Israel: Online collections, catalogs, and databases.
Topic Guide by the Center for Research Libraries
Hebrew-Only Resources: Culture, Society, and the Arts
Artists in Israel: Information Center for Israeli Art, Israel Museum
Database of Israeli Theater Archives: Younes and Soraya Nazarian Library, University of Haifa
Encyclopedia of the Pioneers and Builders of Israel: A monumental 19-volume work published by David Tidhar (1897–1970), the first private detective in Israel. Covers about 6,000 biographies.
Lexicon for Communication and Journalism in Israel: Provided by The Seventh Eye, a nonprofit website reviewing the Israeli press.
Modern Hebrew Literature, a Bio-Bibliographical Lexicon: A project of bibliographer Joseph-Yossi Galron of The Ohio State University.
Nostalgy Online: Provided by a nonprofit organization for preserving Israeli popular culture.
Encyclopedia for Jewish Culture: Provided by Herzog College in Israel through its Daat website, teaching Judaism and humanities topics.