HEB 348: Israeli Society and Culture
Hebrew Language
Hebrew language: Dictionaries, Encyclopedias
Encyclopedia of Hebrew Language and Linguistics (2013): A print book (4 volumes), edited by Geoffrey Khan and Shmuel Bolozky. Leiden: Brill.
Multi dictionary: bilingual learners dictionay, Hebrew-Hebrew-English, English-Hebrew (2006): A print dictionary, edited by Ṿainbakh, Liʼorah, ʻEdnah Laʼuden, and Miriam Shani. Tel Aviv: Ad.
MorFix : An Online English-Hebrew / Hebrew-English)dictionary and morphological-syntactic Hebrew search engine.
Lexicool: Directory of Bilingual and Multilingual Online Dictionaries: This search engine now include five dictionaries for Hebrew-English, however the best is still MorFix (see above).
Abbreviations Dictionary (Modern Hebrew): Hebrew-Only.
Subject Headings for Catalog Search (Print Dictionaries, Grammars, Books about Hebrew)
Hebrew Language Dictionaries English
Hebrew English Language Idioms Dictionaries
Hebrew Literature
Institute for the Translation of Hebrew Literature: The ITHL assists readers around the world to get acquainted with modern Hebrew literature, now published in 72 languages. Identify translated works and search them on our catalog. Search by author or read what new books have been translated recently. ITHL is also on Facebook.
Modern Hebrew Literature, a Bio-Bibliographical Lexicon: An online lexicon edited by bibliographer Joseph Galron-Goldschläger of The Ohio State University.
Project Ben-Yehuda: Modern Hebrew literature in the public domain. Interface and texts in Hebrew only.
Use this virtual Hebrew keyboard to search ASU collections! Type in your keyword and right-click your mouse to copy-paste into our OneSearch box.
Sample Our Book Collections...
Facing the Holocaust by ISBN: 0827602537Publication date: 1986A selection of some of Israels finest writers.
From Continuity to Contiguity by ISBN: 9780804762007Publication date: 2010Dan Miron--widely recognized as one of the world's leading experts on modern Jewish literatures--begins this study by surveying and critiquing previous attempts to define a common denominator unifying the various modern Jewish literatures. He argues that these prior efforts have all been trapped by the need to see these literatures as a continuum. Miron seeks to break through this impasse by acknowledging discontinuity as the staple characteristic of modern Jewish writing.
Language in Time of Revolution by ISBN: 0520079582Publication date: 1993This book deals with two remarkable events--the worldwide transformations of the Jews in the modern age and the revival of the ancient Hebrew language. It is a book about social and cultural history addressed not only to the professional historian, and a book about Jews addressed not only to Jewish readers.
A New Sound in Hebrew Poetry by ISBN: 9780253003584Publication date: 2010With scrupulous attention to landmark poetic texts and to educational and critical discourse in early 20th-century Palestine, Miryam Segal traces the emergence of a new accent to replace the Ashkenazic or European Hebrew accent in which almost all modern Hebrew poetry had been composed until the 1920s. Segal takes into account the broad historical, ideological, and political context of this shift, including the construction of a national language, culture, and literary canon; the crucial role of schools; the influence of Zionism; and the leading role played by women poets in introducing the new accent.
Reading Hebrew Literature by ISBN: 1584651954Publication date: 2002Modern Hebrew Literature explores the many ways Israeli literature is read in the US. In it, eighteen pre-eminent Hebrew literature scholars in the US and Israel offer commentary--traditional, historicist, feminist, post-modern--on one of six seminal texts. The texts, printed here in both English and Hebrew, are either short stories or poems, and range from "old" classics by the best-known writers in Hebrew of the first decades of the 20th century, such as M.Y. Berdichevsky, S. Tchernichovsky, and S.Y. Agnon to an interwar poem by Uri Zvi Greenberg to the contemporary, modernist work of two women authors.
The ASU Library acknowledges the twenty-three Native Nations that have inhabited this land for centuries. Arizona State University's four campuses are located in the Salt River Valley on ancestral territories of Indigenous peoples, including the Akimel O’odham (Pima) and Pee Posh (Maricopa) Indian Communities, whose care and keeping of these lands allows us to be here today. ASU Library acknowledges the sovereignty of these nations and seeks to foster an environment of success and possibility for Native American students and patrons. We are advocates for the incorporation of Indigenous knowledge systems and research methodologies within contemporary library practice. ASU Library welcomes members of the Akimel O’odham and Pee Posh, and all Native nations to the Library.
