Skip to main content
LibApps staff login

HEB 348: Israeli Society and Culture

Modern Israeli Literature in Translation (HEB/SLC/JST 347); Israeli Society and Culture (HEB/SLC/JST 348; REL 311) ; Modern Hebrew (Elementary, Intermediate, and Advanced: HEB 101, 2

Films at ASU Library

Documentary Films from Israel: Dozens of films made by independent filmmakers and students. All films include English subtitles.

Films on Demand: A comprehensive collection of high-quality streaming educational videos. Titles cover a wide range of topics organized into subject folders; over 1,500 videos that explore the state of Israel from many angles.

Academic Video Online: Premium: Selected educational and documentary films from leading distributors covering nine broad subject areas, including titles related to Israeli culture (newsreels, interviews, and documentaries).

Film Titles for HEB 348

Evan, Eitan, Shemi Zarhin, Assi Levy, Rotem Abuhav, Sasson Gabay, Dror Keren, Levana Finkelstein, Nati Ravitz, and Jacques Cohen. 2009. Avivah ahuvati Aviva my love. New York: Distributed by Sisu Home Entertainment. PN1997.2 .A975 2009 DVD 

  • Fox, Eytan, Gal Uchovsky, Ohad Knoller, Yousef Sweid, Daniela Virtzer, and Alon Friedman. 2006. ha-Buʻah The bubble. Netanyah: Hafatsah, Globus-Yunaiṭed. PN1997.2 .B852 2007 DVD
  • Ḳaplan, Noʻam, Aurit Zamir, Yoav Roeh, Janja Kralj, Yossi Marshak, Shmulik Calderon, Pampas Shimon Udi, Sun Intusap, Effi Cohen Vertes, and Iddo Soskolne. 2014. Menpaʼuʼer = Manpower.  PN1997.2 .M457 2014 DVD
  • Kolirin, Eran, Ehud Bleiberg, Koby Gal-Raday, Guy Jacoel, Eilon Rachkowsky, Yossi Uzrad, Sasson Gabay, et al. 2008. Biḳur ha-Tizmoret The band's visit. Culver City, Calif: Sony Pictures Home Entertainment. PN1995.9.C55 B5375 2008 DVD
  • Nesher, Avi, Gidi Gov, Liron Neer-Gad, Meir Suissa, Sasi Keshet, Dafna Armoni, Gali Atari, et al. 2004. ha-Lahaḳah. New York: Distributed in N. America by SISU Home Entertainment. PN1997 .L154 2004 DVD
  • Nesher, Avi, Mosheh Ederi, Adir Miler, Mayah Dagan, Dror Keren, Tuval Shafir, Neta Porat, et al. 2010. The matchmaker. [Venice, Calif.]: Menemsha Films. PN1997.2 .P23 2010 DVD

Film Research Databases

The Israeli Film Database: A comprehensive, searchable online database of Israeli cinema.

IMDb: Most Popular Titles with Country of Origin Israel.

* See additional books about Israeli cinema under the subject Motion pictures - Israel - History.

FIAF, International Index to Film Periodicals Database: Offers in-depth coverage of the world's foremost academic and popular film journals from 1972 to the present. 

Film Index International: A resource focusing on entertainment films and personalities. Produced in collaboration with the British Film Institute (bfi) it is based on the Summary of Film and Television (SIFT) database collated by the bfi over the past 70 years.

The ASU Library acknowledges the twenty-three Native Nations that have inhabited this land for centuries. Arizona State University's four campuses are located in the Salt River Valley on ancestral territories of Indigenous peoples, including the Akimel O’odham (Pima) and Pee Posh (Maricopa) Indian Communities, whose care and keeping of these lands allows us to be here today. ASU Library acknowledges the sovereignty of these nations and seeks to foster an environment of success and possibility for Native American students and patrons. We are advocates for the incorporation of Indigenous knowledge systems and research methodologies within contemporary library practice. ASU Library welcomes members of the Akimel O’odham and Pee Posh, and all Native nations to the Library.