Skip to Main Content
Login to LibApps


Russian and Slavic Studies

Digital Resources

Hathi Trust Digital Library 
Provides long-term preservation and access services  to  17+ million digitized items from a variety of sources, including Google, the Internet Archive, Microsoft, and in-house member institution initiatives. Items in the public domain are in full-view for everyone and items held in copyright are searchable.

Iskusstvo Kino Digital Archive (DA-IK)
Renowned as one of Russia's premier journals of cinema, Iskusstvo kino offers more than Russian and foreign movie reviews, articles on filmmaking and cinema culture, criticism, and essays. Iskusstvo kino traces Russian arts and culture from the 'socialist realism' era through contemporary filmmaking.

Krasnyi Arkhiv Digital Archive (DA-KAR) 
Krasnyi arkhiv was a scholarly historical journal published in Moscow in 1922-1941. Published important archival materials on the history of Tsarist Russia and the early years of the Soviet Union. The Krasnyi Arkhiv. Digital Archive contains the entire collection (106 volumes, 1,010 articles, more than 23,000 pages), completely digitized with full-image browsing and full-text article-level search and browse functions.

The Moscow News Digital Archive  
The Moscow News Digital Archive offers scholars the most comprehensive collection available for this title. Moscow News (pub. 1930-2014) was the oldest English-language newspaper in Russia. The pages of Moscow News reflect the shifting ideological, political, social and economic currents that have swept through the Soviet Union and Russia in the last century. The Moscow News Digital Archive contains most published issues (1930-2014, approx. 60,000 pages), including issues of the newspaper’s short-lived sister publication Moscow Daily News (1932-1938).

Ogonek Digital Archive -New Resource! 
Contains 4,481 full-text issues of the Russian illustrated magazine dating from 1923 to 2017. The archive includes articles on social, political and cultural issues as well as works of fiction, poetry, photography and art. 

Russian Central Newspapers  
UDB-COM provides comprehensive coverage of national news, current events, economic developments and cultural events in Russia. Includes several English-language newspapers such as the Moscow Times.

Russian National Bibliography
This full-text database has titles of official and independent newspapers and journals on current events, politics, economics, science, culture and public life of Russia. Most titles are in Russian, however some are in English.

Russian Social Sciences and Humanities Journals
Includes materials from newspapers, journals, government documents, dissertations, etc. from Russia. While it is primarily a Humanities and Social Sciences database, Science and Technology, Medicine, and Agriculture are also covered.

Article Databases

EBSCOhost
Provides access to ALL EBSCOhost databases that ASU Library subscribes to.  

ProQuest
Provides access to a collection of databases. The ability to search across multiple databases is particularly useful for researching multi-disciplinary topics.

JSTOR
Provides image and full-text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in the Humanities, Social Sciences and Sciences.

Project Muse-Premium Collection
Collection of high quality, peer reviewed, interdisciplinary journals from leading university presses, not-for-profit publishers and prestigious scholarly societies.  Project Muse Open Access ebooks

Academic Search Premier (EBSCOhost) 
Covers a wide range of academic subjects & includes magazines and newspapers as well as scholarly peer-reviewed journals.

Access World News
Access World News from NewsBank provides full-text information and perspectives from over 600 U.S. and over 500 international sources, each with its own distinctive focus offering diverse viewpoints on local, regional and world issues.

FMG on Demand
A comprehensive collection of nearly 5000 high-quality educational videos available for video streaming to the computer desktop. Titles cover a wide range of topics organized into 20 subject folders. Individual Learning Objects for each title subdivide the videos into smaller segments.

Open Access (publicly accessible) databases

 

Literature and Linguistics

Humanities Full Text 
Indexes articles in the fields of archaeology and classical studies, film, folklore, gender studies, history, journalism, communications, language, literature, literary and political criticism, performing arts, philosophy, religion, etc.

Humanities and Social Science Retrospective, 1907-1984 
Bibliographic database that provides citations to articles in a wide range of English language journals in the humanities and social sciences for the period 1907-1984.

Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts
Indexes literature on the nature & use of language. Covers linguistics (nature & structure of human speech); language (speech sounds, sentence & word structure, meaning, spelling, phonetics); and speech, language, & hearing pathology.

Literature Online (LION)
Contains the full-text of selective creative works in all genres of literature, a database of critical articles, author biographies and reference works.

Literature Resource Center
Includes biographies, bibliographies & critical analysis of authors from every age & literary discipline. Covers novelists, poets, essayists, journalists &other writers. Includes full text of journals on literature and literary criticism.

MLA International Bibliography
Indexes articles in the subjects of literature, language, linguistics, and folklore from journals, books, proceedings, dissertations, etc.

Additional linguistics databases 

Encyclopedias 

Encyclopedia of Language and Linguistics 
Covers the structure, history and use of all the major and minor languages of the world. Includes analysis and use of individual languages and typological, historical, comparative and variationist approaches to language. 

International Encyclopedia of Linguistics
Encompasses the full range of topics in linguistics, including such areas as historical, comparative, formal, mathematical, functional, philosophical, and sociolinguistics.

Additional linguistics databases 

Dissertations and Theses

Dissertations and Theses Arizona State University
A searchable database for full-text (1979+ ) and citations to ASU students' doctoral dissertations (1954-1979) and masters theses.

Dissertations and Theses (1861+ )
Indexes and abstracts doctoral dissertations and selected masters' theses accepted for degrees by accredited North American educational institutions and over 200 other institutionsCovers approximately 3,000 subject areas.

Open Access (publicly accessible) Dissertation and Theses

The ASU Library acknowledges the twenty-two Native Nations that have inhabited this land for centuries. Arizona State University's four campuses are located in the Salt River Valley on ancestral territories of Indigenous peoples, including the Akimel O’odham (Pima) and Pee Posh (Maricopa) Indian Communities, whose care and keeping of these lands allows us to be here today. ASU Library acknowledges the sovereignty of these nations and seeks to foster an environment of success and possibility for Native American students and patrons. We are advocates for the incorporation of Indigenous knowledge systems and research methodologies within contemporary library practice. ASU Library welcomes members of the Akimel O’odham and Pee Posh, and all Native nations to the Library.