Skip to main content
Login to LibApps


Accounting

Guide to sources of accounting, auditing and tax information

Related Aids

Associations Unlimited - Covers associations at the local, national and international level. Entries include contact information, website link, and description of the association's mission, membership, awards, publications, and meetings.

Business Directories - Includes Mergent Intellect and Bureau Van Dijk's Mint Global for locating firms by name, location, and business activity.

Who Audits Whom

Information for the most recent year can be found by searching these databases of public company financial information:

  • Mergent Online - To search by company, use the Basic Search.  To search by accounting firm, go to the Advanced Search and click on the Auditor option.

Typical Salaries

CareerOneStop: Salaries - Provides high, median, and low salary data by occupation at the national, state, and MSA level collected by the Bureau of Labor Statistics.

Robert Half: Salary Center - Covers salaries for accounting and finance occupations.  Shows national and local market salary ranges by company size.

Accounting Firms and Organizations

  1. Accounting Associations - International
    Website: http://www.utm.edu/staff/rgriffin/connections/AA_international.html

    Identifies and links to accounting associations at the international level and in foreign countries .
     
  2. Associations, Societies, and Accounting Firms
    Website: http://accounting.smartpros.com/Resource-Library/Associations-Societies-and-Firms.xml#Associations

    Links to U.S. accounting organizations arranged under the following categories: regulators, accounting associations, top firms, associations of accounting firms, state CPA societies, and student associations.
     
  3. Big Four Auditors
    Website: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Big_Four_(audit_firms)

    Provides the latest year's basic performance numbers for the firms and a history of the collective name for the group.
     
  4. Big4 - Annual Performance Analysis
    Website: http://www.big4.com/2014-big4-performance-analysis-04052015ad/

    Analyzes the annual performance of the Big Four firms going back to 2009.
     
  5. Book of Lists (Phoenix Business Journal)
    Print serial: HF5068 .P55 B66x Hayden Journals (latest in Reference) (print ended in 2015)
    Database (ASU access only): http://library.lib.asu.edu/record=b6557788~S3

    Ranks Phoenix area accounting firms by number of CPA's on staff.
     
  6. IPA 100, 200, and 300 Firms Lists
    Website: http://insidepublicaccounting.com/newsletters/ipa-100-and-ipa-200/

    Annually ranks the top 100 U.S. accounting firms by revenue and then the next 100 and the next 100 after that in separate reports entitled Top 200 and Top 300 respectively.  Includes number of offices and net revenue for each firm.
     
  7. IPA National Benchmarking Report Executive Summary
    Website: http://insidepublicaccounting.com/survey/executive-summary/

    Summarizes annual survey responses from U.S. accounting firms to show averages by firm size and geographic region. Data includes averages for revenue growth, net income growth, profit margin, staff turnover and pay, billing rates, and equity partner compensation.

Hours and Locations