A unique resource that offers fast access to more than 5,000 years of culture, history, and leaders. More than 240 Native American groups are presented through subject entries, biographies, primary source documents, historical maps, and photographs.
American Indian Newspapers includes newspapers produced by a range of Indigenous Nations in the United States and British Columbia from 1828 to 2016. The newspapers include national periodicals as well as local community news and student publications. Highlights from Arizona include the Ak-Chin O'odham Runner, Navajo Times, and Hopi Action News.
Covers the history, life and culture of native North Americans. Indexes works from the 16th century to the present, including monographs, essays, journal articles, government documents, historical and ethnographic books, and dissertations.
(1960+) Full-text of ethnic, minority and native press newspapers, magazines and journals. Provides a broad diversity of perspectives and viewpoints. Represents the diversity of the American population in ways that are not seen in the mainstream media.
The National Indian Law Library (NILL) of the Native American Rights Fund is a law library devoted to federal Indian and tribal law. NILL maintains a unique and valuable collection of Indian law resources and assists people with their Indian law-related research needs.
Help with different citation styles including how to format citations.
Mainstream newspaper links and databases
Advanced Google features: Even the most powerful search engine requires a bit of fine-tuning. To enhance your Google news searches, try the following options link here.
Arizona Republic: Contains full text of most articles, editorials, notices, and obituaries from the Arizona Republic. Does not include images and advertisements. For access to older locally-networked articles, 1987- June 2009, see: CD-News: Arizona Republic
Access World News: Access World News from NewsBank provides full-text information and perspectives from several thousand U.S. and international newspapers and newswire sources, each with its own distinctive focus offering diverse viewpoints on local, regional and world issues. Also includes broadcast transcripts, business magazines and miscellaneous other source types.
Los Angeles Times: This is the current editions of the LA Times back to 1985 and continues the Historical LA Times
New York Times: The New York Times, published in New York City since 1851, is the largest metropolitan newspaper in the United States. The New York Times has long been an important source of reporting, information and opinion, covering politics, finance, health, science, culture, the arts, sports, and fashion in the U.S. and abroad, with special emphasis on the New York metropolitan area. FAQ on how to sign up for a free subscription.
Wall Street Journal: Full text access to the Wall Street Journal. The Wall Street Journal is the financial newspaper of record. It offers in-depth coverage of national and international finance as well as first rate coverage of hard news. FAQ on how to sign up for a free subscription.
Indigenous-centric Newspapers and links
For tribal newspaper, please check tribal government websites. Examples:
Comprehensive list of U.S. Tribal Newsletters and Newspapers can be found here.
Mainstream Indigenous news sites
Indian Country Today News: Indian Country Today (ICT) is a daily digital news platform that covers the Indigenous world, including American Indians, Alaska Natives and First Nations.
Indianz.com: Native American news, information and entertainment. Wholly-owned and operated by Ho-Chunk Inc., the economic development corporation of the Winnebago Tribe.
ASU Subscription Databases
Ethnic News Watch: Ethnic NewsWatch includes articles from newspapers, newsletters, magazines and academic journals from minority presses including African American/Caribbean/African, Arab/Middle Eastern, Asian/Pacific Islander, European/Eastern European, Hispanic, Jewish and Native American. For tribal sources, you can look up publications here.
Native American Law 360: This database provides legal news and current awareness tools in a wide variety of law practice areas. It is updated every business day.
Comprehensive non-circulating Labriola Center video list: These films can only be viewed in the library. To view non-circulating materials in the Labriola collection, please make an appointment at least five business days prior to your visit by contacting Ask an Archivist or calling (480) 965-4932. Patrons can arrange to view non-circulating materials from the Labriola National American Indian Data Center (Room 305) at Fletcher Library on the West Valley campus OR at the Wurzburger Reading Room at Hayden Library.
Labriola Open-Stacks videos: These videos are available for check-out at the Tempe and West Valley campus locations. These titles can be placed on hold and can be picked up at any ASU Library location.
The ASU Library acknowledges the twenty-three Native Nations that have inhabited this land for centuries. Arizona State University's four campuses are located in the Salt River Valley on ancestral territories of Indigenous peoples, including the Akimel O’odham (Pima) and Pee Posh (Maricopa) Indian Communities, whose care and keeping of these lands allows us to be here today. ASU Library acknowledges the sovereignty of these nations and seeks to foster an environment of success and possibility for Native American students and patrons. We are advocates for the incorporation of Indigenous knowledge systems and research methodologies within contemporary library practice. ASU Library welcomes members of the Akimel O’odham and Pee Posh, and all Native nations to the Library.