Login to LibApps


Arizona Architecture from the Archives: William P. Bruder

Highlights from the Design and the Arts Library Special Collections

Loloma 5, Scottsdale (Bruder Collection, Design and the Arts Special Collections)

Karber Residence, Phoenix (Bruder Collection, Design and the Arts Special Collections)

Henkel Headquarters, Scottsdale (Bruder Collection, Design and the Arts Special Collections)

About William P. Bruder

Internationally acclaimed architect William P. Bruder was born in Milwaukee and earned a bachelor of fine arts degree in sculpture from the University of Wisconsin. After studying under prominent architects such as Gunnar Birkerts and Paolo Soleri, Bruder opened his own studio forty miles north of Phoenix in New River, Arizona, in 1974. Since then he has designed more than 300 projects, mostly residential, with a philosophy that describes architecture as "functional fine art based on site and user needs." His use of natural materials combined with concrete block and sheet metal and his careful siting of structures with relation to the sun exhibit organic architecture in the desert environment. Bruder's major Arizona projects include the Phoenix Central Library, a 280,000 square-foot facility which opened in May 1995, and the Henkel Headquarters building in Scottsdale, a 2008 project.

William P. Bruder Collection-Design and the Arts Special Collections

The William P. Bruder Collection consists of oversize materials, textual records, and photographs. Important among the oversize holdings are presentation drawings for nearly two hundred Bruder projects. These drawings include perspectives, floor plans, site plans, sections, and elevations. Extensive printed materials with references to Bruder and his work are contained within the textual records. Also among the printed materials are architects' files compiled by the Bruder firm that contain biographical and historical information on prominent architects throughout the world. Photographs for nearly two hundred completed Bruder projects are also included among the holdings.

The collection description can be viewed at:

William P. Bruder Collection

 

Selected Print Resources

Asensio Cerver, Francisco. Houses of the World. 1st ed. Cologne: Könemann, 2000.
DESIGN STACKS  NA7110 .N84213 2000

De Vido, Alfredo. Innovative Management Techniques for Architectural Design and Construction. New York: Whitney Library of Design, 1984. DESIGN STACKS  NA2750 .D348 1984

Friends of the Phoenix Public Library. Phoenix Public Library. Phoenix, Ariz.: The Library, 1995.
DESIGN STACKS and DESIGN SPECIAL COLLECTIONS Z732 .A6 P56 1995

Will Bruder. Los Angeles: In-D, 2000. [CD-ROM] DESIGN SPECIAL COLL NA737 .B78 W55 2000 CD-ROM

LeCuyer, Annette W. Steel and Beyond : New Strategies for Metals in Architecture. Basel; Boston: Birkhauser, 2002. DESIGN STACKS  NA4135 .L43 2003b

Molinari, Luca; William P. Bruder Architect. North American Architecture Trends, 1990-2000. 1st ed. Milan: Skira Editore, 2001. DESIGN STACKS and DESIGN REFERENCE NA712 .M6513 2001 

Riera Ojeda, Oscar. Phoenix Central Library. Gloucester, Mass.: Rockport, 1999.
DESIGN STACKS and DESIGN SPECIAL COLLECTIONS Z679.2 .U54 P56 1999

Selected Journal Resources

"Bruder DWL Architects: Phoenix Central Library, Central Phoenix, Arizona, U.S.A." GA Document. 46 (1996): 82-93. [Print]

Jacobs, Karrie. "Public Space in a Private City." Metropolis 15.7 (1996): 56-69. [Print]

Kroloff, Reed. "Desert Classic: Central Library, Phoenix." Metropolis 14.5 (1994): 27. [Print]

Pearson, Clifford A. "Desert Shield: Theuer Residence, Phoenix, Arizona, William P. Bruder, Architect." Architectural Record 181.4 (1993): 64-71. [Print]

"William Bruder, Theuer Residence, Phoenix Arizona." GA Houses.40 (1994): 94-99. [Print]

"William Bruder: New Phoenix Central Library, Phoenix, Arizona, USA 1992." A + U: Architecture and Urbanism 6.321 (1997): 60-73. [Print]

Archive Specialist Contact Info

Harold Housley
Archive Specialist
Design and the Arts Library
Harold.Housley@asu.edu 
(480) 965-6370

Hours and Locations