Arizona Architecture from the Archives
Presentation Drawing, First Methodist Church, Mesa, Martin Ray Young Collection, Design and the Arts Special Collections
Presentation drawing, First National Bank of Arizona, Martin Ray Young Collection, Design and the Arts Special Collections
About Martin Ray Young
Martin Ray Young, Jr. was the first architect in Mesa, establishing his practice in 1948, and designing more than 1600 projects in a career that spanned more than 50 years. A graduate of Brigham Young University, Young designed churches, residence, schools, and commercial buildings, mostly in Arizona but also in New Mexico, California, Utah, Colorado , and elsewhere. Some of his prominent projects in the Phoenix area include the First United Methodist Church (Mesa), Paradise Valley Apostolic Church, Emmanuel Evangelical Lutheran Church (Tempe), and Mesa Historical Society Museum. He was the founding president of the Rio Salado Chapter of the American Institute of Architects (AIA) and a recipient of the prestigious Kachina Award from the Arizona College of Fellows of AIA. Martin Ray Young, Jr. died in February 1999.
Martin Ray Young Collection, Design and the Arts Special Collections
The collection includes over 15,000 preliminary sketches and working drawings as well as job files, project specifications, and photographs. The collection is a gift from the Young Family.
To access collection inventories click this link
Presentation drawing, Mesa Dodge, Martin Ray Young Collection, Design and the Arts Special Collections
The ASU Library acknowledges the twenty-three Native Nations that have inhabited this land for centuries. Arizona State University's four campuses are located in the Salt River Valley on ancestral territories of Indigenous peoples, including the Akimel O’odham (Pima) and Pee Posh (Maricopa) Indian Communities, whose care and keeping of these lands allows us to be here today. ASU Library acknowledges the sovereignty of these nations and seeks to foster an environment of success and possibility for Native American students and patrons. We are advocates for the incorporation of Indigenous knowledge systems and research methodologies within contemporary library practice. ASU Library welcomes members of the Akimel O’odham and Pee Posh, and all Native nations to the Library.
