Arizona Architecture from the Archives
8000 North Central Apartments, Phoenix (Schreiber Collection, Design and the Arts Special Collections))
About Arthur Henry Schreiber
Arthur Henry Schreiber (1914-2005) and his twin brother Charles studied architecture at the Armour Institute and established their own firm in Chicago before moving to Phoenix in 1949.
The Schreibers entered into a partnership with Del Webb to work on the Sun City, Arizona development and they designed the original five models of 900 square-foot homes in 1958. They also worked with Del Webb on Sun City projects in Texas and Florida.
In the Phoenix area the Schreibers were active in designing homes in the many new tract housing developments throughout the rapidly growing Phoenix area in the 1950s and 1960s. In addition to designing for Del Webb, they worked for major developers and construction companies that included Trailor-Murdock, Cavalier Homes, E.L. Farmer, Erwin Brothers, Del Monte Development, Crescent Builders, Rosing Brothers, and Fleetwood Homes. They were also innovators in bringing townhouses to the area, designing the 40-unit Williamsburg Square.
Arthur and Henry’s business partnership ended in the early 1970s but Arthur continued to practice architecture. The Schreibers were awarded the title of Fellow in the Society of American Registered Architects.
Arthur Henry Schreiber Collection-Design and the Arts Special Collections
The Arthur Henry Schreiber Collection consists of architectural drawings, renderings, photographs as well as professional files. Of particular note is a significant collection of brochures and publicity information from the various developers in the Phoenix area, such as Del Webb, Erwin Brothers, Allied Construction, and Pacemaker.
The collection finding aid can be viewed at:
The ASU Library acknowledges the twenty-three Native Nations that have inhabited this land for centuries. Arizona State University's four campuses are located in the Salt River Valley on ancestral territories of Indigenous peoples, including the Akimel O’odham (Pima) and Pee Posh (Maricopa) Indian Communities, whose care and keeping of these lands allows us to be here today. ASU Library acknowledges the sovereignty of these nations and seeks to foster an environment of success and possibility for Native American students and patrons. We are advocates for the incorporation of Indigenous knowledge systems and research methodologies within contemporary library practice. ASU Library welcomes members of the Akimel O’odham and Pee Posh, and all Native nations to the Library.
