Login to LibApps


Bioengineering: Industry Information

Best Library and Internet Resources for finding bioengineering information. Also includes information about library services, basic library skills and tools that help with citation management, poster design and writing.

Introduction

Although most of the following databases can be searched keyword, sometimes it's more efficient to use the NAICS code.   NAICS (North American Industrial Classification System) is a 6-digit code used in business resources to represent a specific industry.  To find a NAICS code use ...

North American Industrial Classification System
Use the search boxes in the left-hand column to search by keyword.  In the right-hand column will appear the closest category with cross-references to related categories.  

On This Page ...

Resources Where You Can Find Industry Information: 

ABI/Inform: Data & Reports Search

ABI/Inform: Data & Reports Search
The ABI/Inform database can be limited to just finding business data and market reports.  Instead of using the Basic or Advanced Search options, choose the "Data & Report" Search from the list of options near the top of the screen.  Put the name of the specific product  or a product group  in the search box and then select the types of company or market reports you want to see. 

Business Insights: Global - Industries Search

Business Insights: Global - Industries Search

The list of industries may take a minute or more to load.  Once it's completed, you may browse the list (over 1,000 entries) or use the search box in the left-hand column to search by keyword or NAICS code.  

For each entry you get: 

  • Key Information including:
    • Number of companies
    • Employees
    • Annual Revenue
    • Sales per employee
  • Top Countries and Revenue
  • Top Companies and Revenue
  • Industrial Essays (overviews) 
  • Articles from academic journals
  • List of related associations
  • Case Studies 
  • Magazines
  • Market Research
  • Market Share Reports
  • Rankings
  • News
  • Trade Journals

First Research

First Research

After clicking on a few links to get past the introductory screens, you'll land on the "Search Industry and Geographic Profiles" page in which you may enter a keyword or NAICS code for the industry in the search box OR you can click on the browse button underneath the search box and browse by either subject menus or an alphabetical list.    

Information in the Industry Profiles includes: 

  • Industry Overview
  • Quarterly Industry Update
  • Industry Forecast
  • Critical Issues
  • Business Challenges
  • Business Trends
  • Industry Opportunities
  • Executive Insight
  • Financial Information
  • Links to profiles from related industries

 

Manufacturing and Distribution USA

Manufacturing and Distribution USA 

Select the 2013 edition to work with.  Once that edition opens, you can use the search box in the left-hand column to search by keywords or NAICS code; below the search box check the option "all volumes within this edition."

Entries include:

  • General Statistics
  • Indices of Change
  • Selected Ratios
  • Leading Companies
  • Materials Consumed 
  • Product Share Details
  • Inputs and Outputs
  • Occupations Employed within this Industry
  • Locations by State and Regional Concentration
  • Industry Data by State

Mergent Online: Industry Reports

Once in the database, click on the blue "Report Search" tab near the top of the screen.  On the next screen select the "Industry Reports" link just below the blue bar. Select the appropriate industry group and click the gray "Search" button to the right side of the screen.  You'll retrieve a list of reports on that industry for the past several years. 

For each entry in the list, the full report (in PDF) is listed in the far right-hand column while a short overview of key points can be seen by click on the "view' link in the second column from the right. 

The full report contains sections on:

  • Current Environment
  • Industry Profile
  • Market Trends and Outlook

S&P: NetAdvantage

S&P: NetAdvantage 
Once in the database, click on the "Industries" link in the dark blue navigation bar.  Select the appropriate industry and click on either the html or the pdf link for the report. 

Each report includes: 

  • Current Environment
  • Industry Profile
  • How the Industry Operates
  • Key Industry Ratios and Statistics
  • How to Analyze a Company within this Industry
  • Industry References (Associations, Government Agenices, etc.)
  • Comparative Company Analysis 

Hours and Locations