Bioengineering
Introduction: Background Information
Are you familiar with your topic? If your answer is "no" or "maybe", then you need to do two things before starting your literature review:
- Fill in your knowledge gaps so you are able to effectively describe the topic in searches and be able recognize appropriate content in the search results.
- Find reference sources that contain definitions and descriptions in that area, so you'll quickly be able to refer to them as you are doing your literature review.
Encyclopedias, handbooks and sometimes upper level textbooks provide background information summarizing the important points of a subject. You should find and read this background information before you begin your literature review as it will help you determine the appropriate terminology for the search. As you are doing your literature search, you will come across terminology or topics that are unfamiliar to you; these resources will bring you up-to-speed, so bookmark this guide so you can quickly return to this page of resources.
On this background information page, there are 3 sections:
- Where you can find introductory encyclopedia articles about the field of biomedical engineering
- What databases have introductory or background information about biomedical engineering
- What specific books, such as encyclopedia, handbooks and upper level textbooks, contain background information on topics within the field of biomedical engineering.
Articles on "Biomedical Engineering" from General Encyclopedias
The following encyclopedias have a biomedical engineering article that gives a short introduction to the field; the link for each encylopedia goes directly to the biomedical engineering article ...
Encyclopedia of BioethicsISBN: 9780028657745(Whitbeck, Caroline. "Biomedical Engineering." Encyclopedia of Bioethics. Ed. Stephen G. Post. 3rd ed. Vol. 1. New York: Macmillan Reference USA, 2004. 313-317. Gale Virtual Reference Library. Web)
The Gale Encyclopedia of Nursing and Allied HealthISBN: 1414403747(Pham-Kanter, Genevieve. "Biomedical Engineering." The Gale Encyclopedia of Nursing and Allied Health. Ed. Jacqueline L. Longe. 2nd ed. Vol. 1. Detroit: Gale, 2006. 297-300. Gale Virtual Reference Library. Web)
Resources for Background Information on Biomedical Engineering and Related Areas Part 1: Databases
The following databases contain books and book chapters/sections that include background or introductory information about biomedical topics ...
KnovelUse this database to search the full text of thousands of handbooks and encyclopedias from all areas of science and engineering. Use the search box on the home page to search for a topic or switch to a Data Search to look for property data for specific substances.
Synthesis Digital Library of Engineering and Computer Science: Biomedical Engineering LecturesThis database is a compilation of short written works (called lectures) introducing engineers to areas in which they may not be familiar. These lectures generally run from 75 - 150 pages so they are less than books but much more than an encyclopedia article. The Synthesis Collection includes a series of lectures in biomedical engineering.
Resources for Background Information on Biomedical Engineering Topics and Related Areas Part 2: Encyclopedias and Handbooks
The following encyclopedias and handbooks provide introductory or background articles about topics within the field of biomedical engineering.
Biomedical engineering and design handbook 2nd ed. by ISBN: 9780071498401Publication date: 2009This two-volume work covers the entire biomedical engineering field, including fundamental concepts, design and development processes, and applications
Clinical Engineering: a Handbook for Clinical and Biomedical Engineers by Call number: On Order 9/18/14ISBN: 9781306133180Publication date: 2013This work provides a broad look into the core elements of the field, fundamentals such as IT and software engineering as well as topics in rehabilitation and assistive technology. Covers US and EU standards (FDA and MDD, respectively, plus related ISO requirements), the de facto international standards, and is backed up by real-life clinical examples, case studies, and separate tutorials for training.
Encyclopedia of Biomaterials and Biomedical Engineering 2nd ed. by ISBN: 9781420078039Publication date: 2008
Handbook of Biosensors and Biochips by ISBN: 9780470019054Publication date: 2007This work covers the underpinnings of many of the applications used in medical diagnostics, environmental control and pharmaceutical and food industries.
Handbook of Neural Engineering by ISBN: 1280826975Publication date: 2010This work provides theoretical foundations in computational neural science and engineering and current applications in wearable and implantable neural sensors/probes.
Wiley Encyclopedia of Biomedical Engineering by ISBN: 047124967XPublication date: 2006This six volume work functions both as a peer reviewed primer and a technical reference.
The ASU Library acknowledges the twenty-three Native Nations that have inhabited this land for centuries. Arizona State University's four campuses are located in the Salt River Valley on ancestral territories of Indigenous peoples, including the Akimel O’odham (Pima) and Pee Posh (Maricopa) Indian Communities, whose care and keeping of these lands allows us to be here today. ASU Library acknowledges the sovereignty of these nations and seeks to foster an environment of success and possibility for Native American students and patrons. We are advocates for the incorporation of Indigenous knowledge systems and research methodologies within contemporary library practice. ASU Library welcomes members of the Akimel O’odham and Pee Posh, and all Native nations to the Library.
